We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Food - Gluten Free Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #40 of 67 Restaurants in Owatonna
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Iowa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Food - Gluten Free Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has great BBQ. Many choices on the menu. My wife has celiac disease (no gluten) and finding a restaurant that understands this can be difficult. We were happy to find out that Famous Dave's does have a gluten free menu. There a not a lot of choices on that menu but at least we can eat here as a family if we choose. We did ask for the allergen sheet (most restaurants have one). With this, we were able to find several more food choices that did not contain wheat. The service was good. Overall, a great place to eat and for those of you who are gluten free, you should be able to find something you like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff38094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good chain BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good service , little spendy . bathrooms were clean staff was pleasent , will visit again , nice to have cabelas close by

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“I love BBQ and this is a great place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is one of my favorite bbq places and when going by Owatonna this is a great place to stop for food south of the twin cities. They have an old timey motif going as they are in the same area as Cabelas. Do a taste test of all their sauces such as Texas Pit, Devil's spit, Rich and Sassy, Sweet and Zesty and Georgia Mustard.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seriously? How are they still in business?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Entered, requested take out, we're kindly escorted to take-out area, asked a bunch of questions, tried to determine portions and pricing, ordered and waited. And, waited. Now this was at 8:30pm on a Sunday night. I wondered how their sizing compared to standard measures. For example, a "quart" priced bowl is served in a pint container. A "pint" priced bowl in a half pint container. A purchased 1/2 pound of pork wasn't even 8oz WITH a big spoonful of sauce (no thanks!!!) on it! I happen to eat a weighed and measured, no sugar food plan... So I used my scale. Asked for salt and pepper packets and got literally a quarter cup of each! Felt like a middle schooler was pulling a prank on us. Over cooked, under measured, expensive, steamed to mushy, and thus the last time I hit that chain. Wish I verified here if it was good. Kind people packed the bag...

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value but slow sevice on weekends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great Barbecue and location......;.................................................

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing