We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aspen Resort
Nearby Hotels
Pine View Inn(Virginia)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeshore Motor Inn(Virginia)(Great Value!)
$70
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kettle Falls Hotel(Voyageurs National Park)
Thunderbird Lodge(International Falls)
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
33
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdock boysdaily activitiesgreat fishingpot luckblue herongrocery storebait shopnew ownerspelican lakegreat placefamily vacationracespontoongamecoraminnesotadocks
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 34 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Aspen Resort is the perfect place for an "Up North" experience. A beautiful resort, Friendly staff and great fishing. Did I mention GREAT FISHING?
The wildlife viewing is worth the trip with nesting Eagles, Osprey, Bear, Pelicans, Beavers, Deer, Loons, and Ducks.
We will be going back year after year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMN, Owner at Aspen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Max, Thanks for taking the time and posting such a great review. The wildlife experience is something to see on Pelican Lake, we agree. And you are right also about the fishing. Plenty of multi species fun for fisher people of all levels. See you again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This resort has something for everyone - great fishing, boating, swimming, clean and comfortable cabins, a beach, a pool and hot tub, etc. The place is well maintained and beautiful. The owners and resort crew are very friendly and accommodating. The cabins are updated, and they have air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens, and queen size beds. We always rent a pontoon for the week, which is a lot of fun. All of their rental boats are also well maintained. We have always had great luck fishing on Pelican Lake and hope to return to Aspen Resort year after year. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMN, Owner at Aspen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thanks for the great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself- and caught fish! It's always nice when people are having a good time, that spirit is contagious!

See you next year!

Ray and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was our second year at Aspen and we just love it. We use the campground. Ray and Vanessa are the best, the dock boys are incredible, the fishing is great, what more can be said! We love the fact that it is truly based around family, I have never had to worry about my kids at all when we are visiting. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMN, Owner at Aspen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thanks for the great review Rochelle! We sure enjoy the visits with your family and look forward to your next visit. See you then!

Ray and Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great resort with great fishing. Stayed at a lot of resorts in Minnesota and this by far is the best. Will not go to another resort. Always willing to help and the dock employees are wonderful. Crappie fishing heaven in the spring and late fall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMN, Owner at Aspen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Scott, Thanks for the great review. We are glad you enjoy your visits here and we agree our dock staff makes visits better. Plus the excellent fishing doesn't hurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I just returned from Aspen Resort outside of Orr, MN and every review I read had raved about it. It has earned the rave reviews. A very quiet, well maintained and run resort set on a beautiful Minnesota lake. Details make a difference and Aspen pays attention to the details. From the well equipped kitchen (leave your cooking utensil's at home, you don't need them) to the fixtures in the bathroom to the wonderful swimming pool to the friendly dock staff. All exceptional.
We stayed in the Moose cabin with 4 adults and 3 teenagers (13-16). The rooms are on the smallish side, but most people don't come here to sit in a cabin. There is ample space in the main room/kitchen area to enjoy a family meal or game night. The beds are comfortable but the bedrooms are not very big. While the air conditioning worked very well in the main room, the bedrooms had little or no airflow on the one very muggy night we had. (If you know its going to be hot, bring a couple of fans). Fishing is exceptional! My friend went out twice a day every day we were there, and caught fish every time out! Crappies, Bluegils, Large mouth bass, perch and northern's a plenty. Even a city dwelling land lubber like me caught fish!
A very nice get away from the hectic bustle of the metropolitan area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMN, Owner at Aspen Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

John, Thank you for taking the time and writing us such a nice review. Sorry it has taken so long to reply. We are glad you and your group enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again,

Ray & Vanessa Ingebretsen
Owner- Aspen Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews