We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #29 of 70 Restaurants in Owatonna
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
411 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have eaten at several Famous Daves.....This one has some great employees with attention to detail. It is good to great bbq depending on the night. Only downfall is the 9:00 closing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    26
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service--but they tried at least!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here at 5 on a Sunday afternoon. There was 4 in our party and it took 25 minutes to get seated even though there were several open tables and booths. When we were seated our waitress, who was very friendly, said several people had called in or were no shows and thus they couldn't get people seated as quickly. I like their food, but it seems strange to me that a 'kid friendly' food like Macaroni and Cheese isn't 'kid friendly'. It's pretty spicy even for someone who likes spicy food. All the food we had was really spicier than we liked, but was served hot and taste was good. For that reason, we will probably find somewhere else until they can tame down the heat a bit. The decor does need updating and a good cleaning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDebIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs a update.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been to a number of other Famous Dave's in other locations over the years and always enjoyed them. This location needs some real help. The table was sticky, menu was stained, bathroom towel dispenser broken. That was just the first appearance. The restaurant was about 40% filled on a friday early afternoon so the management should have been on this. The ribs came out cold and seemed to have a leather texture to them. Obviously sitting not fresh off the smoker. The fries were also cold and dried out. When I attempted to taste the slaw, I discovered that we had no eating utensils delivered with it. For the name sake of "Famous Dave's" please don't judge this one as a standered if you have never eaten at one before.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Docroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been to places with better menus and better service, but Famous Dave's is fun and the food is very good. Try the ribs - several styles of ribs and all good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

amazing menu, great service, well worth the visit, I am not a BBQ fan, but when it comes to Famous Daves', I am a BIG fan. We have eaten in as well as done take out on many occasions, alway fabulous!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeAnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing