We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Ecclectic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Ecclectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

It was a quiet two day get away. Twenty years ago our daughter and son in law were married at the lodge. Many fond memories and pictures. This time we came to make our memories. Those started right away when we met with owner/innkeeper/resident artist for a three hour painting class. The class was complete with wine, a cheeze plate, and given our choice as towhat we would like to paint. The instuction was very helpful, but not over powering. Our suite was large with an electric fireplace and two person jacuzzi. The Lodge has a has a large library, and an open meeting area both with huge 6' × 10' hearths. The open area for log and tree burning while the libraries is gas. The ammenities are may, the ecclectic side is a reminder of antiquities and decor of days gone by. Access to dining out in downtown Stillwater is only 5 minutes away. Breakfast is also included. The staff and management provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for coming back and sharing 20 years of good memories with us. We appreciate your feedback- and your online review!

We are very happy also that you took real advantage of the Art open studio session : may be two news stars are born in the twin cities' art scene. Art is fun work and it can be very rewarding : there is always space for learning and growing, and it keeps you young !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    81
    38
    26
    35
See reviews for
17
197
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our weekend at the Outing Lodge. We thought the lodge was very interesting. We'd much rather stay somewhere that might need some upgrading but at the same time has character that you'd never find at a chain hotel...that's why you stay at a B&B. They have old timber floors and fireplaces you can walk into. There's also a library room to explore. We also really enjoyed the painting class with Carlota. She was very nice and made us comfortable immediately.
That, combined with the location having immediate, out the door access, to some very nice trails, made it a definite spot we hope to return to someday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, General Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for appreciating the uniqueness of the Lodge and the trails, and also for enjoying the open art session!
We hope to have you both back at the Lodge many times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight. This place is lovely! It is cozy and rustic and the dog (Choco) is awesome!. The bed was comfy, the breakfast was delicious and we did a short 3 mile hike right outside the door before we left. The highlight was painting with Carlotta. We drank some wine, nibbled cheese and enjoyed our session. Thanks!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website. Do you want a fireplace? A Jacuzzi?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lssweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for posting your review: We hope to see you back many times !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a fabulous time at the Outing Lodge. It was a lovely setting, the people were fabulous and we loved the historic, character-loaded charm of the place. It is a bit rustic (e.g there are not outlets on every wall like you find in newly-built, suburban homes and the décor is probably equivalent to the period), but it was very clean and comfortable, but we loved that about it. If you are looking for the Four Seasons, this is not it. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway in a place that exudes history, where the people are friendly and eager to please, we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We loved the Picasso room even though it was too cool to use the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frozentundra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate your review and feedback: we love the Lodge and our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Love the rustic and historic feeling of the lodge. Great hiking and asking trails. Fireplaces are gorgeous. The staff at the lodge are friendly and kind. If you need a quiet getaway I suggest staying at Outing Lodge.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for enjoying your stay and please, be back many times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this inn. We loved the historical elements - it was built in 1858! The fall colors made for a beautiful hike on the many trails around the grounds. We're curious to see how the renovations of the other buildings turn out. The bedding and draperies could use some updating and the bathroom may be due for a facelift, but we just chalked it up to character. People with allergies may have some difficulty. The carpets are a little dingy as well and should probably be updated soon. There was a little bit of clutter here and there (especially on the sleeping porch of the Eva Peron room) and in the upper common area. A little extra attention to tidying up would go a long way for overall ambiance. Breakfast was served in the morning with fresh scrambled eggs as well as an assortment of scones, cheeses, meats and yogurt. The owners are very, very nice and we enjoyed talking with them at breakfast. This inn has a lot of rustic charm and with some repairs could be a very nice getaway someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 813eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for enjoying your stay and appreciating the historical value of Lodge. Thank you also for the suggestions for improvements: we are working on it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Going to The Outing Lodge is a bit like going to a wealthy aunt's house: it's very friendly and filled with character, but in need of some upkeep.

The common areas are very rustic and charming, and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. We were in the Amelia Earhart room, and it also had character, but I must say it had some odd smells and the carpet was ancient and in need of replacement. The bathroom is nicely tiled (marble on floors and walls) and has a rather old jacuzzi tub which we didn't get around to trying out. We didn't have hot water in the sink, but we did in the shower.

The breakfast is nothing spectacular, but it's nice. Scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, fruit, coffee, etc.

I think the main problem is that it's slightly over-priced. At least the Amelia Earhart room is. If it was $100 - $150 / night, I'd say we got your money's worth. At over $200/night, I think most experienced travelers will expect a bit more of a consistent (albeit "rustic") polish to the place. But like visiting your great aunt, it's hard to get too disturbed about some of the inadequacies of the property when treated in a very friendly, helpful manner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlota1, Manager at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Some- (should I say 'most'? ) B&B are like 'going to your aunt's home: you check-in and you are asked to take off your shoes at the front door, and you are informed at what time the door closes at night.
We appreciate your friendly and sincerely caring notes, specially regarding our 'familiar' style of service. However, we disagree with you about the description of The Outing Lodge as an experience that would be comparable to staying at your 'aunt's home" ..
First, Outing Lodge is in a 300 park, with several miles of trails, - some of them paved - connecting to the Twin cities, groomed in Winter for ski.
Second, the main Lodge is a fairly large house - 3 levels open to the guests( - not counting the attic). It has original and authentic- "sui generis" features, such as a huge- walk-in- wood burning fireplace- the largest in Minnesota (?), many original antiques/art pieces, and an interesting history as the second Poor Farm in Minnesota.
I think what you meant with your aunt's home comparison is that the lodge resembles a private home rather than a regular -chain- hotel and also that our service made you feel at 'home'.
If that is the case, we are glad and we would agree..
However, again, I think we would describe - at least the Premises- as being a little more - or different- than any aunt's home. For sure, we do not ask you to take your shoes at the door, we allow pets, the house and many of the rooms are very spacious-- much more than the average aunt's home- and there is a lot of 'privacy' and places to seat and feel like you are in "Europe" or in a "different" place, may be even back in time, or in a movie set ..
As far as I know homes in Minnesota, the Outing Lodge is nothing like your regular -'modern' Minnesotan aunt's home.
We thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your online review and the honestly and good intentions of your comments, even if we do not share 100% of what you say. We do agree that the house needs work and we are working on several projects to improve the quality of the B&B stays to a more "modern standard" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park Heights
4.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Stillwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outing Lodge at Pine Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outing Lodge at Pine Point

Property: Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Address: 11661 Myeron Rd N, Oak Park Heights, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Oak Park Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century History Preserved at the Outing Lodge European style 19th century country home, surrounded by lawns and gardens with 300 acres of wooded park land ~ a place where people would go to get away from modern city life. Pine Point was founded in 1858 as Minnesota's second "poor farm," a home for the chronically indigent or those temporarily down on their luck. Stillwater was a wealthy community in 1850, the territorial capital. In this abundant atmosphere, a desire to help the less fortunate culminated in the construction of this poor farm. The prize-winning dairy farm became both a home and a workplace to thousands of needy for almost 100 years. When the farm was closed in 1957, the land was planted in pine trees, now Pine Point Park. The house went on for 20 years as a Rest Home. In the 1980s, to save it from proposed demolition, Lee Gohlike began its renovation. He gutted its interiors with a reverence for its historic past: wide-planked wooden floors cut from old pine beams provide a perfect backdrop to the many elegant antique furnishings, numerous candelabra and massive fireplaces. Featured in Midwest Traveler, Star Tribune and other local & national publications, this beautiful Georgian home is a destination for exclusive retreats & events. Guests enjoy cross-country skiing, horseback and biking trails connecting to the Metro system. Theme dinner calendar of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Outing Lodge at Pine Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outing Lodge At Pine Point Hotel Oak Park Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing