We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thumper Pond Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ottertail
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked our rooms months in advance with a savecoin deal. We booked two connecting rooms, but upon our arrival, there were no connecting rooms. Slight inconvenience. Also, it was the weekend of Henning, MN prom and it was apparently happening at the hotel. Again, slight inconvenience. The rooms are large - we fit 2 adults, 2 teens, and 1 child comfortably. Fridge and microwave in each room. For being sold out of rooms, the pool area was not super crazy. I liked that it is small enough that you don't lose your kids but big enough to entertain them for hours. My only real complaints: Chlorine is really strong. Kids all had sore throats the next day, friends eyes were really sore and he couldn't drive. Secondly, no alcohol is served in the pool area but you can bring it in if you go get it from the bar. It seems there should be a way to get a server into the pool area to take orders or something - walking down the hall, in front of the front desk, to the bar then carrying our drink orders back in a wet swimming suit is sort of a bummer. Or, allow people to bring in their own drinks. The restaurant is really really good. The food was incredible (try the homemade tatertots) and even if it was pretty busy, the wait staff were professional and fast. Overall, it was a nice quick trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindilovesMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2015

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to serving you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The area is amazing in the summer and winter. The golfing is the best around and so challenging! The water park keeps the kids laughing and having fun- and the local lakes large and small are perfect for all water activity! From fishing to skiing and jumping huge waves on my waverunner! The local establishments are awesome and fun! Thumperpond itself has great food, and a perfect set up for a weekend get away!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnoopiMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve. Here at Thumper Pond we pride ourselves on providing each guest with an exceptional experience. In addition to an all-suite 78 room hotel, the resort hosts an 18-hole championship golf course, indoor waterpark, onsite restaurant/bar, onsite salon and spa and conference and meeting space. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is a very reasonable family destination. It has everything you could want, a great hotel, fun water park for the children, and a great restaurant all in the same building. The only complaint I would have is the hot tub gets a little over crowded at times but other than that the place is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the water park if you do not want to walk along way in your wet clothes but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve. Here at Thumper Pond we pride ourselves on providing each guest with an exceptional experience. In addition to an all-suite 78 room hotel, the resort hosts an 18-hole championship golf course, indoor waterpark, onsite restaurant/bar, onsite salon and spa and conference and meeting space. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms were quite sizable, and allowed for a large group to congregate and talk. Obviously the draw of this resort, at least in the winter, is the water park. The Park has two large slides, a small lazy river, large hot-tub, and smaller annex of a pool with two basketball hoops. For the 5 and under set, they have a zero-depth entry splash pool with a couple slides,and water cannons. During our day's stay there, I noticed a LOT of people coughing and short of breath - which was caused by some really high chlorine levels I'm assuming. (It's a day later and my eyes and skin still itch). Willy T's is a nice restaurant/bar for a resort like this, and the scenery outside the building is very Minnesota-esque. Some members of our party enjoyed the snowmobile trails that are prevalent around the location, and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Room Tip: The pool are a isn't necessarily noisier, but it is the focal point of the property, so if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56,529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve. Here at Thumper Pond we pride ourselves on providing each guest with an exceptional experience. In addition to an all-suite 78 room hotel, the resort hosts an 18-hole championship golf course, indoor waterpark, onsite restaurant/bar, onsite salon and spa and conference and meeting space. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent one night at this resort using a great deal we got on SaveCoin.com. There were some restrictions on dates, which is to be expected, and I found the reservation process a little frustrating, as it was difficult to get through and the gal I made the reservation with made me feel like I was lucky to be getting a reservation there at all. After that encounter, I was a little worried about what the actual stay would bring. However,once we got there everything was great ~ customer service, the room, etc.
Check-in was very quick and smooth, 2 minutes top. We had a King suite on the lower level. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The fridge and microwave worked well. The couch pulled out into a bed and there were extra pillows for it in the room. The closet was nice and big. It had been snowing and the sidewalks were not being cleared, so that made getting luggage in and out of the car less pleasant than it could have been. There is an elevator for the upper floors.
We had a very nice dinner at Willy T's restaurant adjoining the hotel. It was great not to have to go out in the weather. The fresh popped popcorn and warmed peanuts offered in the restaurant are a nice touch.
The grounds of the resort are beautiful, even in the winter time, lots of pine trees, etc. Even though it is not far from the road you feel like you are more secluded in the woods.
The water park was not overly crowded for a Friday night. There were plenty of seating and tables available. The tables and chairs are not the cheap white plastic ones found in many pool areas, but much nicer and more sturdy. One con was the fact that you could not bring in your own snacks or beverages to the water park and they required you to purchase them from the snack bar available inside at much increased prices. I did notice this was not being enforced though. There are lifeguards on duty in the water park and they seemed to be doing a good job of watching all the children. The water in the pool was a little on the chilly side, my 3 year old did not care to be in it because of the coolness. My 8 year old loved it. The lazy river is very nice, great for adults and children. There are lots of inflatable tubes loating around for anyone to use. There is a walk-in area to the pool and pool ladders.The hot tub was awesome, large and just the right temperature. The kiddie area was very nice, shallow with a shallow area slide and a larger enclosed slide. The other slides were fun too, although it was a cold walk up the stairs to get to the top of the slide, which deterred us from doing it too much, although it was very cold outside so understandable - maybe it could be heated a little bit? There is a large, well put together restroom/locker room inside the pool area. Plenty of towels are available, however they are on the small/thin side and I was glad we brought our own; also they cannot leave the pool area.
The lady who checked us out was a standout in customer service!!
Tips - bring non-disposable water bottles to bring with you into the pool area, bring flip flops to walk back and forth from room to pool, bring your own towels.
Overall, we had a great family night, the kids had a blast and I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a family get away or location for an event.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseekergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback as it helps us to improve. Here at Thumper Pond we pride ourselves on providing each guest with an exceptional experience. In addition to an all-suite 78 room hotel, the resort hosts an 18-hole championship golf course, indoor waterpark, onsite restaurant/bar, onsite salon and spa and conference and meeting space. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed one night during the winter months....very pretty pine trees as you drive into facility. Had a hard time getting someone to answer the phone when trying to get reservations. Room was clean, large older TVs...everything decorated like casual cabin decor. We had a king size bed and I slept like a baby. Used water park for younger guests that were visiting us...small water park but younger kids seemed to enjoy themselves...not so sure older kids would be impressed if they had been to large waterparks. Every one needs a water pass even if you aren't in the water. I believe they were $4.95 each. I would stay here again...got a great rate on-line. During peak season I think the rates are higher. Average hotel and rooms.. Seems like a mom/pop type operation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theferk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your review! We do try to excel at providing exceptional guest service, and we are sorry that you had difficulty reaching us by phone. You’re correct, up to four water park passes are included with a hotel stay, and yes, guests can purchase additional passes for only $4.95. The park hosts two three-story slides, a Lazy River tube ride, zero-entry toddler pool, whirlpool, and an activity pool as well as a snack bar.

We hope you come back to Thumper Pond in the future and enjoy a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for friends wedding. The rooms were not decorated like a fancy resort but more kid friendly. The rooms were clean. The only issue I had was a broken blow dryer that never got fixed. Other than that the staff was helpful, I needed bobby pins and the salon was very accommodating with my bobby pins. We did not have time to visit the watermark but people seemed to enjoy it. If I stayed there more than a few days I may have had to go off property for a change in food. There is only one restaurant and a snack bar. The rooms do have refrigerators though!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MsSmart64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThumperPond, Guest Relations Manager at Thumper Pond Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced while staying at Thumper Pond as we pride ourselves on providing excellent guest service. No matter the issue, having one that remains unresolved during your say is not how we strive to do business. We will work on a solution to making sure the same thing does not happen again. We are glad that our salon was able to help you by providing bobby pins! Hopefully you can come back in the future and experience our water park! We also have a list of local businesses located at our front desk that would be able to help you with any off site adventures. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thumper Pond Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thumper Pond Resort

Address: 300 Thumper Lodge Rd, Ottertail, MN 56571-7037
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ottertail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ottertail
Price Range: $99 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thumper Pond Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among 250 acres of pine forest in the heart of Minnesota lakes country exists Thumper Pond Resort. Onsite, guests can find a championship 18-hole golf course, an indoor water park, family-friendly dining, relaxing spa and much more. The top vacation destination of all the Ottertail resorts, Thumper Pond promises fun for the whole family. Featuring 78 spacious suites outfitted with convenient amenities, our resort in Minnesota has ample room for your family reunion, golf outing, or wedding. With enough activities onsite to keep everyone busy, this Minnesota lake resort is a premier choice for group travel. Bring the family to enjoy the indoor waterpark and stunning golf course, or take a short drive to explore the surrounding area. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, our resort in Northern Minnesota provides a naturally exciting travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Thumper Pond Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thumper Pond Hotel Ottertail
Comfort Suites Ottertail
Ottertail Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing