We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priced Right, Unfortunate Check-In”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Iron River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Priced Right, Unfortunate Check-In”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We reserved our rooms online via Magnuson Hotel's corporate website. The website clearly states the hotel is pet friendly. In addition, we included a note saying we needed a pet friendly room. However, upon check-in, it turns out the hotel is primarily NOT pet friendly. They didn't have a pet friendly room and were going to have us have our dog sleep in our car. Rather than apologize, we were lectured on why in this day and age, one should always call a hotel direct versus booking "online" because the hotel can't be accountable for all of "those" sites out there that don't pass vital information along. Guess what - you put yourself on "those" sites. You claim to be pet friendly, but in fact have 1-2 rooms that are pet friendly. And your own personal corporate website is not someone else, it is yourself. After throwing quite a scene, he somehow found us a room that was in fact pet friendly. Despite things being worked out, I was still lectured multiple times about how this wasn't his fault but rather mine for using something crazy like the internet to book a room. For real? Pretty much ruined the entire experience. That said, the hotel was in the process of having some remodeling done. The continental breakfast was what you'd expect in an inexpensive hotel (cereal and dry bread, couple grocery store donuts and pretty much no seating area). But, for the price, it would have been fine had the customer service realized that there mistake is not my fault.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    31
    21
    24
See reviews for
45
23
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

room was dirty.....microwave couldn't be set to a specific amount of time and burnt our food....the tub wouldn't drain properly....they charged my card before check in.....the manager came to the LOCKED door in her pajamas....they were not willing to cut any breaks on a cancellation due to illness

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nisswa hotels

471hawk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 dbl bed room. Sheets were dirty, beds are hard as a board, toilet did not work upon check in and notified front desk lady (friday @ 5pm) she said it will be fixed tomorrow! And not sure what we are suppose to use tonight! Pool area was full of plate size black mold, sheet rock and tools guess there are trying to remodel hotel. Sauna rock area had no safety screen on it. Both nights we had kids running and yelling up and down the hallway until well after 10pm. They knocked on doors including ours. Walked to front desk to inform clerk of the noise and as she sat there eating chex mix and on computer told me "well I'm trying to make them stop". Trying to?? Does not look like it to me! Parents sat in pool area while kids ran around hotel. Upon leaving on Sunday we took sheets off the beds and put them by the room door, something we do to help out housekeeping staff at every hotel. Leave and about an hour later get a phone call from front desk lady named Renee asking where the sheets are, told her we left them by the door and she said they were missing and that we would have to pay for sheets!! I told her again that we left them by the door and she said that we should have not taken them off the bed and that we are wrong to do that and that we must have stolen the sheets! Yes like I wanted icky old stained hotel sheets! Argued with her about it and she did argue back again telling me we were wrong and that we should have said something about the kids running and knocking on doors. I told her we did and she said no you did not or it would have been taken care of and you don't touch the sheets that's for housekeeping to do! Seriously!! I can't believe what I'm hearing come out of her mouth! I told her that she better not even think about charging us for those sheets and asked her to connect me to the owner she said he was not available right now and I left my # for a return call, never heard back! POOR FRONT DESK STAFF one sits on her butt and the other accuses guest of stealing and being wrong! Breakfast was OK only because there was a waffle iron. Did get a call back saying that the sheets had been found. Yes I told you we did not steal them! Thanks for accusing us of the theft. Also we are in our very early 20's and guys that went there to snowmobile so we are not super picky but this place is BAD!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 471hawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was honestly one of the worst accommodating hotels I have ever been at. Little or no continental breakfast, mold all over in pool area, and to top everything off, I had to have my keys reprogrammed 5 times in the 2 days we stayed there! An igloo with decent management would've been more appealing! No apology by management for this type of issues...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

we've stayed her for 4 years in a row as its convenient for the big ice fishing tourney. also close to a couple of bars, grocery store, and liqour store. neither room we had had a smoke alarm. toilet seat was broke and tub was dirty when we got there. the owner did fix the toilet seat the next day. but seriously, no smoke alarms.....the pool area has a hot ub and is adequate. the new owner does seem be doing a lot of renovations. there were new beds and a log cabin style theme in the suite. new carpet upstairs. new beds in some rooms. the day we left, best buy was dropping off 25 new flat panel tvs.

once again, good location. 2 miles from zorbaz, 1 mile from the pickle factory. 2 blocks from grocery,liquor. just needs to be updated and you got to have smoke alarms....

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whodat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We got to the hotel at 8:45 p.m. and went to check in. We told the lady at the front desk that we were exhausted and looking forward to sitting in the hot tub. She said the pool area closed at 9. There were maybe 5 other people staying there so we asked if she could keep the hot tub open a while longer and she said "maybe 5 or 10 minutes". We told her no thanks but we were very disappointed that the pool area closed so early and didn't open again until 9 a.m. We got to room 110 and when my daughter turned on the bathroom light, the handle to the toilet was sitting on the tank. I called the desk and got us moved to a different room. That toilet made a loud dripping noise all night but we did not want to move again. The next morning we went to the breakfast area. They advertise homemade waffles, pastries, etc. The waffle maker was broken, pastries consisted of store bought donuts, bagels, thawed out frozen waffles and the bread for toast was freezer burnt. There was a jar of peanut butter to share and it was almost gone. There was also a tub of cream cheese for the bagels. Needless to say, we did not eat the breakfast. Something about sharing peanut butter and cream cheese with strangers did not appeal to us. I do understand you get what you pay for, but this motel needs a lot of updating and improvements.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotaupnorthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
8.6 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
8.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
14.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 2 in Pine River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa
Address: 24186 Smiley Rd, Hwy 371 and County Road 13, Nisswa, MN 56468-2390 (Formerly Days Inn Nisswa)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel & Suites underwent an entire remodel during the winter of 2014. This reinvented getaway has everything you need to enjoy your stay in one of the most beautiful areas in Minnesota. So, go do a little shopping, fishing, boating, skiing or anything you like to do, then come back and relax in our clean and relaxing spaces. Amenities Inlcude: Complimentary Continental Breakfast Indoor Pool & Whirlpool 24-Hour Front Desk Guest Laundry Facilities Small Pets Allowed (Fees Apply & Only in Designated Rooms) Free Parking King Jacuzzi Rooms Free Wi-Fi Internet Microwave & Refrigerator in Every Suite 32" LED Flatscreen with DVD in Every Suite Coffee Maker in Every Suite Shuttle Service Available Upon Request (3rd Party) Corporate Rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Nisswa Hotel Nisswa
Nisswa Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing