We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best onion rings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kernel

The Kernel
1011 Hoffman Drive, Owatonna, MN 55060
507 451 2585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 65 Restaurants in Owatonna
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best onion rings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I definitely recommend The Kernel. The coffee is delicious and the onion rings too. They are known for great pies. I had what was supposed to be a shaved deli turkey sandwich and it was a bit disappointing. But I still recommend it! They have a lot of variety on the menu--they serve breakfast all day which is always a plus to me!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    24
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well worth the stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great prices, family freindly menu and great service, we visit Owatonna A LOT and this is one of our go-to's for a place to eat. Bonus that it is locally owned and operated.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeAnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Popular with locals.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice family style restaurant with American cruisine food. Popular with the locals. Well, lit, booths and tables, clen. Excellent service with prompt delivery of food.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, fair service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Eating with friends while in town. Food was good. Service could have been slightly better, but overall it worked.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank armoredtruckdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Home cooking and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Some of the best pies and homemade soups! You will be able to sit and visit long after your meal is done. They keep the coffee coming and never make you feel like you have overstayed your welcome! Some of the wait staff have been around over 20 years!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojofaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kernel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing