We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners Are Doing Well”
Review of Sherwood Forest

Sherwood Forest
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Attended a monthly wine and appetizer fund raiser at this newly reopened historic eatery. The atmosphere was very nice, clean and appeallly. Prairee Bay did the food and cashwise liquor provided the wine. The selection of wines was outstanding and the food was well prepared and there was plenty for everyone. This fund raised produced $1200 for a local fishing program for seniors. I believe everything was donated (venue, food and drink). The is a monthly event for a different non-profit group each mouth. Terrific community service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dnkcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

I just want to give you a positive comment on trying to keep Sherwood Forest Tavern alive. I have spent most of my life up in the Nisswa area and was glad to see that someone had saved the Sherwood Forest. It's a Beautiful Historic Building. The Sherwood Forest was remodeled beautifully! The Building is full of character. The food was wonderful and the employees were excellent. I am really sad to hear that that the place was unable to make a profit. I am really going to miss it this summer. Very sad to see it opened only for events. My thanks goes out to Mike for all your time and energy you put into the Sherwood Forest!

Pam

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Pamscreativesalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I were seated on the back deck and 20 minites later a server finally came up and asked if we had been helped. Another 20 minutes and our drinks arrive but were sweating. In the meantime 3 other couples are seated around us and leave because no one comes to their table. Food was cold/luke warm and fries were soaked in grease because they sat so long before we received our food. Busser comes out in a ripped t-shirt and holy jeans. Manager never comes to ask how our night was. We emailed the restaurant regarding the service and never heard back. Horrible all around service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Lakelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This place used to be one of the best fine dining restaurants in the Brainerd lakes area when it was owned by the late Jim Nolan. After his death Grandview Lodge took it over and did a creditable job of keeping up its fine tradition. Rumor has it that the current well-heeled owner made Grandview an offer it couldn't refuse even though they had no desire to sell because Mr Deep Pocket's wife loved the gorgeous log building. After the sale the place stood empty and closed for a year because Deep Pockets had absolutely no restaurant experience and didn't know where to begin. When it finally did open as a much more casual Sherwood Forest Tavern it was a mess and the lack of restaurant really showed. We had the worst meals of our lives there since the re-opening and they do chintzy things like charge 50 cents for extra dressing. Since we have a cabin in the area we still stop in once a summer just to see if they have finally gotten their act together. So far they haven't.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike m, Ex Owner at Sherwood Forest, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Sir,

It amazes me how far from reality you have your facts about Sherwood Forest. In actuality, I find most of what you wrote insulting.
First, Granview sold because it was a failure to them and they wanted to consolidate to their own property. They could not possibly keep the "fine dining" concept alive as NO ONE wants that in restaurants any longer.
Second, "Mr Deep Pockets" purchased the property from Granview when they listed it for sale. He did not make them an offer they couldn't refuse, they just did not want it any longer. "Mr Deep Pockets" is a local businessman who is doing many great things for the area. This purchase was to bring the restaurant back and give it a fighting chance. The other alternative is for it to be a vacant bat house!
Three, I opened it and provided a good establishment with needed updates and an excellent menu. Our sales in the first year were greater than Grandview ever experienced! From that perspective, we did give it a fighting chance. We invested over $300,000 in needed improvements. Unfortunately, the market just could not support the investment and the opportunity. After 18 months of sustained losses, we decided to close the doors with the hope that a local entrepreneur will take it over and become successful.

Maybe instead of being highly critical and factually incorrect, you should support the efforts of whoever takes the building over and be glad that it is open as opposed to vacant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Recently dropped by for appetizer and cocktails- food OK- service OK. Staff seemed more concerned with owner who was sitting/ drinking at bar. Owner was not a bit interested in his customers which is sad. With their location he needs to work much harder at welcoming his customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RJLEE56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Forest also viewed

 

Been to Sherwood Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing