We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nisswa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle's Nest Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not for everyone”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

First the positives: the cabin was clean, there is a nice bike trail, some fun unique things for the kids like a giant outdoor chess set, a tee pee, a good playground, basketball, close to town, etc.

The negetives: We were supposed to stay Sept 7 and 8th, but the night of the 7th, our family of 4 was so cold we decided to find a different place to stay for the 8th. The walls are not insulated, there is no TV, phone, wifi (at least not at our cabin), no air conditioning, no towel service or even a bar of soap to wash your hands. So if you're used to staying at regular hotels, this place is probably not for you. So for what you get, I think it's kind of spendy, but many people love the simplicity of the resort according to other reviews, so maybe you'll love it. Just come prepared.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KikifromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family and extended family enjoyed a wonderful weekend together at the Eagle's Nest Resort this past labor day weekend. We shared a 3 bedroom cabin right next to the lake. The cabin was spectacular - it was incredibly clean, the updates within were perfect, and the bedrooms were extremely comfortable. The resort itself boasts more amenities than any I've had before - canoes, boats, pontoon, swimming beach with toys, basketball courts, volleyball, badminton, golf practice, frisbee golf, trails for hiking.....the list goes on! The owners and managers of the resort are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have an amazing time and are taken care of. This resort is a 5 star in that it is an all around amazing place for a family get away.

Room Tip: A cabin by the lake is very nice for getting a breeze coming in from the lake - since there aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very nice resort. Older but absolutely perfect for the family that wants to spend time together, not distracted by television or the internet. It's about a ten minute stroll down the paved trail to downtown Nisswa. Lots of options for ice cream and coffee. Some restaurants too.

It is about 50 feet from the 100 mile long Paul Bunyan paved trail. We spent many days riding and walking to the various small towns along it's length.

Fishing access is great, and they have boats to use. Every cabin has a charcoal grill and picnic table for cooking every night. Our cabin had an amazing screened in porch which was wonderful for reading and drinking coffee.

Not much of an actual beach, which might be the only negative I can think of, but they have a big sandy spot elevated from the water, but it's hard for the really little ones to splash around like at an actual beach. There is a big swimming area for the older kids and adults with a swim platform.

In a nutshell, great rustic cabins, absolutely spotless when we got there, and great atmosphere to spend with the family. Many friendly neighbors and quiet. If you want to glitz and the glamour of a modern resort/hotel, this is the place for you.

We will be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trip_seeker-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have been going to Eagle's Nest for a number of years and absolutely love it. If you want quiet, lovely surroundings and gracious hosts, this is the ideal spot. Access to the Paul Bunyan trail is adjacent to the property. It's an easy stroll or bike ride into Nisswa where you'll find some fun shopping, Rafferty's pizza (outstanding), and a delightful bookstore.
Eagle's Nest is not for you if you're looking for a resort with lots of flash and glitz. But if you want a beautiful, peaceful spot to enjoy nature and just relax with friends and family, you will fall in love with Eagle's Nest!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Our family goes to Eagle's Nest every year. It's very low key - no tv, air conditioning or fancy bedding but you can't beat the experience. You could definitely go to a larger resort with a pool, arcade, restaurant, etc but it wouldn't be the same type of experience.
pros: great for kids, lots of space to run around, relaxing, on the Paul Bunyon Bike Trail, walk to Nisswa, clean, safe, quiet, friendly, one of the only family resorts like this left
cons: getting a little worn around the edges, a bit expensive for the amenities (land value has made these resorts disappear)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rojopowerranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minn
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and two kids and I stayed at Eagles Nest Resort in Nisswa on Lower Cullen Lake. We stayed for a week in July. It was a week long stay at the fishing resort. Very kid friendly place. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. We felt welcome from the minute we arrived and the whole week long. They had kids activities in the morning so my husband and I walked into town for our coffee fix at the Airdonack. Delicious. the resort is right on the Paul Bunyan Trail so you can walk/bike for miles.

NIsswa has lots of fun shops and restaurants. It also has a pizza place that is to die for. Sorry I can't remember the name, but it's right downtown- you can't miss it.

We did some fishing and kids caught fish so they were happy. We went mini golfing, fishing, go carting and also up to Itasca State Park for a day trip.

Can't wait to go back again sometime!

Helpful?
3 Thank wishiwasinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
10.0 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
270 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
413 reviews
10.6 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
2.5 mi away
Lost Lake Lodge
Lost Lake Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nisswa
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle's Nest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle's Nest Resort

Property: Eagle's Nest Resort
Address: 5108 Poplar Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2857
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Minnesota Original. Eagles Nest offers a quiet and relaxed family vacation. Nestled among the pines on Lower Cullen Lake you'll find great swimming, fishing and easy access to the Paul Bunyan Trail and Nisswa's downtown shopping area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing