We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun waterpark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
A TripAdvisor Member
Mpls, MN
17
Reviewed February 14, 2005

The waterpark was fun our kids are 4 and 21 months.
The hotel was a bit loud at night. Our room was by the ice and vending machine and I could hear it all night; as well as people taking in the hall. I would recommend bringing a small fan or a white noise machine to help the kids sleep.
The kids eat free at the Pub was a great money saver.
We will go there again.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2004

We enjoyed the water slides and pool.
Adds a little fun rather than just the 'normal' hotel pool.
We ate both our meals at the on site restaurant and the food was above average. Our servers were friendly. Kids ate free off the kids menu. Happy hour on a Sunday also.
Our room had a king bed and sofa sleeper. Also fridge and microwave. It was spacious and clean.
Will stay here again.

5  Thank JDV288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, MN
19
Reviewed March 21, 2004

We had a really great experience. We spent the evening of March 20, 2004 and had a good time. The water in the water park was wonderfully warm...not too warm but nice enough to make it an enjoyable experience.
The water slides were fantastic! My husband and I are both larger people and we had no uncomfortable moments on the slides whatsoever.
The lifeguards were very attentive and helpful. The age requirement for entering the hot tub is 12 years of age or older and when we were there was strictly enforced which I rather appreciated. The room was clean...a little on the small side...but clean. The pizza at the Green Mill restaurant was really tasty. The breakfast buffet was good as well. The arcade room was a nice bonus and laundry facilities are easily accessible if needed. We had a microwave and a fridge in our room without having had requested them...all amenities I appreciate.
Check-in time when we went was 3pm and our room was ready when we got there. Cabela's is next door and even if you are not a hunter/fisherman, it's a sight to behold. You have to poke your head in the door and perhaps spend 15 minutes or so looking around. If you have any sportspersons in the family, caution, they will not be easily torn away. I have pretty high expectations for hotels and was not disappointed. The service in the restaurant was a bit on the slow side.
The front desk staff was courteous yet quite busy. Overall, I would definitely go back.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2004

It has improved since last Aug. The water in waterpark was pleasantly warm. It does seem like they do not do a thorough cleaning after guests check out. We fould small misc. trash from the previous guests. The restraunt has improved its breakfast menu service greatly. We did not feel brave enough to order any of their Green Mill pizzas after the Aug. experience though. Do not use their generic booking service, you will pay more. Use the yellow page listing under Holiday Inn and ask for the best rate. Would go again.

7  Thank M767FPdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wayzata, MN
110
Reviewed March 8, 2004

The water park is the only reason I would ever stay at this Holiday Inn again. The staff clearly knows they have something desirable and do not try to be helpful or accommodating in anyway. We were there for a local hockey tournament, so members of our group arrived at varied times.
Those that came on Saturday before check in time were not allowed to go the water park while they waited for their rooms. With check out time being at 11am and check in time at 4pm they could not use overcrowding as an excuse. Management must not understand that if they allow customers to use the park while they wait for the room they have already paid for money would be spent for food, drink and in the arcade. On the day of check out expect the maids to start arriving at your door at 10:15 and every fifteen minutes there after under you leave. I have never been so harassed at a hotel about leaving before.
Our check out was on Sunday in the winter, so they surely did not have a large group coming in. I would not recommend this hotel!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2003

We chose the Holiday Inn in Owatonna, MN for an overnight stay during spring break. The reason we chose this hotel is because it has an indoor water park and we thought the kids could swim and play while we sat and relaxed. We brought coolers of beer and pop and lots of snack food. However, when we arrived we learned that food and drinks are not allowed to be brought in to the pool area because they have their own "cafe" and you have to buy their food/drink, at inflated prices. We were very disappointed! We also were disappointed to find that although it is a large hotel there were only a few tables in the pool area, and not enough lounge chairs for everyone there. We saw families piling their towels, etc. on the floor since there wasn't anywhere else to put their stuff. The pool area closed at 9 p.m., which we thought was too early. Also, there isn't any room to just swim. There are two water slides but when you land in the pool at the end you are quickly ushered out by a lifeguard. There's a small square pool but with two basketball hoops in it there was always a game going on so you couldn't swim there. There was a nice wading pool for little kids, but that didn't do much for our teenagers. The whirlpool is small, only 9 people at a time, so you actually had to wait in line to get in there. Overall we were very disappointed in this hotel and would not go there again.

8  Thank MNSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 4, 2002

This is a beautiful hotel. The Serengetti Water Park is great and an extra to a wonderful stay. Also this place has an excellent restauraunt for breakfast.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owatonna
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Owatonna, MN
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Owatonna
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Owatonna
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
12.6 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
12.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Address: 2365 NW 43rd St, Owatonna, MN 55060-5647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range: $129 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna home of the Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park! Come experience the adventure! Our award winning hotel, located just 45 minutes south of Minneapolis/St. Paul and next to Cabela's, features 130 guest rooms and suites, including KidSuites! We offer amenities for business or pleasure! The Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park features the exciting Kilimanjaro Tube Slide, Python Body Slide, the relaxing Lazy Zambezi River, zero depth entry activity pool, water basketball and relaxing waterfall spa. The Lion's Den arcade features a large selection of the latest video games, as well as interactive games for adults and children of all ages. For the business traveler our guest rooms feature a spacious work desk. We offer high-speed wireless Internet and a business center. Our Meeting & Banquet facility features 5 meeting rooms with multiple room combinations for up to 400 people. Banquets and meetings at the Holiday Inn & Suites Owatonna feature personalized menu planning with a wide range of food and beverage selections available. For shopping, we're located adjacent to Cabela's - MN's 2nd largest tourist attraction, and the Medford Outlet Mall is only minutes away! Come experience the adventure at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Owatonna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing