We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great soup and sandwiches in a casual atmosphere”
Review of Hogan Brothers

Hogan Brothers
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Northfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great soup and sandwiches in a casual atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hogan Bros is a lively and fun lunch or light dinner spot. They offer several choices and sizes for the sandwiches; the soups are great; and the service is fast. Some evenings they feature acoustic music by local performers. Don't forget the ice cream for dessert!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 980Happywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    46
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hogan Brothers”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent hoagies -- great price - cheapest beer in town. Very quick service. An institution in Northfield. Booths - cozy environment. Good veggy options and ice cream.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent & Fresh Food!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Bread is baked fresh everyday! The beer cheese soup is to die for! They even have live entertainment on certain days of the week.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good soup not so good sandwich”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch. I was disappointed. I had a luke warm French Onion Soup and a one-third turkey hoagie. While the bread for the hoagie was fantastic there was just a tiny amount of turkey (think in terms of a tablespoon)in the sandwich. I like the decor in the store and will try Hogan's again but I don't hold out much hope. My wife, on the other hand, enjoyed her roast beef hoagie.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMessersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches/soup”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Food was really good but they could put more veggies on the sandwiches as others have mentioned. Bread is quite nice and we enjoyed the special sauce too. Did not think the bread was hard or soggy, like others mentioned. Everyone liked the soups and they offer several different kinds including at least one vegetarian. Service is a little slow, we stood at the front counter to get a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie after our meal and everyone ignored us for a couple minutes. Overall nice place for soup and sandwiches.

Helpful?
Thank nicolef872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogan Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Hogan Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing