We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My family from CA, NE, IA, and MN recently met for a joint vacation at Grand View Lodge. We stayed in the 4-BR Roy Cottage (#598) right on Roy Lake with the dock, "beach", and fire pit right outside our back door. My whole family was very impressed with the resort - the cottage could have easily slept 12+ with bunk beds and single loft beds added in. Great for kids. Very high quality, gorgeous accommodations - wonderful floor to ceiling stone fireplace and windows, huge dining room table, great kitchen with island and granite countertops, eating bar, dishwasher, and pretty well equipped for any basic cooking. Bathrooms were very nice with spacious showers and all double sinks. It was nice how the rooms were laid out to allow some privacy - 1 large BR with big bed and 2 bunk beds on the lower level (plus that level had it's own kitchenette with fridge and sink and the gaming area with TV) with a bathroom across the hall; 2 BRs on the main level - one with it's own large en suite bath with spa tub and one that adjoined a communal bath with its own door into the bathroom; and the third floor had 1 large BR with 2 single beds in the main area and a large bathroom. So each level was like it's own separate area for each family or couple, which was very nice. The cottage was very well planned and laid out. Living area was large and you have a choice of outdoor spaces for eating/relaxing including uncovered patio, covered patio, and screened-in porch. Lots of stairs though with the 3 levels if you're traveling with older people.

Our ages ranged from 3 months to 91 yrs and there was something there to do for everyone. Right outside we had kayaking and canoeing (we brought our own), fishing, fire pit, beach volleyball, or just relaxing on the patio of the cottage or indoors looking out onto the lake from the floor to ceiling 2-story windows. We caught some decent bass off the dock and in our kayak (on Roy Lake) and did some fly fishing at nearby Stoney Brook Creek in Fritz Loven park (didn't catch much there). The indoor pool/water park area at the resort has a phenomenal water slide along with separate warm and hot tubs, water volleyball and basketball, and an area that is very shallow for young children. Of course there was golfing all around but we're not into that so I can't speak to it; we're more outdoor sports and rec type people, mostly between ages of 30 and 40.

Paul Bunyan trail is a short distance away - all paved, flat, and over 100 miles, great for long rides if you like to bike/cycle and rollerblading (bring your own bike for a long ride, a couple people in my group rented bikes from the resort for $5/hr and they weren't meant for anything more than a leisurely ride). We were able to bike directly from our Roy Cottage to the trail but it was about 4 miles on the highway shoulder to get to it; maybe not for everyone but not too bad. Otherwise you can drive to the trailhead in Nisswa and bike/rollerblade/walk from there. Picnic spots and little towns along the way. We did a 40-mile ride that would have been pretty pleasant if not for the 25 mph head wind on the return trip. Nisswa is a cute little town with shops along the main street - don't miss the Chocolate Ox! Wonderful ice cream and fudge. Got groceries and delicious pies from Schaefer's not too far away.

We didn't get to enjoy or experience everything the resort had to offer due to my grandma having health problems while we were there, but we still had some fun. Because of her issues, we ended up having to leave a day early. The most impressive part of our stay was that I checked us out around noon on Saturday, a day early and past check-out time, and they did not charge us for the last night that we didn't stay. It was much appreciated by my whole family and proved to me what a quality, reputable, professional business this resort is. Kudos to them from my very grateful family!

Bottom line: this is a gorgeous place to stay with a variety of outdoor activities right outside your cabin/cottage. Come prepared and bring our own stuff (kayaks, canoes, fishing gear, bikes, rollerblades, hiking poles, etc.) and you will have a GREAT time! :)

Room Tip: Some Roy Cottages have a direct lake view/access right outside the back and some do not, our #598 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    101
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
225
137
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We rented a 1 bdrm. cottage in August at Grand View Resort. The cottage was very well cleaned and very comfortable. I'd have to say the deck and plastic chairs were a mess though. Full of spider webs and tree junk. Considering the cottage is in the woods, I understand this is a problem, but if they were wiped down daily, they wouldn't have looked as bad. Some of those spiders look like they've lived there since spring! eek!
Anyway - the resort itself is top notch! A little hike to the beach, but once there, they have everything you need, so you can plant yourself in the loungers and not have to move. Clean beach areas, very handy bar/restaurant right there also. Indoor kiddie pool just steps from the beach. I suspect moms loved that. The resort offers many activities for everyone. They pull kids tubing, skiing, or on the banana boats all afternoon. All complimentary - you just sign up. The food is very good. Breakfast buffet is huge, very good, but pricey! $26/per person! No one can eat that much for breakfast! lol The pub onsite offers fair prices for burgers etc. and happy hour drink prices. Nice little pub to visit. Golfing is great up there. Numerous golf courses all within 15-20 minute drive. They do have an onsite shuttle service, but we drove ourselves.
I'd highly recommend this place as they have many lodging options. Hotel rooms are absolutely charming as they're in the original lodge built way back when. They have cabins on the property from 1 bdrm. - 3 & 4 bedrooms. They have townhouses on the golf course, but those are down the road from the original resort. So, if you're there and planning on eating at the resort, you'll be driving back and forth a lot, or waiting for a shuttle a lot. We prefer to be closer to the beach and lodge, so we've never stayed at their other properties off site.
One really nice thing when we left. We were hauling junk to the car - and a young employee whizzing by on the golf cart that they use to get around, stopped and asked if we need help carrying anything to the car! We both thought that was such a nice gesture. I can't remember ever being asked that at any other resort we've been to. (of course hotels have bell men, but they don't come unless called). This kid was just passing and stopped on his own. A huge gesture that sticks with us and I've repeated it to many. Word of mouth is huge, so their marketing people know what they're doing when they instruct employees on what to do! :)
Overall, I'd highly recommend a summer vacation at Grandview Lodge. Top notch resort and staff are truly there to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our personal choice is to be on the resort main grounds so we can walk everywhere we like to be. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1ay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at the lodge for a business meeting and wish my family could have joined. The cabins were well appointed and had wood burning fireplaces. Our group was divided between two cabins and the larger cabin also had a hot tub on its deck. Each cabin had a nice kitchen complete with kitchenwares. Living rooms had comfy leather furniture. Bedrooms had combination of ensuite and shared bathrooms.

The lodge itself is nicely done in a northwoods style and gives the atmosphere of being at one of national park grand lodges. The grounds are well kept with beautiful flowers and landscaping. The property has a very nice expansive beach. Kayaks and canoes are available for guest use. Bonfires were held in the evening on the beach. Did not use the indoor pool, but it had a waterslide and water volleyball. Would love to return with the kids sometime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
444 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

When a friend was visiting the area, we drove to Grandview Lodge for an afternoon. The grounds are spectacular - no question. The location is wonderful - no question. The main building is a delightful place to visit for those who love the north woods look. It is well maintained, friendly staff and just as cozy and inviting as one would ever want. We did not stay in the rooms but had lunch in the Northwoods Pub downstairs.

The Pub has a lovely view out unto the grounds, plus an inside sports type bar with TVs. We were there around noon on a Monday and it was not busy at all. The service was very slow and spotty - which surprised us since they were not that busy.

The food was so-so with one exception, the wild mushroom truffle fritters - which were wonderful - they are an appetizer. We then had the Walleye Chowder and the Chicken Tortilla soup - both were average and sounded much more delicious than they turned out to be. We also asked for dinner rolls and they were being baked and turned out to be excellent.

So, kind of a mixed afternoon. But we did walk around the area and enjoyed the lovely fall day. We probably would not return to the Pub, however, for a meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great facility, great accomidations, great golf we were a group of 8 guys and the place was very comfortable for us. Had an area to play some pool and cards for evening activities. Also set up a great Pkg for us for a great golf experience.Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recently went to Grandview Lodge for a business conference. Everyone appreciated the variety of accommodations for groups of various sizes. My accommodations were very nice, had a sitting room, bathroom and bedroom all very comfortable. There was a nice deck out front with a view of the lake. The grounds are beautiful and the place has a nice ambiance. The original lodge is charming, and I hope it never changes. My only suggestion to turn a four star into a five is to improve the food to include more modern choices, and healthier fare. The breakfast buffet included fresh fruit :) but also salty scrambled eggs, white bread, white bagels and white English muffins. I'm always willing to splurge on a great scone or muffin but the baked goods weren't too great. A plus is that there were veggie options at each meal. The food wouldn't stop me from coming to this great place but better food could turn it into an outstanding place. Many of the accommodations have kitchens so you can cook good food, too and that is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our return was 52 years too late. We celebrated our honeymoon at Grand View and we had
not been back until this past week. The Grand Romance Package was just that - "Grand".
The meals were excellent and the grounds were immaculate and beautifully maintained.
The staff could not have been any more friendlier and well trained

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
2.2 mi away
Lost Lake Lodge
Lost Lake Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nisswa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing