We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
6
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blueberry pancakes wonderful stay olaf college woods bake room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We visited here one night while touring St. Olaf. Everything about our stay was wonderful, and I highly recommend this place. In fact, over breakfast, my son whispered to me, "Mom, you need to give this place 5 stars on Trip Advisor!"

All communications with the B&B before the trip were efficient. We had a very late arrival time and the innkeeper made sure via both text and phone that we knew exactly how to get in. He made it very easy for us.

The B&B is clean and incredibly well stocked. There were fresh cookies, chocolates, and lemon water in our room for us, which was very thoughtful. The room was very cute and clean and comfortable. A lot of charm. There was a variety of coffee, tea, and snacks available at all times. Plus a microwave and fridge we could have used.

Breakfast was 4 courses and delicious! And the innkeepers offer it for an extended period of time (either 6 to 10 or 7 to 10, not sure), so we didn't have to get up too early after our late arrival. We had homemade cinnamon bread, fresh out of the oven, poached pears, an egg/spinach/cheese bake, and a palate cleansing sherbet. Plus OJ and coffee. We didn't need lunch that day, we were so well fed.

The innkeeper (we met Steve) was so friendly and welcoming. You can tell he loves what he does.

Just one note--you can hear the train as it comes through and it seemed to love to toot its horn. It didn't bother us and it wasn't really loud, but just something to note.

We loved this place and would absolutely return. If you're visiting St. Olaf or Carleton, stay here! It's just so charming and comfortable and easy. (It's a 2-minute drive to St. Olaf, and probably 7 minutes to Carleton.) Highly recommended!

Room tip: We loved the twin room. Big and well stocked and comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contentedcottage, Owner at Contented Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you so much! We love hearing that our guests feel comfortable and enjoyed their stay! Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion. Hope to see you again! Blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

I don’t often post reviews, but the breakfast at the Contented Cottage really knocked my socks off. Three courses, each better than the last. Such a wonderful stay for a weekend wedding in Northfield. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank MacDreamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCDavisManor, Owner at Contented Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement!! We so appreciate your business and taking the time to express your review. We love to make our guests feel welcome and want their stay to be enjoyable. We take much pride in our menus and care about our clients stay.
Blessings!
Steve and Lisa
Contented Cottage
Northfield, MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Nestled in the woods off a major road, the Contented Cottage is a quiet B&B between St Olaf and Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota. A few minutes' drive from shopping and dining, the Cannon River, and a state park. We stayed in Olivia's Room for four days, which had a nice, comfy bed, TV, walkout balcony with chairs, and a snack nook. The room had a detached, but private, full bathroom and shower. Fresh baked cookies and chocolates were a delicious surprise. The breakfast was very large (almost too large), but was delicious. The breakfast rotation included blueberry pancakes, creamy scrambled eggs, fruit and yogurt parfait, lemon cake, a delicious peach breakfast bake, bacon, and other goodies. The screened patio has tables and a porch swing, and a nice ceiling fan, and is surrounded by a wooded back yard and lots of bird feeders. The living room has a comfy couch, an overstuffed arm chair, fireplace, and bubbling fish tank. The Contented Cottage felt like we were staying at a relatives' house instead of a B&B. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank RWilliams71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCDavisManor, Owner at Contented Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement! We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to have you again in the future! We always want our guests to feel welcome and comfortable.
Blessings!
Steve and Lisa
Contented Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Olivia's Room while visiting a student at St. Olaf college. Olivia's Room is a nicely decorated room with a separate, but private, full bath. Delicious breakfast and also homemade treats in our room. Nice common area for visiting or relaxing outside your room. Very clean. Welcoming and friendly hosts.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Go473376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCDavisManor, Owner at Contented Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you so much! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

We enjoyed a girl's weekend in Northfield at Contented Cottage B&B. a beautifully decorated house and room (charming, tasteful cottage style) in a quiet setting in the woods near St. Olaf College. We stayed in the Ayla room. The room and house were warm and inviting and tastefully decorated without the "fussiness" or formality of too many antiques or clutter. Special extras such as homemade brownies and truffles in the room and books/magazines were provided . Breakfast of blueberry pancakes, bacon, and fruit/yogurt parfaits was delicious. Our hosts, Lisa and Steve were so friendly, informative and accommodating. A gem in this peaceful, wooded setting. Deborah

Room tip: The Ayla room has the option of either a king or 2 twin beds.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelinGalDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCDavisManor, Owner at Contented Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you so much! We are very happy you stayed with us and appreciate your kind words. We love to hear that our guests were comfortable and satisfied. Hope to have you stay with us again!
Steve and Lisa
Contented Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews