We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stopped at Owatonna, MN on our way to Minneapolis. It was a nice stopping point after an 8 hr drive. We were very impressed with the customer service at the front desk. We had 4 boys with us all between 12 and 15. The waterpark was a hit for all of them! The rooms were large and comfortable. We appreciated the free drink ticket and the restaurant food was really good and reasonably priced. The hotel sits in an area where there are several eating options if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Easy on/off access to I-35 and Cabelas is just down the block. We have stayed here several times in the past and have never been disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Deb B, Thank you for you recent visit to our hotel. I am pleased you choose the Holiday Inn & Suites in Owatonna when you are in the area. I look forward to your family returning to stay with us many more times in the future. Sincerely, Daren Wradislavsky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    33
    24
    20
See reviews for
116
9
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I gave this hotel a four, even though it may not deserve it in whole. The staff was friendly, helpful and quick. Our room was awesome! We had gotten a king with whirlpool suite. According to the description it was one room. When we got to it, 2 rooms!! Well decorated,a little worn, but not bad. The mattress in the pull out sofa in room 304 is about two inches thick! The metal rings hurt my kids. The layout of the hotel is awful. Parking lot bad, the elevator is so slow we opted to take the stairs, even with small children. Seemed like a local hangout in the water park.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarlaB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear CarlaB6, Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel, as well as your patronage. We value your business and will use your review to work on rectifying the issues you incurred. I hope you will be back with us soon. Sincerely, Daren Wradislavsky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for a meeting last week and was totally satisfied with my stay. The bar attached was nice and had a great selection of tap beers. The room was comfortable and quiet. Also, the food service that we had for our meeting was excellent.
Would recommend this location for a stay or meeting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daren W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mikreyn, I would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time out of your day and review our hotel. I am happy you enjoyed both the hotel and the restaurant, as well as the banquet food for your meeting. I hope you will return for both business and leisure in the future. Sincerely, Daren Wradislavsky, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was hopeful, in light of the injury of dozens of children two weeks ago, that the hotel and its staff would be at its best. Since I had taken advantage of the pay early and save to treat my kids and their kids to a family fun weekend, i was told i could not get any of my money back if I canceled ( knew that when I signed up, but i thought that if they didn't have a waterpark~they were canceling). I was told by intercontinental hotels group, two weeks ahead of my stay, in no uncertain terms, that I could not get a refund period!
Back to arriving hoping for the best... They did cancel my reservation. Did not tell me. Gave away the King Family suites that I had PAID-IN-ADVANCE for. The front desk simply told me that I did not have a reservation, sorry goodbye. I should have walked away. Instead I fought for my family weekend for an hour and twenty minutes with my family waiting in the lobby. The staff eventually did the best they could with nearly no rooms to spare since i was willing to pay again and trust that the refund had been processed.( I am still not sure if the refund has posted) we used the waterpark, it was cold and drafty. Sunday morning we found out that they do NOT have room service on the weekend- just monday thru friday. on the way out, since the stairs can only be used for emergency exit out of the hotel the lines for the elevators were clogged with houskeeping staff. I tried so hard to stay positive but my youngest grandson shivering in the pool, broke my spirit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mankatograndpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear mankatograndpa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
239 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nothing exciting to report here. The ironic thing is the front page of the free newspaper had an article discussing the recent close of the waterpark due to illness. One reason why I abhor indoor parks. I was here on business so the closure caused no inconvenience. I categorize this hotel as more of an industrial versus homey experience. Staff was adequate and the room was adequate. If it wasn't for the IHG Big Win incentive program I would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpharkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear tpharkman,

We'd like to thank you for leaving a review about your experience. It is truly regrettable to see the layout of the property prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do take all of our reviews very seriously to help highlight areas where we have an opportunity to improve. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure a more positive experience for you and all future guests.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Last Sunday my two children were among many that became ill after swimming at the water park! It has been 4 days and my son is still not feeling well and still experiencing a variety of symptoms. InterContinental Hotels Group, owner of the Holiday Inn brand, released a statement Monday afternoon saying that it “holds the safety, comfort and well-being of our guests and employees as our top priority and concern yet they have been absolutely no help! The Mn Dept of Health has been extremely helpful in figuring out the cause of the problem. I can honestly say my children have not been comfortable since entering the water at the hotel last Sunday and not only was the staff that day rude when it happened but also upon follow up. I would never return to this establishment and would advise others to think twice too. I know this could happen anywhere but we have also stayed at the Albert Lea location and the chlorine level was so bad that my children were in tears because their eyes were burning so bad. Also, I saw on KAALTV that someone had made a complaint against the Austin Holiday Inn also. Not a chain that will be getting my business

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear S C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We certainly regret the issues you experienced during your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain additional information.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I took my kids here last year and had a great time. This year we checked in and headed straight to the pool. After about an hour all five of us were sneezing, coughing and had red itchy eyes. Something must be wrong with the ventilation. When we told the worker at check out she was snarky and said maybe got sick from someone else. I don't think so. The other three families we were with had similar issues.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momfromsaintpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Momfromsaintpaul,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We truly regret to see this stay was not up to the expectations you have from our hotel. We were glad to see you have been in contact with the management regarding your concerns and that they have been fully addressed.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owatonna
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Owatonna
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Owatonna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
12.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
4.9 mi away
Oakdale Motel
Oakdale Motel
#6 of 8 in Owatonna
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
Address: 2365 NW 43rd St, Owatonna, MN 55060-5647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna home of the Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park! Come experience the adventure! Our award winning hotel, located just 45 minutes south of Minneapolis/St. Paul and next to Cabela's, features 130 guest rooms and suites, including KidSuites! We offer amenities for business or pleasure! The Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park features the exciting Kilimanjaro Tube Slide, Python Body Slide, the relaxing Lazy Zambezi River, zero depth entry activity pool, water basketball and relaxing waterfall spa. The Lion's Den arcade features a large selection of the latest video games, as well as interactive games for adults and children of all ages. For the business traveler our guest rooms feature a spacious work desk. We offer high-speed wireless Internet and a business center. Our Meeting & Banquet facility features 5 meeting rooms with multiple room combinations for up to 400 people. Banquets and meetings at the Holiday Inn & Suites Owatonna feature personalized menu planning with a wide range of food and beverage selections available. For shopping, we're located adjacent to Cabela's - MN's 2nd largest tourist attraction, and the Medford Outlet Mall is only minutes away! Come experience the adventure at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Owatonna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing