We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of "Free Shuttle"”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of "Free Shuttle"”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Everything was good as far as accommodations except the "free" shuttle on NYE. We were told the shuttle would be free after 9 pm to take our group to certain locations including Zorbas on NYE. Later that night after we ate at Grand View we asked for the shuttle service and the receptionist told us the director of operations closed the service for NYE (decision was made @ 4pm). The group was now stuck with $100 taxi right (one way) for 2 miles to go to Zorbas. 2 other groups expierience the same issue, very disappointing. Beware of promised accomidations!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkTine, Public Relations Manager at Grand View Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
First of all, thank you for staying with us during the holiday season, and besides this issue, we hope you had a wonderful stay. Grand View has made hundreds of late night shuttles to our friends at Zorbaz throughout the year and plan on continuing this program for years to come. A mistake was made and miscommunicated to our team, which unfortunately, you and your guests were not able to get the shuttle service promised. For this, we apologize. We hold our service standards very high at Grand View and we apologize for any inconvenience. It is important that not only do our guests have a great time during their stays here, but also that it is done in a safe and responsible way. We hope that you will stay with us again soon to receive the great service you have always expected from us and truly deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    105
    31
    29
    22
See reviews for
235
143
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

this is a beautiful resort not very far from the Twins City that makes you relax at the moment that you frive in the entrance.A woody area with beautigul cabins that you can rent or buy it. The main building makes you feel wellcome and the attendance too. The emmployees are there for you all the time and are very friendly. The cabin was big, beautiful and very quiet. hHave beautiful trails that you can just walk, run or just look the suroundings. You can walk close to the lake or seat and relax. You can warm food at the cabin, sit close to fire place and relax.

Room Tip: Depending on how many are coming with you you can get a great cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, romantic getaway for the weekend. My husband golfs at Grandview every summer with guys from work so he called Tim Bauman and told him what we were looking for. Tim assisted him and booked us a cabin on Roy Lake. The cabin exceeded our expectations and we had a fabulous time. It was so much nicer than going to a hotel for the weekend.

Very easy check-in. The staff told us to call if we needed anything at all--even a bag of ice. We did end up calling when we couldn't get the gas fireplace started and someone came out right away. A very easy fix that took one minute.

Did not have great weather but we will definitely be back when we can hopefully enjoy a clearer lake view right from our cabin. The cabin was exactly as pictured and we were quite cozy listening to the rain in front of our fireplace. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wife and I went to Grand View Lodge for first time end of Sept using the free golf package....4 days/4 nights. It could not have been a better, getaway vacation. The Great: (1) our cabin (129 on Gull Lake). Quiet, on the beach, warm during nights of 30 degrees, perfect size. I was afraid close to the water it would be too rustic, mildewy, but it was neither. Might be noisy during summer when kids are plentiful, but not in Sept. Also, very close to nightly bonfire on beach. (2) Friendliness of staff. From waiters at Northwoods Pub (one personally got us ice for our room after dinner at the pub) to the female who did the complementary bike ride (can't remember her name), to staff at morning buffet, to the guy who rented us the pontoon boat, everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Example, when I was trying to figure out what time we would be back in the afternoon to p/u the pontoon boat, and I asked the guy at the pool, when he would be back after lunch, his answer was, "Sir, it's all about you. Whatever works for you, I'll be here." Refreshing! The Good: Golf. We played the Preserve Golf Course. Beautiful course. I asked Danny at the pro shop if there was anyway my wife and I could play as a twosome, and he didn't flinch. He put us between two foursomes by ourselves. Again, refreshing. The Not good: The Jacuzzi bath in the cabin....don't think the hot water heater was big enough to heat the water as hot as my wife likes it, but it was still okay. Seriously, that is my only Not Good. Everything else was perfect. Only thing I might change is I might check into renting a boat from one of the outside boat shops, only because the pontoon boat Grand View provided showed it's age. I initially wanted a runabout boat, but boat guy (I think his name was Mark) mentioned Grand View's runabouts require a person to drive the boat. He then instantly mentioned he would personally call one of the outside boat places and have them deliver a boat to Grand View if we still wanted to get a runabout w/o a driver. Refreshing. One last vision of Grand View Lodge....second morning there, I went out on our porch with my Kindle. 5 minutes into my reading, a squirrel ran by the porch with a marshmallow in it's mouth. (Along with setting up the bonfire every night with fresh wood, the staff also puts out marshmallows, chocolate, graham crackers and metal skewers on the picnic table for s'mores). 45 seconds later, another squirrel ran by with, yes, drum roll, a full sized, still wrapped Hershey's bar in its mouth. Too answer your question, I never saw the third squirrel run by with the graham cracker.
That, is Grand View Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I were just married at Grand View in October. First and foremost they have the greatest wedding coordinator/planner/mastermind/friend, Maggie. No words to describe how much we enjoyed working with Maggie over the past year and half of planning. Highest marks possible for the service she provides.
The resort is such a beautiful place; the main reason we picked the location for our wedding. Our families stayed at the Roy Cottages and my wife and I stayed in the Roy Cabins. Both are very new and beautiful buildings.
The reception that we held at Grand View was definitely not the most expensive they are capable of hosting, but all our guests continue to rave about the location, service and the food. My good friend just called to talk about how good the salmon was???
My wife and I look forward to several return visits in the future. It will always hold a very special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: It is hard to beat the Roy Cottages and Cabins, but we have also stayed in the Golf Condos on The Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned from staying there for three days to kill time while my kids school had five ridiculous days off from school for MEA. We arrived after what was apparently a very busy weekend to discover that most of the resort had shut down despite GV still charging premium prices for one of their condos. Only one restaurant was open, had to call around the resort to find someone to open up the (very nice) pool and waterslide so the kids could use it...twice we were shut out. Staff was no where to be seen. Condo was nice as to be expected from GV, but a summers worth of use was clearly on display: broken chairs, dirty carpet, grimy bathroom. SPA was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pondscum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Grand View Lodge. We happened to go over MEA weekend so there were kids EVERYWHERE but GVL had lots of activities to keep them busy and out of our hair. We had a great casual meal at the Northwoods Pub in the basement of the lodge. The weekend buffet breakfast was delicious and had all of the traditional breakfast foods. The continental breakfast on Monday was decent but not quite what we were hoping for.

The Glacial Waters Spa on the resort property was amazing! The prices are pretty steep but you're paying for a true relaxing spa experience. I recommend going early and spending some time with a good book in the relaxation room sitting by the fire and sipping some coffee or tea. The services I received were top notch. Don't let the prices scare you here, it's worth it to splurge on a service or two! After your services are done the locker room is loaded with products and styling tools that you can use to get yourself ready. The whole experience was fabulous!

My husband golfed at the Pines and thoroughly enjoyed it. He said the greens and grounds were impeccably kept.

We stayed in a duplex cabin that was perfect for us. It had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. There was a wood burning fireplace that we attempted to use but we never really got a good raging fire going. Next time we go we're doing to bring a couple of Duraflame logs from home and a big box of matches. We had a view of the lake and were just a short walk from the Lodge (which is adorable and historic).

We would recommend Grand View Lodge to anyone looking for a north woods getaway. There is enough to do there to keep anyone busy - couples, families, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CycloneTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
276 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
432 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
15.9 mi away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing