We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short trip to minneapolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oakdale
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Short trip to minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel was very clean and very helpful courteous staff. My husband and I enjoyed our room.
It is a very convenient location. I would stay here again. Breakfast was good for the type of hotel we were staying at.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Laura S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at the Best Western Regency Plaza. You time and input are greatly appreciated.

So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Twin Cities area.

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    84
    28
    19
    8
See reviews for
66
59
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Based on other reviews, I am guessing some of the problems occurred because it was the All Star week, but really from beginning to end it was not great. The beds were noisy and so uncomfortable. Perhaps some of the worst I have experienced in a long, long time. The staff was helpful without being friendly, again maybe too much going on because of the game, but still we are paying more because of it! Breakfast was so so, room was so so. The bathtub felt like it would give way when taking a shower. The entry was filled with smokers (outside). How about not allowing smoking right in front of the entrance? I was happy this was just a one night stay and I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthOCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear NorthOCTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. You time and input are greatly appreciated.

So sorry to hear that your stay was underwhelming. It is certainly our goal to provide all of our guests with excellent accommodations and exceptional customer service, regardless of the business levels. We will certainly look into what happened that weekend to assure our guests do not experiences like yours during peak business times.

I hope that you will give us another try so that we can prove to you that your previous experience was an exception and not the rule!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First off, it was MLB all star weekend, so way over priced, but as was every other place in the area.
Nice, quick, helpful staff. Clean rooms, with very comfy beds. Tv was great with guide and many options (as I was kept up in bed for the 2 day stay). Location was great, quick to St Paul & Woodbury (our 2 destinations). I did not have the breakfast, but my husband said it was good.
Only complaints are the tub did not drain fast enough while taking a shower, and walls are very thin, hearing next door super easy.
Overall great stay, would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheewyBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear CheewyBrooke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at out Best Western Regency Plaza. Your time and input are greatly appreciated!

Glad to hear you enjoyed most of your experience with us. We will have maintenance look into the plumbing issues you encountered in your room.

Hope we will see you again the next time you are visiting the Twin Cities area!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Mn, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very average place. Breakfast did not cater for anyone who didn't eat bacon. Bathroom door was hard to close and was also squeaky. It was reported but the problem was not fixed. Also there are no blankets that come in the room. You have to request it at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ahsan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Ahsan K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Your time and input is greatly appreciated.

We are sorry that our breakfast did not provide you with options that you prefer. We do rotate our hot items on a daily basis to provide variety. We are always looking for ways to improve our breakfast offering and would welcome any specific feedback as to what items we should look into adding to our variety.

I apologize for the issues with your bathroom door and am looking into why this was not taken care of for you immediately.

Please give us another opportunity to show you the type of customer service and experience you deserve!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Don't stay here with a group. They assume everyone is out to cause trouble. The staff was rude to parents and kids. Our kids were very well behaved. Parents got yelled at as soon as they got off the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Rhosis,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. Your time and input is greatly appreciated.

So sorry to hear your group's experience was less than welcoming. It is certainly not our intent to provide less than exceptional customer service to any of our guests and we will certainly look into the specifics of what happened during your group's stay with us. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and speak with management to let us know specifics about your experiences with us so that we can be assured that this never happens again.

Hope you will give us a chance to to prove this was an isolated incident.

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stay at a lot of Best Western hotels on our travels because we are always treated well, our rooms are clean and comfortable, and the rewards program has been outstanding. This hotel has become our place to stay in St. Paul, MN when we are there on business which is about one or two times a month.

The hotel has been remodeled and it is quite nice. The lobby is bright, and welcoming and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is super clean and well stocked for the morning meal. Our rooms have been clean, quite and very comfortable.

The transit to downtown St. Paul is no problem in normal traffic situations. However, all bets are off when it snows because this is Minnesota and we seem to forget how to drive on snow between storms; I jest (slightly). This hotel is located in a good neighborhood and you do not have to drive far for good meals or shopping (bottle shop is right across the street)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldsorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear oldsorb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding your most recent stay with is. You tome is greatly appreciated!

So glad to hear that we have become your accommodation of choice when you are staying in the St. Paul, MN area. We are continually working to improve our hotel and guest experiences and we are glad you have noticed some of these changes!

Looking forward to your next stay.

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just okay. It seems tired, and in need of some help, which it might be getting. There was a section of the parking lot blocked off that looked like it may be construction materials. Our room had a very noisy air conditioning unit; so noisy it kept me awake. The safety latch on the door was broken; as if some one kicked the door in so hard that it broke! These things made it a less than comfortable stay for us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank msbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoakdale, Manager at BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear msbien,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, regarding you stay with us back in May. We appreciate your time and input! So sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. We will try and track the room down that you stayed in and make sure our maintenance team addresses those issues immediately. As you noticed by the containers in the parking lot, we are doing some room renovations and updates to give our rooms a more modern feel. We hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in the Twin Cities area!

All the best,
BW Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakdale
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Paul NE - Lake Elmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Paul-I94-East (3M Area)
1.6 mi away
Sheraton St. Paul Woodbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East

Property: BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East
Address: 970 Helena Ave N, Oakdale, MN 55128-5388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Oakdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oakdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East is ideally located just minutes east of St. Paul and the Xcel Energy Center. The service is impeccable and the accommodations are both comfortable and affordable. Guests staying at this Oakdale hotel will enjoy well-appointed spacious guest rooms featuring satellite television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access. A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served to hotel guests every morning. Dining is made easy at the BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East with two Bar & Grills conveniently located in the hotel parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Regency Plaza Hotel - St. Paul East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing