We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Portions”
Review of Hogan Brothers

Hogan Brothers
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Northfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
304 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Huge Portions”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were trying out local spots in Northfield while visiting our son at Carleton. We needed a quick bite before seeing a movie and tried Hogan's. It was 7:15 on a Saturday night for Parents' weekend and we thought it might be crowded. But we must have timed it right, as there was no line (other reviews have mentioned the lines/crowds). This is a no frills place. You pick your size of sandwich (1/3, 1/2, whole) and your ingredients and they bring you your food about 5-10 minutes later. The portions are HUGE. If you are looking for something other than sandwich/soup/ice cream, this isn't your place. There are no salads or other options, but what they do have is delicious and very affordable. They have about 16 flavors of ice cream and those portions are also huge. There was live music (a little on the loud side - hard to have a conversation) the night we visited. The staff was friendly. Great local spot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What would I do without Hogan's?”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I'm a college student who is semi-off board, and frequenting this place will save me hundreds of dollars a term. For $3.52, you get a 1/3 hoagie and if you're my size, will fill you up. Most people get the half and if you have an appetite to sate, get the whole hoagie. The value is ridiculous and the food is great, not to mention their cheap, delicious ice cream. The food comes fast too. The record for me was 2 minutes. During rush hours the line can go out the door and the restaurant is quite loud, and that's the only downside.

Sincerely,
A Carl and a regular

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gaiusjuliuscaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yummy stop”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Healthy (sort of) great hoagies and soups. Huge eats and funky cool vibe? We just happened in as the schoos were back in, and it was packed, but moved everyone through quickly. I'd return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MovinMovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
357 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Simple sandwich shop that always serves up a good experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Simple sandwich shop that always serves up a good experience (been there several times). Service is fairly fast, and the staff is open and helpful. Sandwiches are good; hint - if you don't want too much oil, suggest not having all of the special sauce and other oil-based condiments.

The ice-cream bar (Johnny Pop?) we ordered was a bit mis-shapen from a slight thaw and refreeze. Instead of just giving it to us and hoping we wouldn't complain (which some places might have done), they explained when they brought it out, and offered it to us for free.

Don't go thinking it will be quiet (it's a louder room, and is usually full); it's busy with locals for a reason.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank djlund999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
“Fresh Bread vs DRY BREAD”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Love this Sandwich Shops Food, but have a problem that they leave the bread out in the open
and let it get dry so fast. Would you leave your sandwich bread out in the OPEN???
Unless you have your sandwich warmed up in the Microwave. You take a big chance to get Dried out Bread:(
Please rally round and get Hogans to Keep Bread in Bag and Fresh !! Yeah....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hogan Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Hogan Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing