We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Trip "Up North"”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our First Trip "Up North"”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were referred to GVL by one of my coworkers. We reserved a townhome in the Pines, which is across the road from the main lodge/property. We were concerned that this would be far away from all of the activities, but when we arrived, it was super easy to get to/from our room and the main property - they have shuttles to take you back and forth, but since the resort wasn't really crowded yet we found it just as easy to take our vehicle over whenever we wanted. Keep in mind that during peak season there are not many public parking lots so this would not be an option. Be sure to look at the GVLfun.com website after booking your reservation; they have their activities listed - be sure to book your (mostly FREE) activities as soon as you know what the weather will be otherwise they book fast! Family golf is free on Sundays - so we used that for our son's first real golfing experience; he loved it! We also did the pontoon fishing (caught lots of large sunfish), a sunset cruise (wonderful) and a horseback ride (relaxing). The food at the lodge was amazing, especially the breakfast which was included! The only thing I would say needs improving is the flow and timing of the wait staff at breakfast; they seemed overwhelmed during periods of heavy guest traffic (i.e., lots of tables not ready and guests waiting to seat). The water park is really just a large pool with a slide, but is amazing with the walls of windows that open to the lakefront! Water was not really warm (how we like it), but tolerable. Loved the s'mores and bonfires by the lake every evening - a nice touch! Overall an amazing experience; we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    101
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
225
137
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was, by far the best experience i have had on a family vacation or at a hotel of any kind. Amenties added so much to the value of this vacation spot. Gorgeous accomidations, Epic staff, great food, so much for the kids to do and simply the best golf courses ive ever played. Stayed in the Pines suites and loved every minute of our 4 day vacation. I highly recommend the GVL for a family vacation. Really cannot say enough nice things about the whole experience! Going back as soon as I can!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pines Suites and being closer to the main lodge would be better for kids but i love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our room far exceeded our expectations! Every part of the lodge was beautiful, and very well kept. There were so many fun things to do without ever leaving, a nice swimming beach, the waterslide and pool, tons of activities for kids, adults, and families! Molly at the boat house was very knowledgeable and helpful about renting boats, and about all of the free water activities offered. Jed took us out on the pontoon for fishing. He was outstanding! He took us to a perfect location. Each of the kids on the boat caught tons of fish. Jed was willing to help bait hooks and take fish off, anything anyone needed. While fishing we were able to watch deer play in the woods and a beaver swimming through the lake. It was absolutely picture perfect!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandaboyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned from an amazing overnight at this beautiful resort! We stayed in a 2 bedroom Nokomis and it was so beautiful. We cannot wait to go back! Breakfast was included in our golf package and it was really good!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

As a gift for my uncle and aunt, surprised them with an all-expense paid week at Grand View. They just returned and said it was the "most lovely week" and "heaven on earth"! So guess they were pleased ;) They loved the Roy Cottage, right on the lake, where they said the water was so clear that they could see fish swim every morning and view beautiful sunsets from their deck every evening.

The staff was very pleasant when I arranged everything (from Belgium) and made special accomodations for all charges to be sent to me. Will definitely send more of my famiy members there in the future.

Thank you Grand View staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XOXOXO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our family loves our yearly visit to Grand View Lodge! With a hundred years of customer service and care under their belts, they seem to have nailed the experience of "getting away from it all" with tons of stuff to do. Our kids love the indoor water park, games room and organized activities. My husband and I love the boat rentals, beach bonfires, dining and spa. We have rented the same cabin for the past four years and this year we arrived to find it had just been updated with granite counter tops, new tile and carpet, stainless appliances and great decor. Many others have also been recently updated. Housekeeping and front desk staff are extremely friendly and will help you with just about anything you need. We were lucky to show up the day of a local event. The resort offered free shuttles for anyone who wanted or needed rides to the event. I can imagine that any time of year, there are plenty of things to do although summer is definitely your best bet for outdoors activities.

Room Tip: The main lodge has rooms but a great option is one of the cabins near or at the waterfront. Golfers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBarnGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

As a native Minnesotan and someone who loves to travel, I would be remiss if I didn't check out what my own backyard had to offer. I've been to Grand View Lodge a number of times and have stayed in a variety of their properties. I've never been disappointed...other than to end my stay and head back to reality!

I've been to Grand View in September, November, December, January, April, and May, always choosing to avoid the peak summer season. There are many activities at the resort and in the surrounding area available year-round, though some of the resort amenities and local towns definitely have seasonality to their business.

There are so many lodging options and something to suit just about any needs. My favorites are the new Homes on Nokomis. The two-bedroom, two-bath with full kitchen option facing the woods is so beautiful and very much a home away from home. Lodging at The Pines is also quite lovely regardless of whether or not you are a golfer.

Not to be missed is the Glacial Waters Spa featuring Aveda and Eminence products. I'm working my way through their entire spa menu and would highly recommend a stop at the spa during your Grand View Lodge experience. Be sure to book your spa appointments early and on a day when you don't need to travel so that the pure bliss doesn't need to be hurried. The spa, its relaxation room, and gender-specific locker rooms are a great way to spend a rainy or snowy afternoon--being pampered!

This resort works for solo travelers, groups of friends, a girls weekend, couples or families. They often run specials so it pays to be on their e-mail list.

I highly recommend Grand View Lodge and their exceptional staff who are attentive to your every need!

Room Tip: Many of the accommodations can be customized to your group's size as the units/cabins can be sub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJSC_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
2.2 mi away
Lost Lake Lodge
Lost Lake Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nisswa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing