We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hundred Acre Woods B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Orr B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed with Veronica, the gracious host of Hundred Acre Woods BnB, for 3 days, while I was visiting the nearby Vince Schute Wildlife sanctuary. The property is clean and well maintained. There is a very nice back yard patio with wildlife on the property - many different birds, including hummingbirds. They have a pine marten, but we didn't see him/her. While wolves have been seen on the property, we missed seeing them, but heard them at night very close by. We did see deer on the property. The Wildlife sanctuary is a must see - a chance to see numerous black bears up close. The other reviews here describe this retreat well, so I will add my vote as a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: This B&B has two rooms, both are very nice. We stayed in the one with the in room whirlpool tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here recently with my wife as we were visiting the nearby Vince Shute Wildlife Sanctuary (about 10 min away). This treasure of northern hospitality is located about 5 min from Orr town, near Pelican Lake.

Veronica was a wonderful host and the B&B was very homely. She had lots of information about the surrounding attractions and there was plenty of wildlife (deer, pine martins, bears, wolves) visiting her property.

We also used this place as a base to visit the Ely International Wolf Centre (about one hour away)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrIndianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a lovely few days in Orr. It was like a retreat. We cameback so refreshed.
The 100acres B and B, has many advantages like, gourmet country breakfast, firepit, double whirlpool, sauna, fireplace. There are other services like massage, quilting, fiber arts, crafts etc.

The rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable and so quiet. the rooms look exactly like on the website pictures.

The nearby attractions include:
Voyageur country visitor centre and pilcan lake (which I recommend seeing)
Vince Shute Wildlife bear Santuary (it was amazing, we got to see so many bears) The highlight of the holiday
Orr board bog walk
Vermilion Gorge
Fishing and hunting
Bird watching
Ski trails
Golfing
Canoeing
Snowmobile trails

We loved the experience and we would go there again in the future :)

Veronica is an excellent host.

J

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

A beautiful and peaceful retreat in the north woods of Minnesota is what Hundred Acre Woods offers to their guests. We stayed one night last summer, and savored the time soaking in the luxury of the whirlpool hot tub after a busy day outside hiking in the woods. Veronica is the ultimate hostess--she knows how to add those special touches to make her guests feel right at home and downright comfy. Breakfast was scrumptiously delicious, a real gourmet experience, and we especially enjoyed visiting with some international guests from "down under"--all they way from Australia! They were in Orr to volunteer at the Vince Shute Bear Sanctuary for the entire week. Overall, a delightful experience at Hundred Acre Woods. Thanks, Veronica--we will be back! Next time, we'll try a winter's night at the Inn!

Room Tip: If you like to unwind with a whirlpool bath at the end of your day, then that's the room you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Believer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I've visited Orr 4 times to film bears at the Vince Shute Wildlife Sanctuary and stay at Hundred Acre Woods every time. This place is warm, welcoming, comortable. I've stayed in both rooms and both are very nice. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. One room has an attached bathroom and has a jacuzi tub in the room. The other (cheaper) has the bathroom outside the room but the shower is in the sauna room. So they each have their advantages. Veronica is such a sweetheart and great to chat with. Breakfast is served in the main floor kitchen and is very fulfilling. The back deck is available to relax on and enjoy some coffee.

If coming from Orr take the second turn on to Old Highway 53, you'll see a sign for the B&B at the intersection.

Orr is just a 4 minute drive so the diner and shops are within easy reach. The wildlife sanctuary is about a 23 minute drive. Vermillion Falls and the Canadian border are less than an hour away.

One of the owner's friends runs a message business, so ask about scheduling one.

Room Tip: Both are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The rooms are both on lower level -- each has its own bathroom. Ours had a sauna; the other room had a double jacuzzi. North woods decor; log beds, log sofa, etc made by the owner's son, who has a log furniture business in the area. We were greeted with a beverage & sat on the back deck facing the woods. Breakfast was delicious. Rates were very reasonable. Veronica the proprietor is a natural hostess who makes you feel right at home. In the morning, we watched a deer in the yard.

Room Tip: Our bathroom required us to go through a common space (though it was ours alone); the other one did...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank merlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orr hotels
5 mi away
Birch Forest Lodge
Birch Forest Lodge
#1 of 10 in Orr
66 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grey Wolf Lodge
Grey Wolf Lodge
#6 of 10 in Orr
13 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#4 of 10 in Orr
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cabin O' Pines Resort
Show Prices

Been to Hundred Acre Woods B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundred Acre Woods B&B

Address: 5048 Old Highway 53, Orr, MN 55771-8014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Orr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Orr
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing