We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Place...Full of Rustic Cham”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Unique cabins, beautiful property and a helpful staff make this a great destination Great for families. I was here with a group and a good time was had by all. Never been here before, and I would consider a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFlaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 579 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

7 adults and 3 boys age 6 and under had a great weekend! We stayed in one of the townhomes in The Pines. It had 3 bedrooms and 3 sitting areas - more than enough space for people to play, watch tv, and nap all at the same time. We loved playing in the water park and trying out cross country skiing and snowshoeing. I was uncertain about having to load everyone up to go to the Lodge for breakfast or to the pool, but it was not a big deal at all. Everyone loved the breakfast options, and we also enjoyed our meal at The Pub. Cooking in the house was easy because all of the basic pots and utensils were there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights in the wintertime at the one bedroom cabin with friends. Overall, we had a great time. The cabin was spacious and warm (3 space heaters were in the cabin). Online it was not clear what was included in the cabin. We were pleasantly surprised to see a full fridge, stove, microwave, utensils, and a large jacuzzi tub. Mornings included a fantastic breakfast buffet.

A few suggestions for improvement include providing a remote control for the TV that works and correcting the front door so the security card can be used (we could only use on the back door). They could benefit from more Marketing/Communication supports in terms of advertising benefits and room detail on their website.

There is snow shoeing and cross country skiing nearby for $10 for 2 hours. Overall, a great stay at Grand View

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CappaccinoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at Grand view lodge for an ice fishing trip. Got a small condo room located across from the hotel and was in love with how clean and great the room was! It was small but very comfortable for me and my boyfriend for the weekend.
Bathroom was spacious and the fire place we had was great after being in the cold!
This resort would be extraordinary in the summer months. I plan to visit again once it warms up and plan to make a tradition of staying at this lodge each winter!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked one of the Roy Lake Cottages for our family winter getaway. 7 adults and 6 young kids fit very comfortably! The cabin was exceptional and included everything you'd need to be stuck indoors for a whole weekend. You have to pack up and drive just a few minutes over to the pool or family center, but it's very worth it. We were very impressed with the service, the gorgeous accommodations, and extra features. We will be back to try a summer vacation, too!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

from our first minutes walking around the freshly fallen snow, seeing the historic lodge, and the lit pathways, we knew that we'd come back here again. The rest of the weekend did not disappoint! Our accommodations were first rate, stayed in a Nokomis studio. Breakfast buffet had excellent variety and quality. The cross country ski trails on the golf course were in great shape, not miles and miles long, but very pretty and some hills to make it challenging. Lots of activities to choose from, friendly staff, and a fantastic setting made this a fantastic weekend away! Thank you Grand View Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Grandview during late fall with another family - 4 adults and 4 kids. We opted for a townhome (“8th Fairway” complex) about a half mile from the lodge. This turned out to be great compromise between the lodge/cabin rooms which are close in but older and rustic (some in a not-so-good way - thin walls and a little grungy) and other condos that are far from the main lodge (3 miles away - stayed at Bay Colony a couple years ago for a girl’s weekend. It was ok). We used GVL’s free and easy shuttle service for door to door service between our place and the lodge. Although parking wouldn’t have been a problem, the shuttle was really convenient.

Kids swam in the pool (nice water slide) while adults hot-tubbed and visited. Kids also loved jumping in the inflatables in the Norway center. Ate dinner at the lodge (great food) and lunch at the pub (average food). But, the pub is attached to a game/rec room where the kids played while the adults had a couple beers –more than made up for the average food!

We actually spent a good amount of time just hanging out in our townhouse. It had cozy fireplaces, flat screen TVs in all the rooms and even a pool table in the lower level. One of the best things about our stay was that it turned out to be an excellent value. By splitting the cost with the other family, we got a 4 BR/4 BA/3 level townhouse for not much more $$ than two rooms at an ordinary hotel. Plus, our stay included a HUGE FREE buffet breakfast each day. A really good deal for a nice weekend, especially since GV seems to have established itself as the high-end/luxury resort in the area (especially compared to Craguns where we stayed for a wedding a couple years ago. Needs renovations badly – don’t go). We will be going to GV again next fall!

Room Tip: Consider a condo/townhouse near the lodge for the best value - convenience, modern and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duluthgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.4 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
292 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
455 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range: $139 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing