We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice, clean, comfortable - and FUN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Casino Mille Lacs
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel staff were pleasant and accommodating. The room was well-kept, the amenities were very nice. I would make a return trip to this hotel any time. The fact that it was attached to the casino, was an added plus. While not a big gambler, I do have a Rewards Card and, as such, had received a birthday coupon for a $10 overnight stay. Who could resist checking it out! I am particularly impressed by the towels (I hate paper thin towels that are fraying and tattered). None of that here! The room had a king sized bed and a mini fridge. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It seemed first-class to me.

Room Tip: Our room was in the "tower" wing and was advised by the check-in desk that those were a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharileet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 359 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

Came here in June 2011 to stay over night with the hubby and kids. Amazing pool area and amazing chicken wild rice soup in the cafe area. The hotel staff is a little rude. It would not keep me from coming here, they just don't seem very welcoming & are not exactly 'people pleasing'. I have heard that many times though with an Indian casino ( not trying to be insulting, as I have had many many positive experiences at TI and Grand Casino Hinckley). There is not any alcohol allowed in the casino area but they do let you bring it to your room. I also drink a mixed beverage out of a water bottle in the casino area and no one said anything to me. Over all was a nice experience and would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommyto4blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

how much can you say about bed bugs. spent the vetrans day weekend and had to deal with bed bugs on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: keep you bags up high on shelves or bagge racks, check room before bringing you luggage in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank paintguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were looking for a nice clean room and a little fun at the casino. That is exactly what we got and at a very good price. We have a rewards card and it saved us money on the room and also on dining. We ate at the Grill and it was reasonable and tasty. We will be going back. The casino is much like any other casino.

Room Tip: Get the Rewards card and save a little money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinkling ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Took advantage of a fairly good internet room night. Midweek for $59 + taxes. This was my first time at this casino and the hotel is reflective of the condition and feel of the casino. The room was clean, had a VERY comfy, deep plush bed, linens and pilows - it really was the highlight of the entire stay! It was also very quiet - but this was a Wednesday night. Checkin advised us we could save a few dollars more if we joined the free casino club (which we did). Staff was very nice, personable and checkin went smoothly. The entire place seemed under staff and they could use more! The casino area was messy, lots of full ash trays, used cups and the casino machines were in desperate need for a good wipe down! YUCK.

The hotel room was furnished ok - but cheap. The bathroom ammenities were sparse and cheap - styrofoam cups, very small toiletries. Bathroom was lacking any type of fan. The bed was worth the room cost and more! But I don't think I'll be back since the casino really was in poor condition and needing attention and more cleaning staff.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe non-smoking king. We asked specifically for a comfy bed, quiet location and we got t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junglejody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I went up in late September to see the colors of fall. We were very pleased with everything. Thought the bed was very comfortable. Most of all the rooms were very quiet. I never heard a thing. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetS0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Got a room there awhile back and it was the worst casino experience I've ever had.
First thing the staff was very rude, a pit boss (college drop out) by the name of Todd kicked me off a table for saying god damn. Wow really?? Guess 8 dollars an hour makes you feel powerful. The rest of the staff either ignored or rudely responded to anything you ask. The place was garbage and I needed a drink to get through it... oh yeah dry casino ... lame!!! I think Todd needs a drink to cool off.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gamblindude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onamia
2.8 mi away
Eddy's Resort
Eddy's Resort
#2 of 5 in Onamia
90 reviews
21.5 mi away
Country Inn Deerwood
Country Inn Deerwood
#3 of 3 in Deerwood
51 reviews
8.9 mi away
Izatys Resort
Izatys Resort
#3 of 5 in Onamia
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Red Door Resort & Motel
12.6 mi away
Appeldoorn's Sunset Bay Resort
14.5 mi away
McQuoid's Inn & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Casino Mille Lacs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Casino Mille Lacs

Address: 777 Grand Avenue, Onamia, MN 56359
Location: United States > Minnesota > Onamia
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Price Range: $54 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Casino Mille Lacs 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Casino Mille Lacs Hotel is one of the largest casino hotels in the state of Minnesota featuring 494 rooms designed specifically for comfort and convenience. Our hotel property is a short walk from Lake Mille Lacs and features spacious luxurious suites and personalized service you would expect from a premier destination. In addition to our lively and exciting casino gaming floor, our hotel property boasts an oversized tranquil swimming pool, a 20-person Jacuzzi surrounded by a rock waterfall, a fitness center featuring high end equipment, five delicious restaurants including a coffee shop, retail outlets featuring products such as Coach, a grand arcade with over 80 games, a day care facility with special rates for players, and a nationally recognized events and convention center. Our all-season property offers a convenient central Minnesota just a short drive north of the Twin Cities location right off Highway 169. See you on your next visit to Mille Lacs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Casino Mille Lacs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Casino Mille Lacs Hotel Onamia
Grand Hotel Mille Lacs
Grand Hotel Onamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing