We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellant" as always”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Excellant" as always”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife come to Grandview Lodge annually to celebrate our anniversary. This year we stayed in the units called the Pines. Lots of room, clean, & quite. We partake in their breakfast buffet every morning. We normally don't like buffets but this one is different. The food if fresh, hot things are hot, & cold things are cold. Peggy was our server. She is efficient, friendly, & has an outstanding personality. She is a true asset to GVL. We like dining on the main floor in the old lodge & in their Pub in the lower level. The things we enjoy the most; the flowers, people watching in the lodge lobby, walking down to the lake, & delicious ice cream cones from the Chocolate Ox. This has become a tradition for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wziebarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    101
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
225
137
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I recently stayed at Grand View with seven college friends for four nights. We stayed in one of the large single cabins that were built in the early days of GVL, but even though it was "rustic" it was still nicely kept and clean. The size and number and bedrooms/bathrooms was perfect for our large group of women. The cabin was stocked with the necessary dishes/cookware, etc. and we had no complaints.

The real benefits came in all the amenities. Everything was within walking distance and the options were endless. Many great restaurant options, the Chocolate Ox (candy and ice cream), a caribou coffee counter, great gift store options, a bar and even a great restaurant/bar on the beach. Add in the spa, boat rentals, traveling art pubs and then the lengthy list of "free" amenities like hour long pontoon rides, tubing, kids programs, hiking, biking, you name it. For golfers, the possibilities are endless and if you so desire to leave the resort (you don't need to with all the options they provide), there are many additional food and shopping options all within just a few miles of the resort.

Finally, I want to mention the staff. We did not encounter one bad staff member. Everyone was super friendly, incredibly helpful and clearly wanted to ensure we had a most pleasant stay. Mission accomplished. We can't wait to go back and many of us can't wait to take our own families back to make more memories here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I are newly retired so we took a trip to Minneapolis to visit our Children and Grandchildren. While we were there we planned on taking a few side trips on our own to ease the burden of visiting grandparents. We were told about Grand View Lodge by many sources so thought we would give it a try. Our one bedroom cottage was right on the beach and a short walk to the aquatic center. The view was spectacular and the cottage was well appointed. The lodge offers everything and everything offered was first class. The grounds are well groomed and inviting, the dining options cover all tastes and budgets. The staff were friendly and professional. A five star experience deserves a five star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Morgan, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our stay at the Grand View Lodge was excellent. The Lodge itself was beautiful, and our studio accommodations were beautiful. It was very new and nicely decorated. We were close to the main Lodge, which made it very convenient to eat at the Pub and Lodge Dining Room.

Room Tip: The three-unit buildings are very nice and quiet. It was just right for a couple. Washing dishes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2seniorgypsies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were referred to GVL by one of my coworkers. We reserved a townhome in the Pines, which is across the road from the main lodge/property. We were concerned that this would be far away from all of the activities, but when we arrived, it was super easy to get to/from our room and the main property - they have shuttles to take you back and forth, but since the resort wasn't really crowded yet we found it just as easy to take our vehicle over whenever we wanted. Keep in mind that during peak season there are not many public parking lots so this would not be an option. Be sure to look at the GVLfun.com website after booking your reservation; they have their activities listed - be sure to book your (mostly FREE) activities as soon as you know what the weather will be otherwise they book fast! Family golf is free on Sundays - so we used that for our son's first real golfing experience; he loved it! We also did the pontoon fishing (caught lots of large sunfish), a sunset cruise (wonderful) and a horseback ride (relaxing). The food at the lodge was amazing, especially the breakfast which was included! The only thing I would say needs improving is the flow and timing of the wait staff at breakfast; they seemed overwhelmed during periods of heavy guest traffic (i.e., lots of tables not ready and guests waiting to seat). The water park is really just a large pool with a slide, but is amazing with the walls of windows that open to the lakefront! Water was not really warm (how we like it), but tolerable. Loved the s'mores and bonfires by the lake every evening - a nice touch! Overall an amazing experience; we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was, by far the best experience i have had on a family vacation or at a hotel of any kind. Amenties added so much to the value of this vacation spot. Gorgeous accomidations, Epic staff, great food, so much for the kids to do and simply the best golf courses ive ever played. Stayed in the Pines suites and loved every minute of our 4 day vacation. I highly recommend the GVL for a family vacation. Really cannot say enough nice things about the whole experience! Going back as soon as I can!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pines Suites and being closer to the main lodge would be better for kids but i love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our room far exceeded our expectations! Every part of the lodge was beautiful, and very well kept. There were so many fun things to do without ever leaving, a nice swimming beach, the waterslide and pool, tons of activities for kids, adults, and families! Molly at the boat house was very knowledgeable and helpful about renting boats, and about all of the free water activities offered. Jed took us out on the pontoon for fishing. He was outstanding! He took us to a perfect location. Each of the kids on the boat caught tons of fish. Jed was willing to help bait hooks and take fish off, anything anyone needed. While fishing we were able to watch deer play in the woods and a beaver swimming through the lake. It was absolutely picture perfect!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandaboyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
8.4 mi away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing