We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lots to see.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of State School Orphanage Museum

State School Orphanage Museum
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Owatonna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience what life was like at this state-run school for orphaned or neglected children. The Minnesota State Public School for Dependent and Neglected Children was built in 1886 and closed in 1945. The museum uses exhibits of artifacts, as well as video and audio stations to tell the story of the more than 10,000 children who came through the school.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to see.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

They have a large collection of items from the period. Cottage 11 is especially moving. You really get a feeling for the era the school was actve.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sad and depressing :(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

It was sad to read some of the stories about some of the children their, and the cemetery also for the children that died their. It was free, I looked for a donation box and was unable to find one. The cottage wasn't open when we where their, if it had been I would have loved to have taken a look inside it, they need to open it sooner in the day. Despite me finding it sad and depressing I did find it interesting. I will also add, it's nice to see that the place has been preserved (no longer forgotten) and the buildings are still being used by local gov. offices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank wallflowerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A forgotten chapter of MN history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The State School once was home to all of Minnesota's neglected, abused, or orhapned children. Some loved it, some hated it, but it had a significant impact on thousands of MN children. The museum and cottages are worth spending 2-3 hours to check out.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Kery E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
417 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We visited when Harvey Ronglien was a tour guide. He grew up in the orphanage. He stayed late, after closing time to show us the museum and tell us the history.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A very sad place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I try and go at least once a year. It maybe sad but we need to realize how good we have it now. It is our Minnesota history that should not be forgotten.

Helpful?
2 Thank tammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State School Orphanage Museum also viewed

 

Been to State School Orphanage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing