We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suite in historic inn close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Archer House River Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely suite in historic inn close to everything.”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I stayed in this Inn for three nights while visiting family in the area. Since I was staying several days, I upgraded to the lovely 2-room anniversary suite. There was a spacious living room and a separate spacious bed room. The bathroom included a jacuzzi tub, the bedding was wonderful, and the sofa was a comfortable place to read. Wi-fi reception was excellent. The inn was built in 1877 and my room was beautifully restored. It is located on the main historic street and I enjoyed taking long walks along the riverfront, and up into the lovely old neighborhoods. The inn is part of the delightful historic downtown area, and the two colleges are also within walking distance. I had a wonderful time there, and it was worth the extra cost to upgrade my room. I will return there again, and I highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
27
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

This place is a dump. They are in the process of renovating but what does that mean? Some of the lower level common areas are getting fixed up, but fixed up to what? They had no effect on guest comfort.

My room was down a series of serpentine hallways which were lined with furniture caked with dust. These were not part of the renovation. It just looked like they wanted to store furniture between the elevator and the rooms on the third floor.

As for my room - the four post bed was nice but every other aspect was dated. The black whirlpool bath - huge but dated. Oak cabinets - these were cheap when they were bought and look terrible 35 years later. The TV was small, however, I couldn't hear it (nor sleep) anyway since the wall mounted heater/air conditioner was really loud. There were no drapes on the dormer window so I was awakened with the sun rise.

The staff told me that there were no immediate plans to renovate the rooms upstairs. The money isn't there and it may take "years".

I wouldn't usually say this, but when in Northfield, stay at a chain hotel instead of this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed one night at the Archer House to see Carleton College and St. Olaf's. The location cannot be beat -- walking distance to Carleton College and on the main downtown street.

The hotel was undergoing renovations when we were there -- so the elevator didn't work -- ok because it was just me and my son.

The positives: The staff is friendly. We were able to print off boarding passes at the lobby front desk computer. The breakfast in the basement restaurant (The Tavern?) was SUPERB. They serve a really hearty Midwestern breakfast that will help you fend off the Minnesota winter. (And there is a really nice coffee shop next door which is also very good and friendly and has great baked goods.).

The beds are also first-rate. They've spent some money on the beds and bedding and that really makes up for the dated bathroom in our room.

The negative is that this, 100-year old hotel, is overdue for a renovation, which it is now undergoing. I am excited that in perhaps six months or a year, there will be some new rooms open (there are no 4th floor rooms -- but they are building some suites up there). And the bathrooms need updating from the 1970s. Our room (300) had a 1970s tub with whirlpool jets -- one look and you will only shower there.

Once the renovations are done, I think this will be a great place.

* * *

One quirky part of Northfield that we enjoyed was going to Tiny's and having a root beer and a hot dog. Best root beer I've ever had -- served in frosty mug.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

When I walked into the Archer House, my heart sank. Remodeling of some sort was going on, and the lobby looked run down, and none too clean.The carpet to the elevator was stained and greasy, and I thought I had made a big mistake choosing quaint over chain. But my room, while lacking in flat surfaces to set things on, was freshly decorated, the bed was comfy, the linens spotless and very good quality, and the bathroom and tub were spic and span. Hallelujah! Breakfast at the Tavern downstairs was bountiful and delicious for an excellent price, and all the staff friendly. The room was small, but quiet and my 8 year old daughter and I slept very well in the double bed while my son visited Carleton. The staff was friendly and the town is very cute. All in all, I liked the Archer House, and would recommend it to anyone for whom a fridge and in -room coffeepot, hangers, and dresser, are not essential. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Reminds me of a modest hotel in French Quarter New Orleans -- the rooms truly seem unique, each one different in layout and antique-like furnishings. They have cute evocative names.

The nice small lobby had antiques and smelled a bit like curry from the attached Indian restaurant. Great location, near the strip of boutique shops and short walk to the college Carleton.

Staff was friendly when they were around. Asked twice for restaurant help but didn't get any follow-through.

I stayed on the street side facing the college and there was not much noise. The local malt factory does put off a bit of a smell at times, extending into the room at night. Kind of like popcorn.

The room was clean and the bed was big and comfy. There was no clockradio or alarm, just a decorative clock. The TV was pitifully cheap but newish, plenty of channels not HBO.

The sink didn't drain before or after the guy came to fix it. Only problem, really. Big tub/shower with some kind of jacuzzi feature. Tiny bathroom.

A word to the hungry -- bring snacks. This is a small small town and there are no vending machines for snacks in the hotel that I could find, just soda. I was there on a holiday Monday and there were no restaurants open except for a good pub called Froggybottom which I recommend for the stew. The restaurant in the hotel basement was just OK.

  • Liked — not cookie-cutter
  • Disliked — few extras
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizardts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Tons of character & the most comfortable bed ever in a hotel. The climate in the room was perfect--considering the winter freeze outside. Convenient to walk to Carleton College and small town shops. Quiet, clean & restful. Excellent wireless service.

  • Liked — convenient to carleton college; historic ambience
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wordjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The Archer House is far from a perfect hotel, but I will go so far as to say that it is perfectly suited to the type of person that is willing to overlook some small faults for the sense of gentility, repose, and history that the Archer House provides. I'm sorry, but Type A personalities that complain about a little dust or shade pulls on the wrong side of the shade just don't get it it.

We have stayed at the Archer House I think ten times in the 4 years that my son was at Carleton. The rooms range from pleasantly vintage to downright kitschy, but they all have personality. Yes, the sheets can be thin, the floors and halls creak, and some rooms are dark (this is after all a 19th century hotel). The 3/4 walls separating some of the bathrooms are a strange "what were they thinking" feature, but they are a great conversation starter with fellow guests.

I suggest that you just love it for what it is. A quirky throwback to another age, and an experience you just don't get anymore. This is a far cry from a corporate technobox and thank God it is. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the walk to Carleton and downtown Northfield that doesn't require that you cross a highway. You'll remember your stay twenty years later.

  • Liked — The relaxing chracter
  • Disliked — A little tattered in spots
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler_Morrison_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
12.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Northfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House River Inn

Property: Archer House River Inn
Address: 212 Division St S, Northfield, MN 55057-5194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Archer House River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archer House River Inn occupies more than a central location in Northfield. For generations of guests and locals, it IS Northfield - a geographical and architectural landmark, a host to history for nearly 140 years, and an exemplar of the town's spirit of hospitality. Built in the French Second Empire style, the four-story red brick building is grand in design, rich in character, and impressive in its amenities - which include two full-service restaurants, a coffee shop, riverside lounge, conference space and more. Yet with just 36 rooms, no two of which are identical, the inn is intimate in scale and unique in feel. The Archer House also boasts the city's best location, straddling the town's main thoroughfare and the Cannon River. Beyond its prominent setting and venerable history, something else makes the Archer House special: a spirit reflected by the staff's pride in upholding a 140-year legacy of caring for guests, and the ownership's loving stewardship of a property that embodies the heart and soul of Northfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Archer House River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Archer House Hotel Northfield
Archer Hotel Northfield
The Archer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing