We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oakdale
Certificate of Excellence
Luck, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way for us. They are extremely accommodating here. The rooms were very clean and it was nice that there is a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dharderLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for recommending our hotel. The staff is happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you'll be back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ryan Caldwell
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul / Oakdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    88
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
101
60
25
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

me and my daughter went for a overnight stay. we try to have a girls night every so often. When we got there the staff at the front desk was very prompt and helpful. They let us know about the hotel features. The room was clean and smelled good. We enjoyed the pool area as well. very clean. The next morning we enjoyed the breakfast buffet, it had everything from eggs to waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, starbucks coffee, bacon, hashbrowns, etc..... the cost was affordable and my daughter was free. I highly recommand this hotel. Oh free internet too. Yes its a great hotel for family or business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are happy to see that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon on your next girls night out!

Sincerely,

Ryan Caldwell
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul / Oakdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I usually stay at this hotel 10 times a year. You can always count on a very friendly staff. The ladies that work in the restaurant in the morning and evening (Liz) do a great job representing the company/property. We always enjoy spending some time visiting with them on our trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback, I'll make sure to share this with the staff. They work so hard to make sure that all of our guests are taken care of and they really appreciate when they are noticed like this. We're glad to see that you continue to enjoy the hotel and the service. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Oakdale.

Sincerely

Ryan Caldwell
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul / Oakdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We liked the room, it was clean and fairly spacious. No view, but then again there isn't much view to be had in Oakdale anyway. The breakfast downstairs was very good, and everyone went out of their way to be friendly and offer us whatever we wanted. The chefs they have there can make omelets, french toast, eggs, etc., and it's only $10 or you may have a breakfast coupon like we did. This was the BEST part of our stay. We also liked the free cookies and coffee/tea near the reception desk.

The only minor negative is that we asked for late checkout and were told 12pm was the only thing they could do. I thought 12pm was a REGULAR checkout time. We were looking for something later, and the hotel was certainly NOT crowded, so I was disappointed they didn't try harder to accommodate us. Didn't seem like they had a good rationale to deny a Hilton Honors member who stays several times per year.

Again, overall very good stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel probably have better "view". The north side looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for work this past week and have to rave about the customer service. Every single one of the staff went out of his/her way to be attentive and extremely friendly. As someone who formerly traveled every week for work, this is one of the friendlies staffs I have run into. Our rental car battery died about an hour before an important meeting and 4 staff members scurried to find jumper cables to jump our car and then tell us the quickest route to make our meeting. It was really out of the ordinary to find such attentive staff.

Also their morning breakfast is more like a real restaurant breakfast than other hotels in this category. Fresh eggs, bacon, french toast, fruit, and lots more...

The restaurant is also really good for this level hotel and room service even brought "a little piece of cake" with my room service order as a nice gesture (I didn't order dessert).

The only negative I would say is that I had to buy travel sized toothpaste at the hotel sundry shop, but I think all Hiltons are going to this rather than complimentary "forgotten items' as in the past.

I agree with another reviewer that the towels in the bathrooms could use an upgrade but they're much better than the towels at Marriott's Fairfield Inn.

I'd definitely stay here again, the staff was top notch, the location is in excellent proximity to highways and lots of restaurants (many national chains across the way), and not far from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I walked in thinking, "Not bad at all." The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. There was a little confusion regarding our reservation, but he was kind and understanding. The problem was solved. Initially, we wanted to stay in Stillwater but the hotels we looked into were full. That's what brought us here. The location is great. We have a baby with us so time is everything! We haven't tried the breakfast yet, but I know it will be great. The housekeeping staff were friendly too. Typically, they wouldn't bother saying hello but the staff here are great. I noticed a previous reviewer mentioned that he found hair in the bathroom that probably belonged to a maid. Well, they are all wearing hairnets now! I love how someone (the GM) actually reads these reviews and makes changes. We will recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel and we had a great experience both times. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located to the freeways and
there are lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Helpful?
1 Thank lebarb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakdale
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
1.5 mi away
Sheraton St. Paul Woodbury Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale

Property: Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
Address: 420 Inwood Ave N, Oakdale, MN 55128-7095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Oakdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oakdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale located in Oakdale, Minnesota, only 10 miles from downtown St. Paul. We have a free shuttle to area businesses such as 3M Headquarters, Imation, Northern Tier Energy (all within 5 miles of the hotel). Guest rooms include free internet and the Garden Sleep System. Relax in our pool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale Hotel Oakdale
Hilton Oakdale
Hilton Garden Inn Oakdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing