We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bears”

Vince Shute Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Orr
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bears”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

You will never see so many wild bears in one place. There are wild and free bears, not tame or caged it. Mamas with new cubs come in mid to later May. By August all the bears have their winter coats. You will see bears in trees, bears playing, mamas nursing their cubs, an occasional fight. And the gift shop is fantastic. A lot of people start or complete their Christmas shopping there. The staff is always available to answer questions. A must see for all. The staff is mostly unpaid volunteers usually students of wildlife, ecology, conservation ect. If you are so inclined to bring treats for the volunteers they would be so appreciated and most definitely consumed. The place is addicting many visitors come back several times as it is different each time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Always a good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

It's a great place to go and see all the bears coming to eat! Very safe (unlike when I was little and you used to just drive in and throw the bears candy bars!). Also very educational!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jilly311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The Thrill of Watching Wild Black Bears”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We entered the grounds and paid our admission, $8 adults, $4 children. We boarded an old school bus that took us a mile down the road to the viewing platform. The doors opened about an inch from the steps and workers stood on each side of the exit/entrance. The old school bus holds about 40 people. You can return to your car at any time. Buses run back and forth.

The platform was large and there were bears everywhere on the ground below. It was thrilling. It was still raining when we arrived. There were cubs resting on tree branches. We saw a mama show her cubs how to climb a tree for protection.

They open at 5pm until 8pm which is plenty of time for photos and viewing. The staff is knowledgeable. It's a photographer's dream. In the summer they have Breakfast with the Bears once a month

They feed the bears a mix of nuts, seeds and dried fruit mixed with a watered down peanut butter. It's a supplement to their diet.

They are open in the summertime until Labor Day and are closed on Mondays.

I'm surprised I've lived in MN so long and have never heard of this place before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Inner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best experience in Orr”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Only place in the world you can see so many wild bears in one place. All the bears are there of their own volition. You can literally watch them for hours.
Be sure to bring cash and extra camera batteries!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CelticHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of 10 ages 6-62 and everyone enjoyed the bears. The staff is knowledgable and interesting, and can answer any questions. We got to see a bear climb a tree right next to the platform, and a mama with 3 cubs. Great experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vince Shute Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Vince Shute Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing