We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Atmosphere”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went for my Mother's birthday with 15 + people. The service, food and atmosphere was excellent. What a nice place to enjoy a special family ocassion. Highly recommended in the Nisswa area which lacks in higher end restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 594 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family loves Grand View Lodge. The resort grounds is really what counts and we can't imagine a better setup. Pools, beaches, restaurants, lots of games and grounds. It's really nice.

The downside is the main property is where the action is, and the cabins are in terrible condition. We paid $600/night for a 2-bedroom in a 4 unit condo facing the beach. There is mold on the ceilings, chunks of the ceiling broken, and stained carpet and just generally poor condition. The beds are also very uncomfortable with cheap pillows, sheets, and blankets.

The spa is really beautiful. I wish the whole resort were updated to look more like the spa. The men's showers have been broken for at least two months. They work, but the majority of the 'extra' shower heads will not turn on, and the ceiling rain shower either doesn't work, or is only cold. To be fair, I informed the spa of this two months ago, but they haven't fixed it yet, so I'm including it here.

Overall, it's highly recommended just due to the incredible grounds and the great experience. I would just really like to see renovations to the cabins.

Room Tip: The main resort cabins are where the action are, but are probably in the worst condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gqkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Grand View Lodge is a beautiful old lodge overlooking Gull Lake. It has beautifully manicured grounds and high quality landscaping wherever you look, with an array of flowers of all kinds. On the whole the staff are friendly and accomodating, though be aware that at the Italian Gardens you have to follow their Mama Mia menu. For adults the resort can seem child-focused - the lakeside area is very noisy with a lot of children running around and screaming, so if you want a relaxing, calming experience you will not get it at the lake (unless before 9 am). The cabins are also on the rustic side - do not expect a modern bathroom - and did not have great lighting. The views of the Lodge are glorious, particularly at night, and the sunset cruises well worth while - we saw an amazing full moon. We also loved Cru for its delicious meals and wines and the Northwoods Pub for tasty affordable fare. The Chocolate Ox is fantastic for ice cream and has a great, old world-y feel to it. Finally the Glacial Waters Spa is a unique experience - the facilitaties are state of the art and you feel like you are right in the woods, that is how open and full of windows the place is. The therapists are very well qualified and go above and beyond for their clients.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank ClareMM2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Grand View Lodge was an excellent place to have a great time. We went on the pontoon ride, went golfing, made smores and had a wonderful time. The place is so clean and well kept. The golf courses were beautiful and well manicured. Our family had a great time!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Bay Colony, and it was very clean, well kept!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian and Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Family owned and managed this is a great location to enjoy the many attractions of Minnesota. We tried out almost every cabin, suite and room and were always satisfied. The staff at reception is marvelous and always found the right solutions even for our last minute requests. For short term rentals they have great flexibility even in terms of pricing.

Room Tip: Cabins and rooms at Roy Lake or the Golf Residential suites are perfect, especially for the golf avi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickKreuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Grandview Lodge is near and dear to our hearts! We always enjoy the top notch service, accommodations and breathtaking views of Gull Lake each and every year! We took our four boys on a last minute summer trip this past weekend and stayed in a SPECTACULAR unit at Interlachen! It was beautifully decorated, extrodinarily clean and comfortable and right on the lake. We enjoyed using the provided kayaks, and grilling out right on our own patio lakeside! I would highly recommend Grandview to anyone who wants a first class up north experience..and don't forget to have the wonderful breakfast buffet in the Lodge! It is our favorite!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our 3rd time at GVL with our kids and once again we had a great time. There are so many fun activities for kids - our kids are younger and absolutely love the indoor water slide, playing on the beach and the floating trampoline. My only criticism is that the property seemed very dirty and not very well maintained on this most recent visit. We know the cabins are older (at least the ones on the main property) and so we expect rustic - but the cabin we got this year was beyond rustic with stained carpet that almost crunched under your feet when you walked on it. What we found even worse was the beach area which was completely littered with all sorts of garbage including cigarette butts and bandaids. During our 4 day stay we never say anyone cleaning or picking up the beach area and it was clear that the same garbage for the duration of our stay.

We'll definitely be back again next year, but hopefully next time the place will be a bit cleaner.

Room Tip: The cabins by the main lodge are the most convenient to the pool and beach. If you don't care ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
460 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Baxter, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
7.4 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
292 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range: $143 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing