We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel was convenient. Nothing special for amenities or...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    31
    21
    24
See reviews for
45
23
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Needs quite a lot of TLC the previous owners kind of let it go. The staff was great and very friendly. I had a great nights sleep and bed was very comfortable. The rates are fair while rehabbing needs a lot of minor repairs, that I noticed. For a Days Inn the breakfast could improve which I think from what I saw new equipment that they are working on it. I had a new flat screen TV in my room and the whirlpool in my room was great. I would stay again if in the area with great excitement of the improvements that will be made and the staff seemed to be too. Over all a great time. They also have a nice pool, but we never used it. The front desk let me check in before it was time, which I thought was very nice of them. I have to say the above average rating comes totally from front end staff. I know people whine about smoke smell, but even in non smoking motels people still whine, because people that smoke do not follow the rules. I can think of a lot more things that people do to motels, like wiping off things with new towels that cost the owner. In life some people will always find things wrong if that is what they are about. Enjoy the night and be happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Days Inn Nisswa for one night, while spending two days biking on the nearby Paul Bunyan Trail. We paid $64 for a Sunday night stay and got everything we needed. We were looking for an inexpensive hotel with a pool/hot tub and free breakfast. We checked in at about 3:30 PM and had no issues. After completing our biking, we came back to the hotel around 8PM and had the pool area to ourselves. We were also able to bring in our own beverages in aluminum cans. The cable TV had around 50 channels to choose from. In the morning, the breakfast was make-yourself waffles, muffins, toast, bagels, a few pastries, and two choices of cold cereal. Juice, milk, and coffee were also included. Our room also included a refrigerator and a microwave.

For $64 a night, I am not expecting a spotless mansion, a pool grotto, an excellent buffet spread, or a flat-screen television set. I am expecting a clean bed, a clean bathroom, a functional TV, and a clean pool area. I got all of those here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriggerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Days Inn in Nisswa was the only hotel left near where we were visiting. It needs a complete overhaul from top to bottom! First floor said NO SMOKING and the place wreak of cigarettes!
The employees were very nice, but overworked because they were trying to hire new ones.
I would never recommend this Inn to many people unless you really want to go cheap!

Room Tip: Back rooms or at the end are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nisswa hotels

MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel was cheap in price and cheap in decor, but the room was clean, as was the pool and hot tub. There was a continental breakfast with waffle maker. Comfortable after a long day on the lake, for not much more than a campsite. It is all in ones perspective.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNRiverValleyLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Basic hotel, clean, simple breakfast. I needed an inexpensive place for one night on business. The furniture was worn, carpet torn, stains in the sink. The room was clean though and the bed was comfortable. About what I expected for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
8.6 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
8.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
14.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 2 in Pine River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa
Address: 24186 Smiley Rd, Hwy 371 and County Road 13, Nisswa, MN 56468-2390 (Formerly Days Inn Nisswa)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Hotel & Suites underwent an entire remodel during the winter of 2014. This reinvented getaway has everything you need to enjoy your stay in one of the most beautiful areas in Minnesota. So, go do a little shopping, fishing, boating, skiing or anything you like to do, then come back and relax in our clean and relaxing spaces. Amenities Inlcude: Complimentary Continental Breakfast Indoor Pool & Whirlpool 24-Hour Front Desk Guest Laundry Facilities Small Pets Allowed (Fees Apply & Only in Designated Rooms) Free Parking King Jacuzzi Rooms Free Wi-Fi Internet Microwave & Refrigerator in Every Suite 32" LED Flatscreen with DVD in Every Suite Coffee Maker in Every Suite Shuttle Service Available Upon Request (3rd Party) Corporate Rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Nisswa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Nisswa Hotel Nisswa
Nisswa Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing