We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic, authentic, and old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Archer House River Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic, authentic, and old”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Archer House is perfectly located for people visiting St. Olaf or Carleton Colleges. The hotel staff is mostly friendly and helpful, and tries hard to keep the 130-year old place functioning. Fans of historic hotels will enjoy the old rooms, the creaky staircases, and the very authentic Lounge. Fans of modern comforts and conveniences may struggle with all this authenticity.

Room Tip: If you need any space, avoid the "cozy" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Pundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
26
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

No one seems to mention the stench of the Indian restaurant that permeates this property. The staff is lovely, but the rooms are tired (despite the quoted $1 million dollar recent renovation) and the shops on the first floor, other than the great little gift shop at the end, are poorly executed. The whole place is just odd. I realize there aren't many options in town for accomodations, but that being said, why they don't do more with what they've got is beyond me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1990GB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northfield hotels

Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife & I stayed March 14 for the night, we had booked a evening snow shoeing trip through The Gear Resourse Outfitters next door. The Archer House is a historic hotel and with that you get what you pay for. We were lucky- were given the Bridal Suite (yippee) which had a very comfortable queen bed, flat screen TV, and a whirlpool bath. Marcine at the front desk was great- funny and I enjoed bantering with her. If you want hotel with a pool, workout room and that type of accomodations, this is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy history and a little quirky overnight, the Archer house is recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a whirlpool suite- not confimed ahead of time, but check in is 3PM, get there a little befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dano72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Archer House is an interesting study in contrasts. The lobby is an elegant period piece, but the signs designating the rooms look like cheap folk art. The furnishings in the rooms are high-end, but the heat and air conditioning comes from a noisy old unit mounted up on the wall. The beds are luxurious, but the light bulbs are so dim you cannot see to read. The tub and shower (jetted, rain head, lots of water pressure) are great, but the shower curtain is so short and flimsy it's hard to keep in the tub when you shower. We were warned that we might be awakened during the night by passing snow plows, since we had a room on the street side, and indeed, we heard the plows no less than three different times. We thought it would be fun to stay here, and it was by far the most convenient of the few available hotels to St. Olaf College, but we were disappointed and it was not worth the price we paid. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the tavern restaurant on the ground floor was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
331 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Business trip and this was very convenient and very accommodating - both the staff and the room. Great historical property! The only problem we had was the shade wouldn't stay down but the night person helped the first night and the maintenance man came and gave us a short term remedy for our second night. Everyone was helpful. Great bar - The Tavern and great restaurant - The Tavern both in the hotel.

Room Tip: If it is winter bring coats!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed one night at The Archer House for a holiday family get together. The hotel is located in downtown Northfield on the river and very close to many restaurants, pubs and shopping. The hotel has been completely refurbished and our 2 room suite was lovely. The sitting area was large with a full-size pull out sofa, dresser, small table and chairs, refrigerator, microwave, desk and large flatscreen tv. The sitting area also had 2 huge closets as well as a full size antique looking free-standing mirror. The bedroom had a very comfortable king size sleigh bed, armchair and lamp, anitque chest of drawers and large flat screen tv. The bathroom was huge with a 2 person jacuzzi tub/shower combo. A separate vanity area outside of the actual bathroom was an added bonus. The bedding was clean and fresh--a king size comforter with duvet (no ugly-flowery-never-been-washed bedspreads!!) The hotel is very unique and each room is named! Adding to the charm are old-fashioned hotel keys--yes keys!
We visited The Tavern located in the basement of the hotel. A quaint little pub that we really enjoyed. There is also the Tavern restaurant. We did not eat there, but the menu looked great.
We really enjoyed our time at The Archer House. We would definitely consider staying there again when visiting Northfield!

Room Tip: The two room suite is great for a family with 1 or 2 children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faribault
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a very nice river view suite with a huge bath tub. This is a very charming hotel.We will stay here again.
Todd, the manager, was very accommodating. One small issue was the lack of a coffee maker in the suite, but there is a nice coffee shop in the building.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinem1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
12.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northfield Inn
Northfield Inn
#2 of 3 in Northfield
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House River Inn

Property: Archer House River Inn
Address: 212 S Division St, Northfield, MN 55057
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Archer House River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archer House River Inn occupies more than a central location in Northfield. For generations of guests and locals, it IS Northfield - a geographical and architectural landmark, a host to history for nearly 140 years, and an exemplar of the town's spirit of hospitality. Built in the French Second Empire style, the four-story red brick building is grand in design, rich in character, and impressive in its amenities - which include two full-service restaurants, a coffee shop, riverside lounge, conference space and more. Yet with just 36 rooms, no two of which are identical, the inn is intimate in scale and unique in feel. The Archer House also boasts the city's best location, straddling the town's main thoroughfare and the Cannon River. Beyond its prominent setting and venerable history, something else makes the Archer House special: a spirit reflected by the staff's pride in upholding a 140-year legacy of caring for guests, and the ownership's loving stewardship of a property that embodies the heart and soul of Northfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Archer House River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Archer House Hotel Northfield
Archer Hotel Northfield
The Archer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing