We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden MN Gem”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden MN Gem”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

"Big Picture" I was truly enchanted with GVL. We had a wonderful experience and we would definitely go back. Despite being a native Minnesotan, I had never ventured to this area of the state. A relative suggested that we have an extended family gathering here and booked one of the GVL cabins on Gull Lake. It was a beautiful, relaxing slice of Nature and incredible calm. Our cabin was very well constructed, nicely designed, and up-dated. Tons of space. It was right on the lake with a screened-in porch, dock, fire pit, and sandy beach. We had several generations in our group and each one was accommodated. The main Lodge, too, was just what you'd expect with a rustic feel- very comfortable and relaxing. Gorgeous grounds. The daily breakfast bar was wonderful. Lots of options, and like a nice hotel in terms of quality of food. The only issues we had were with service and activities. We had scheduled a boat ride but after multiple calls and confusion it never happened. We arrived for a 2-for-1 ice cream night and it had been changed. We tried to rent bikes but they were all booked due to a bike ride they were hosting. Also, various requests we made for service at the cabin either took hours to be filled, or never happened. These were all small glitches, but collectively, they became a pattern. For the caliber of experience offered, it would have been nice for the staff to be more proactive and try to help us/ follow-up versus leaving us to navigate all of the logistics and never know if we were taken care of. We made do in each case, and nothing was earth-shattering. However, if you're a seasoned traveler and comparing this to a nice hotel, you're used to a more attentive approach to guest service. In my gut, this was a "5" for the important parts of the experience. However, for GVL to get a "5" overall it needs to get more of the kinks worked out on its service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyCityLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    101
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
225
137
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We spent the last week of August at Grand View Lodge with our boys, 8 and 6 years old. It was our first time to Grand View, and they rated it the highlight of our summer. There was so much to love about Grand View….the pools, waterslides, the beautiful lodge and flowers everywhere, the golf course, the activities, bingo, etc….But what really made the difference for me was the service of the staff. It didn't matter if it was the person checking us in or the guy moving the pins on the Pines golf course; everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure our experience at Grand View was nothing less than fantastic. We will be back next year for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Clubhouse Suites, which was a short walk across the highway back to the main site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Enjoyed our recent trip here. Stayed in the Golf Suites - Across the street from the main lodge - great large rooms - 2bedrooms/2 bath - nice condition/comfortable. kitchen utensils/pots/plates etc... could use replacement- worn out. We were excited about all the activities provided so signed up for many of them. We were told by the activity staff that many of the staff had left for the summer - so they were understaffed. Most of the activity staff were friendly and helpful but did not seem safety conscious. We took 2 pontoon boat tours and were never told where the life jackets were or if there were any on board. the one evening we went out at dark we almost got swamped by another boat - the pontoon boat lighting at night was useless- 2 tiny lights not the correct colors/ or able to be seen at all. The girl running our banana boat ride gave no instructions at all. small children were frightened while riding so she let them get in the speed boat. She never checked on her riders, and at one point a woman fell off and she was oblivious to it until one of the children screamed at her to stop the boat. We have been on banana boat tours before and could always breathe and not get sprayed in the face with so much water - so she was definitely inexperienced with operating the boat for banana boating. All boat trips should include 2 staff in case of emergency - but on all our trips only 1 staff member ran the boats. Bike trip on the Paul Bunyon Trail is a must do ! Grounds are beautiful and Northwoods Pub and the breakfast buffet were excellent. Chocolate Ox ice cream was a fun treat!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmiglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Let's blow the doors off those Q3 Sales quotas!!!!

This is the Great North as interpreted by Stratesys corporate team building exercises and late night dance parties, Wooo! Having a name like Stratasys and being in MN, I'm going to assume they make stents or processed food. Well they are all here at GVL this week and they are ready to get their groove on. I actually don't blame Stratesys or their employees. I blame the GVL banquet sales manager for accepting this booking while thinking it could coexist with all the families here trying to have some occasional silence for kid naps or building sand castles without the Nicki Minaj super bass reverberating through every solid structure. Bullhorns and speakers are requisite at each team activity.

Last night the kickoff event partied with a trucked in stage and sound system and a spinning DJ until 11pm right by the beach cottages. I have a 3yo and 6yo who couldn't sleep until the plug got pulled at the appointed time, despite calling management repeatedly. This morning we awoke to the tear down crew dismantling the stage and trucking away the party gear. I suspect others like us were comped a night, but things are in high gear again down by the beach. Here's hoping for a 10pm quitting time tonight.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I had a very nice time and the Sunset Cruise was fantastic. The property is beautiful and well kept. Our suite was just lovely and in pristine condition. I did not participate in the meal plan but decided to go have breakfast at the Lodge Room. The server was a very rude didn't offer us a drink and refused to refill my water. I saw her walking around at the tables next to me refilling their glasses. She was the only rude worker I encountered-she had big hair and lots of makeup-middle aged lady-didn't get her name. I would still come back, I just love it there, but would not pay that price for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Grand View. We came this year over Memorial Day and had such a good time that we had to come back :-)

We had a cabin room right across from the pool (#121) which was perfect for everything! Our granddaughters are 7 and 9 so it was essential that we be close to the pool and the beach. But we also were on the American Plan so we needed to be close to the Cru and Italian Gardens. This was a perfect location.

The water staff are wonderful but we'd like to give a special shoutout to Abby, Courtney and Patrick for giving us that extra little bit of attention!

The Italian Gardens was a special treat. The bruschetta pizza is to die for. The 3 course Mama Mia meal was a delight and the wine, a Tuscan called 642 was wonderful.

The cuisine and wait staff at the CRU was as good this time as last but thumbs down for Catarina, the hostess of the Cru. We had an 8PM reservation but our 6:30 to 8:00 activity didn't pan out so we showed up at 7PM to see if a table might be available. She rudely informed us that the reservation was at 8 and we would not be seated at 8. We took a seat at the bar to wait and the bartender pointed out that there was an empty table that just needed to be set since it had already been bussed so he thought we would be seated earlier. Nope. So we left and went down to the lodge bar where there were more people tending the bar. We came back at 8. Sure enough we were seated at the table that was empty but not bussed at 7.

The bar tender (Niels, maybe? and our waiter (Constantine, maybe) made it up to us with excellent service and the bar tender comped us some truffle fries which were awesome. I mean, the truffle fries are incredible.

Banana Boat: double thumbs up - wear goggles!
Tube: thumbs up - ride outside the wake :-)
Paul Bunyan Trail - YES - bike it!
Pontoon Coffee Cruise - so so, next time we'll sleep in.

Did I mention the craft beers? Yes, they have a nice variety of craft beers so no need to bring your own. Enjoy!

We had such a good time, we booked back in for our family Thanksgiving :-)

Room Tip: Stay close to the main lodge if you take the American Plan and will participate in activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Outstanding family vacation site. I came here as a child and now bring my son. Beautiful location, plenty of activities, great beach and lake with an outstanding boathouse. Plenty of golf available, too! You cannot go wrong here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
2.2 mi away
Lost Lake Lodge
Lost Lake Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nisswa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing