We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty walking area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Kohlmier

Lake Kohlmier
Owatonna, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 things to do in Owatonna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owatonna lake complete with a swimming beach.
minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty walking area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I take my dogs to Kohlmier to walk. It's barely used Fall, Winter, and Spring during the week. Its also connected to a bike/walking trail, including one that goes 3/4 of the way around the lake. Nice beach, but I wouldn't swim passed June. Gets a little murky.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank luciearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“We love the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This year is way better than last year! Last year (2011) there were lifegaurds who wouldn't let us do anything and there was goose poop EVERYWHERE. But this year we were pleasantly surprised to find NO life guards and NO goose poop. Yay! We swam for hours each day we went. We could use our floaties and not get yelled at. We LOVE the huge swim area and the diving dock!! The diving dock is the BEST!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This is a pond, not a lake. Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Owatonna is the only city in Minnesota that doesn't have a lake, or so we told by our realtor, a native. This "lake" is a joke. It is more of a pond. One side is the "beach" where kids can't run around or splash or scream: things kids naturally do when having fun.
If you're looking for a lake in Minnesota to spend the day, this isn't it. Not that a sensible person would want to fish in one of Minnesota's many polluted lakes. Even natives joke about the polluted lakes, but they fish anyway. Not me. No thank you. I kayked the tiny Lake Kohlmier a few times and I had to be sure to shower each time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna
1 review
“CLean Safe & good for any occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

this is a location for a good gatherings, clean ,very safe for kids, with boats diving boards, water supply and rest rooms, and for barbecue

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank palang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

great place to hang out on a warm summer afternoon.

Helpful?
2 Thank tammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Kohlmier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing