We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more research was needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The Outing Lodge was very convenient to get to from downtown Stillwater. Overall, we really wanted to love the Outing Lodge, but it was just OK. However, I would recommend this to anyone that can get a discount like we did, but take a tour first to find your room. We had received a discount through an online coupon, so for the total we paid it was worth the visit (about 55% off total cost). Upon arriving, we were greeted by very friendly staff that showed us to our room, and offered any suggestions to local hot spots. Due to the weather, we did not get to view the grounds but opted to spend time during the day downtown Stillwater. We stayed in room #4 which was the Bob Dylan room, and were specifically underwhelmed with this room. There was champagne and two chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us which was nice. The bed was uncomfortable and so loud and rickety it woke us up with every little movement (NOTE: bed is described as handmade). Both of us woke up with sore necks and backs. Sound travels very well in this old building, so that may have contributed to the poor sleep. The room updates looked unfinished and not pretty to the eye (ex. you could see from the "closet" into the fireplace; venting in bedroom was eye sore). Having a fireplace in the room was enjoyable, as was the jacuzzi in the bathroom. The breakfast the next morning was fabulous! We upgraded to have an omelets with the buffet, which was a perfect way to start the day. If we were to stay again, we would definitely take a tour of the B&B to see if there is a another room that would fit our wants more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicoele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was our first experience staying at a bed & breakfast and we weren't sure what to expect. We were subsequently very impressed with the whole experience. We loved learning about the history of the home and its owners. The owner, Carlotta and her staff member, Franco were very hospitable. We thoroughly enjoyed the european breakfast buffet as well. I will highly recommend this to friends and family and we will definitely go back. Perhaps in the spring or fall.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megmc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

You have to come to the Outing Lodge with an open mind. Yes, it's rustic but makes you feel like you've gotten away from it all. The building itself is old and the upkeep must be a nightmare and done with a minimal staff. We decided to try the evening 3 course dinner and we absolutely loved it. Franco, in addition to many other duties at the lodge, is a fantastic chef. He had set up out table (including candelabra) next to one of the fireplaces. The breakfast buffet had a wonderful selection of meats, cheeses, fruit, granola, fresh baked breads and croissants. All very nicely displayed. Yes, our room was cold and drafty but that's the nature of the building. The gas fireplace and heaters worked just fine. Our only complaint was the pillows, which need to be upgraded. The owner, Carlotta, is also an aspiring artist and it was fun talking to her about her artwork. (Choco the Lab is a great dog.) We will definitely make a return visit when the weather warms up.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is a wonderful place with so much charm! It is right in the middle of a park with miles of trails. We cross-country skied every day we were there and it was absolutely fabulous. The park is groomed well for traditional skiing. I imagine it is great for hiking in the other seasons. The lodge was rustic yet had everything we needed. The huge fireplace in the lobby area was amazing and provided such ambiance. Our room was delightful with all kinds of books, pictures and other memorabilia of Robert Frost. The breakfasts were delicious. All of this is just minutes away from fun shopping in Stillwater- but we preferred the relaxation of the lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarySayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed in the Eva Peron room. After skiing all day at William OBrien state park (only 15 minuets away), we really enjoyed the Jacuzzi bathtub. We stayed at the lodge for dinner that night, the food was very good, and we where glad not to drive into Stillwater. The room was very confortable and spacious. Breckfast was as advertised, very good European style buffet, We then took advantage of the skinig at Pine Point park, which you can access from the lodges parking lot. Great trails! Every one was very hlepful and kind, had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbwca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Very cozy intimate B&B and the Choco the Dog is a very nice Dog he followed the car went I was parking and was very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othellosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I wanted to get away for a night since we hadn't done anything like this. The place was great and we had a wonderful stay. However, I question the management and service of the property. The day of our stay I got a call and they said our room had a water leak problem. They only offered me two options: 1) a lower quality room with no spa that was available that night and cost $60 less per night but we wouldn't get the credit and 2) change your reservation date. I stressed that I work weekend nights and had to specially ask this night off for our reservation. They got a hold of us hours before check in to notify us of the situation. I figured and definitely felt like we should have been entitled to a voucher for dinner or given something in addition for this inconvenience. They wouldn't offer us anything so we ended up staying in the room with the water leak problem. It really wasn't that much of a big deal. They hid the leaky water behind blinds by the window so we didn't notice it. During the night I woke up a couple times to water dropping though. The champagne bottle they included was a nice gift and we received chocolate strawberries as well. I would like the management to know that I feel the amount of strawberries is not nearly enough though. We were a bit disappointed when there were 3 strawberries for the two of us. All in all we had a great stay and the fireplace smell of the place is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starman1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park Heights
4.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
149 reviews
5.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rivertown Inn
Rivertown Inn
#4 of 9 in Stillwater
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Outing Lodge at Pine Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outing Lodge at Pine Point

Address: 11661 Myeron Rd N, Oak Park Heights, MN 55082
Location: United States > Minnesota > Oak Park Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park Heights
Price Range: $132 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century History Preserved at the Outing Lodge European style 19th century country home, surrounded by lawns and gardens with 300 acres of wooded park land ~ a place where people would go to get away from modern city life. Pine Point was founded in 1858 as Minnesota's second "poor farm," a home for the chronically indigent or those temporarily down on their luck. Stillwater was a wealthy community in 1850, the territorial capital. In this abundant atmosphere, a desire to help the less fortunate culminated in the construction of this poor farm. The prize-winning dairy farm became both a home and a workplace to thousands of needy for almost 100 years. When the farm was closed in 1957, the land was planted in pine trees, now Pine Point Park. The house went on for 20 years as a Rest Home. In the 1980s, to save it from proposed demolition, Lee Gohlike began its renovation. He gutted its interiors with a reverence for its historic past: wide-planked wooden floors cut from old pine beams provide a perfect backdrop to the many elegant antique furnishings, numerous candelabra and massive fireplaces. Featured in Midwest Traveler, Star Tribune and other local & national publications, this beautiful Georgian home is a destination for exclusive retreats & events. Guests enjoy cross-country skiing, horseback and biking trails connecting to the Metro system. Theme dinner calendar of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Outing Lodge at Pine Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outing Lodge At Pine Point Hotel Oak Park Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing