We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
MN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not clean”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our bathroom in our room had several different hairs in it that were not ours (floor and sink). I knew the hotel was more full (although not completely) so I just cleaned it up and didn't request a room change. The carpet floor in the room wasn't the cleanest either finding a sunflower seed and some other crumbs.

The pools to be honest, were gross in their lack of cleanliness. I can't think of another time when we've been in such an unclean pool. There were hairs in the pool's water you could feel on your hands when trying to swim and glide by. The floors weren't in the best shape either. As mentioned by others there is a train track in the back, which we did know about ahead of time as it does say this on the website, and I don't know why I didn't think to request a room away from it. It did wake us up twice. The breakfast was ok, had eggs that tasted a little strange, ham, donuts (liked powered sugar ones), waffle machine, juice, etc..

On a few positive notes the breakfast attendent was really on the ball about refilling stuff. Employees seemed pleasant when we saw them. The bed was very comfortable. The location is convinient to downtown, you could even walk if you don't mind crossing the highway.

The lack of cleanliness in this place/ our room means that I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the highway, at least you won't be in the back by the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    39
    40
    25
See reviews for
103
18
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacred Heart, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We have had a lot of experience with various hotels in the area and abroad. We love the staff at the Country Inn by Carlson. The hotel itself is a bit rundown, and never has been of terribly high quality such that we have enjoyed at the Hyatt Spa's or in Vegas locations... but, it's very clean, comfortable, and the staff is really wonderful, which can make up for a lot. The pool is so warm, it's easy to spend the day in it with young children. The one thing that great staff cannot make up for is the train noise. Periodically thru the night and during the daytime, there is a train that runs within 20 ft of the rear of the building, and it blows it's horn for the upcoming intersection. This is NOT cool at 2am with small children. If you stay, make sure you ask for a highway side room - then you only have road noise. Oh, and pull out sofa's in the Suite's are horribly uncomfortable. The middle support bar is visibly higher than the rest of the mattress and cuts right into your back. My kids took the couch cushions and made pallets on the floor instead of sleeping on it.

Room Tip: We like the first floor family suite on the highway side... ?101? You do get door noise when outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Room was clean. Breakfeast was fine. Staff were friendly. BUT the train tracks (less than 100 feet from the rooms in back) carry about four trains per night at full speed with horns blaring. It feels like the trains are going to come right into your room. If you do stay here, I would recomend asking for a room in front on the first floor to minimize the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front (toward street) to minimize the noise from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UCDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northfield hotels

Metropolis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Northfield doesn't have many good options for lodging and Country Inn is no exception to that rule. We shared a very, very large room (#125) with our daughter. We shared the lumpy and extra-soft king bed while our daughter made do with an uncomfortable pull-out sofa. After just one night on that, she opted for the floor in her brother's dorm room and told us the floor was more comfortable. Breakfast was nearly inedible with pasty oatmeal, rubber eggs and off-brand cereal. We made waffles and spread peanut butter on them because it seemed the best option. We ended up going out for breakfast the 2nd and 3rd mornings of our stay. We knew in advance about the loud highway and train, so we brought along two white noise machines and ear plugs to muffle the night sounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerCheeseHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I cannot stress how loud the trains are that run all night. This is a well
kept hotel with a nice indoor pool, very clean, average breakfast. What I did not realize is that the train is 10 feet from your room always blowing the whistle or screeching breaks. Several times I woke up in a panic only to realize I was dreaming and the train was so loud my heart was racing.
The breakfast was ok, bagels, waffles etc the problem was none of it was very high quality so it is almost waste if the food is old and stale. for example, the fruit was gross fruit cocktail. The meat was diced up something, maybe ham.
The staff was nice but not very knowledgeable.
Not many places in north field but I think the train will ruin your visit, we were up most of the night which made the 7 hour drive very long.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stepford wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Small rooms but comfy beds. The continental breakfast is small and not well stocked. They were constantly running out of juice and other items. Their pricing policy is sneaky. They will jack up the prices if there is something going on in town. They get away with it because there are few options. Nice pool I guess. All the employees seemed to be "new" whenever we had to talk to someone and could never get a straight answer from anyone. Check with other hotels in the area before you stay here.

Room Tip: Check the price for each day before you committ. They will raise your prices based on the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewdawgq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I reviewed this property in April 2006 when we were looking at colleges. This past week-end we stayed here while attending graduation. Time flies.

What has time meant for this Country Inn? Well, our room and the public areas were still clean but our “non-smoking” room had a distinctly smoke-like odor. The clerk gave us a spray bottle of smoke remover (yes, that’s what it’s called – probably better not to ask what’s in it) which made the situation better. The room was large, easily accommodating two queen beds, dresser, table, two chairs, and a fridge. There have been some updates, e.g., the light fixtures in our room had been replaced; we could tell because the walls had not been repainted where the old fixtures were installed. The breakfast area is larger and the food selection is now on a par with other properties in this class.

This time we had a room on the back (train track) side of the property. Avoid this if you can unless you like to hear train noises (horns, rattling cars, clickety-clack) in the middle of the night.

The desk clerk was snippy with my wife during check-in but our other interactions with the staff were positive. The clerk may have been frazzled because the place was absolutely full. Our rate for the first night was reasonable but increased over 50% for each of the next two nights, I assume in honor of graduation.

The motel is very well located with easy access to downtown and both colleges. It is still probably the nicest place to stay in Northfield.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteWolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
0.2 mi away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
132 reviews
11.8 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#4 of 5 in Faribault
278 reviews
11.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Faribault
11.7 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
Address: 300 South Highway 3, Northfield, MN 55057-1752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson Hotel Northfield
Country Inn Northfield
Northfield Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing