We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Archer House was convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Archer House River Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Las Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Archer House was convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in the Archer House first weekend in December and were very happy with the convenient location to the shops and restaurants on Division Street. The lobby is nice with a few chairs and table and large windows to the street, and the front desk personnel throughout the weekend were very helpful, pleasant, and quick to assist with our questions. It was nice to have the cafe, restaurants and shops inside. Try the popovers in the cafe - excellent!

Our room 303 at the top of the stairs wasn't the best location. While the train woke us up a few times each night which can't be helped, our windows (one in bathroom and one in our room) faced the roof and interior wing of the inn, and the outside equipment was noisy - sounded like fans/ventilation running all night. We didn't need our fan/AC or heating all weekend so we know it wasn't noise from our room. The room was of a medium size but large enough for two and the bathroom was very clean, comfortably sized with a deep bathtub. I used the window sill as extra space for toiletries. We would have preferred a king bed but they were all taken. Large wardrobe for closet items, and side chair and table were helpful. Parking is adequate behind the inn where we always found a space, but they have an auxiliary parking lot across the street as well. We walked over the bridge to Basil's for pizza and even walked back from the St. Olaf campus one evening (all downhill) which was very easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookinbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    54
    29
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
27
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin, usa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Archer House is in just about the best Northfield location -- smack in the middle of downtown, only a couple blocks from the Carleton College campus, a mile or so from St. Olaf and next to a truly wonderful Indian restaurant (Chapati). It's touching to see this very old building still in use and being maintained. The big unexpected downside for me was the proximity of the TRAIN! Oh my gosh, that was an unpleasant surprise! I stayed at the Archer House 2 nights and the train ran all night long both nights. The real issue is the train whistles, which are loud and continuous as the train passes through town. The hotel itself is clean and modest. For example, they provide shampoo and conditioner, but no body lotion. There were plenty of pillows, but of the hard foam sort, so not very comfortable. So, stay here for the location and to support maintenance of a great historical building. But remember to bring ear plugs, body lotion and a comfortable pillow.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room away from the river/railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whynothavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very friendly hotel with excellent service. My phone calls (booking, confirming and questions) were always answered promptly, and not by an answering machine. Although my stay was just for 1 night, I would recommend this hotel especially if you are visiting Carlton College.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This old hotel in this small old town is quite charming. We picked it for its proximity to our destination and we can't beat location. It has a b&b feel to it (with no free breakfast) public areas are charming in this historic landmark, and room hallways resemble an old english boarding school. If you don't mind leaving behind some of the modern comforts of 21st century hotels, and are looking for ambiance and charm, this one's for you. Some of the rooms are updated nicely, ours is minimal country or european hostel looking and small, the only one available this time when town gets taken over by college guests. The best I could describe our room would be: the 3rd floor guest room, at my grandmother's farm house. I was told we had the room we reserved; a "Cozy" one, which was smaller than the more upscale ones I had previously scouted. Our minuscule room has a minuscule adjacent bathroom separated by a laced cotton curtain -no room for door or closet. We hung our belongings on antique hooks and spread others on minuscule desk. The mattress was perfectly comfortable, though sheets could use some softeners. The first night (tired and late) we didn't set our window a/c right; either it produced air that was too cold or fan not cold enough, so we settled for fan on 'high', and though it was a quiet room (despite being on street and across a public hallway), we tossed around most of the night unable to find a comfortable temperature. Our friends in a larger room said they had a thermostat. Again, you can't beat the location of this one in town. It has a quick coffee shop and another breakfast place, which I believe turns into restaurant, and an Indian Restaurant which is superb and a tavern. The weather was incredibly perfect to dine outside and there are many fun stores around the hotel in this historic district.
The only drawback is, it's usually oversold on popular dates.

Room Tip: make sure you clarify type of room, so you don't think you are getting suite in picture... fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isildor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a wonderful "girls" weekend in Northfield. The top floor with three bedrooms and a beautiful living room with dining and small kitchen was perfect. We had a nice meal at the Ole Store Restaurant and a fantastic night of live music on the deck of the Contented Cow next door. The rooms and bathrooms are brand new but the views and charater maintain a historic feel. We will be back again!

Room Tip: There is a wide variety of rooms and sizes. Check out photos online and ask the staff for suggestion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MplsTravler0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Now that we have stayed several times at Archer House over the couple of years since our son first took an interest in and then matriculated at Carleton College, I can update an earlier review I posted with this advice. Archer House's rooms are each unique and the building's odd floor plan allocates very different square footage to rooms with similar pricing and profiles. If, for example, you want a room with a piece of furniture which has drawers to unpack your things into, you should make that request. A number of the rooms have European sizing where the bed takes up most of the space and little room is leftover for furnishings. Also, for older travelers who prefer a shower to a bath, it can be helpful to request a room without a claw foot tub. The older tubs require a level of dexterity and balance of the user that the hotel's newer tubs do not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FormerCheeseHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Service was great, rooms were super clean, the location is hard to beat. We had a great time, slept and ate well and really couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: If room size is an issue ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavvyTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Northfield
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northfield
12.0 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
280 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Northfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House River Inn

Property: Archer House River Inn
Address: 212 Division St S, Northfield, MN 55057-5194
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Northfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Archer House River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archer House River Inn occupies more than a central location in Northfield. For generations of guests and locals, it IS Northfield - a geographical and architectural landmark, a host to history for nearly 140 years, and an exemplar of the town's spirit of hospitality. Built in the French Second Empire style, the four-story red brick building is grand in design, rich in character, and impressive in its amenities - which include two full-service restaurants, a coffee shop, riverside lounge, conference space and more. Yet with just 36 rooms, no two of which are identical, the inn is intimate in scale and unique in feel. The Archer House also boasts the city's best location, straddling the town's main thoroughfare and the Cannon River. Beyond its prominent setting and venerable history, something else makes the Archer House special: a spirit reflected by the staff's pride in upholding a 140-year legacy of caring for guests, and the ownership's loving stewardship of a property that embodies the heart and soul of Northfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Archer House River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Archer House Hotel Northfield
Archer Hotel Northfield
The Archer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing