We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large rooms and pet-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Certificate of Excellence
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large rooms and pet-friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were lucky to find this hotel to be pet-friendly. We have a daughter who lives in Northfield but doesn't have room for us to stay with her and her cats don't like our dog. The rooms are large and roomy. The professional pictures show the old type of hotel bedspreads but they use nicely updated bedding now. We kept our 3 year old granddaughter with us and she spilled water on the carpet and while wiping it up I was happy to notice that the carpet was clean. So many times when you check in with a dog you get the worst room. That was not the case here. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is typical but good and fresh. The pool area is nice and roomy. You don't get splashed everytime someone jumps in the pool.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the suites and it is nice to have an extra room and refrigerator but the regular r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonaM529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
9
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Room was fine, but a bit worn. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was horrible -- stale muffins, bruised fruit, bitter coffee. Be warned that there's no elevator so if you're on the second floor you'll have to carry your bags up. (Normally that's not a big deal, but on college move-in day that can be a pain.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guacomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

There are not an abundance of options in Northfield, especially during college drop-off during the fall. We stayed here for one evening. The staff is the best part - genuinely nice people. Our son's room smelled a bit musty. I mentioned it to the front desk and they said they would get an ozone machine to fix the problem. As we only stayed for one night, I have no idea if this did work. The rooms are serviceable, but basic. No fridge. The location is convenient - off the main highway through town, but not within walking distance town. Breakfast is included, but it was very uninspired- could have used a little fresh fruit and better quality food. We will stay here again in a month for Parents' Weekend and I'm already planning to find breakfast elsewhere. The pool looked nice, but we did not use.

Room Tip: ask for room on the second floor to help avoid parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

nothing more than a motel 6ish hotel.
expensive for what you get.
sheets were torn though
staff is nice
hot tub was very nice and relaxing and warm even!
Rooms could probably use some updating but overall it was fine for an overnite stay
Friendly staff and nice on the phone-- breakfast was ok maybe a few more selections would be ok but it is included in the room so it was fine...

close to st olaf college so it is a good place for parents and families to stay when moving kids in or out or visiting-- so nice on the phone when we called to get reservations especially Paul.

rooms were clean and the pool area was also very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night so that we could attend my cousin's wedding at Carleton. Because it was such a short stay, we didn't spend much time at the hotel or use too many of its amenities. However, from what I could tell, this was equivalent to the other Americinns we've stayed at before. While you won't get any fancy decor or food, the lobby, room, and free breakfast were all adequate. I’d say the highlight at this particular location was the staff – they were quite friendly and efficient. The location was definitely convenient for our purposes, being just a quick 5 minute drive up the hill to Carleton. However, those looking for small town ambiance should note that the location of this hotel will leave something to be desired. It is surrounded by strip malls and similar businesses. To sum up, if you are looking for a solid, convenient, and inexpensive place to stay while visiting the area, I’d recommend it. If you are looking for a romantic getaway in the countryside, I’d consider another lodging option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of our property. I'm pleased to see that we met your needs while you were in Northfield. We hope to see you again in Northfield soon.

Sincerely,

Paul J. McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

When making reservations for a motel in Northfield for a wedding I had to choose between the Country Inn or AmericInn. I have always liked staying at AmericInns, but I thought I would try some thing different. Bad move. They messed up our reservations so we had no place to stay, but AmericInn came to the rescue! They had a recent cancelation that they held for us to get there and booked us into a very nice room.
The next morning I was so surprised by the breakfast! Wow, eggs, sausage, waffles, bagels, muffins, etc and the Sunday comics, all in one place. Thank you AmericInn, and Brianna, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy to see we were able to help you get a room in our very busy city. It can be a challenge at times!

I will let Brianna know that you were pleased with her service, and again, thank you for choosing AmericInn in Northfield.

Sincerely,

Paul J. McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
207 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

There are not many lodging options in Northfield, home of St. Olaf College. Most popular is the Country Inn, because it is close enough to campus to walk there. But if you have a car, the Americinn is a similar level of lodging, and has the advantage that it is not right next to the railroad tracks. During a recent stay there, I found the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was basic but comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was fine. It is a very reasonable option.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hello and thank you for writing a Trip Advisor review on our AmericInn in Northfield, MN.

Our goal is to be a clean, affordable, and friendly option while serving the comforts of home. We are currently updating our property which means the facility you like already will be getting better.

We are enjoying making the changes you have come to expect and look forward to the upcoming upgrades to be made.

Thank you again! We hope to see you soon.

Paul J. McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
1.3 mi away
Archer House River Inn
Archer House River Inn
#2 of 5 in Northfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
10.7 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
21.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Nicollet Inn
10.7 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
Address: 1320 Bollenbacher Dr, Northfield, MN 55057-3609
Location: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Northfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing