We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly services, great chocolatier!”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
tabibit
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly services, great chocolatier!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August when we visited MN for family gatherings. Nice atmosphere, friendly services from summer staff from many parts of the world, great outdoor activities including tubing and tennis. We had an all-inclusive package - the resort offers buffet breakfast and a good number of restaurants to choose from though food tends to be on a heavy side, except Cru, offering small plate dining menus (highly recommended). During our stay, we frequented Chocolate Ox - good selection of chocolate, candies, and ice cream.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    101
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
225
137
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our 2nd stay here. What's not to love. The golf courses are great. The staff are all so friendly. Food is good and there are other great restaraunts nearby. Gull lake is a great lake. We didn't have children with, but if you did they have a very nice beach and pool area and fun activities every day for families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaciann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Gull Haven and it was amazing! The service is great and the properties are beautiful.

Previously we stayed at Roy Lake and that location was terrific as well.

The only two things I would be aware of is there is a little car noise at Gull Haven and it is fairly expensive. Overall, fantastic vacation! Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for a week in August and an overall impression is best summed up with the fact that we have already booked a return visit next year. This place is great for families and has a number of amenities for all age ranges. Nothing is 5 stars or Four Season’s but almost everything is 4 stars which makes this place an ideal getaway to experience whatever you are looking for (cabin, lake, fishing, golf, spa, good food, etc.).

Location: We stayed in Gull Haven, cabin 703. Gull Haven, which is adjacent to Bay Colony and Interlachen, is about 3 miles from the main campus and right on Gull Lake. Each Gull Haven unit is a separate cabin with 704 and 705 on the water, 703 and 706 just behind, and 701/702 and 707-709 just behind them. There is a children’s playground, beach area, dock, and beach equipment (life jackets, non-motorized equipment) available for use. The grounds are well maintained. We prefer the Gull Haven cabins because they have screened in porches which are nice to relax after the kids are in bed. Each unit has a grill for use if you desire. Bay Colony units are more like condos as opposed to a cabin and the Interlachen, although newer with more updated amenities, are more like townhomes and neither has screened in porches.
Food: Cru was great. We went there after the wine tasting which is a once per week event and I would recommend. They had a wine cellar that you can walk in and pick out your bottle arranged according to price (reasonable prices as well). Reservations needed. Northwoods pub had better than most bar food which was fun for lunch although dinner can get busy. The Lodge dining room brunch buffet was good but not memorable.

Activities: There are too many to list. We rented a boat through Boats and Beyond and they were great to work with. You can rent a boat lift through the hotel. GVL has daily activities for kids including pontoon fishing/cruise, ice cream socials, water tubing, s’mores that are free along with kids club, horseback riding, bingo, and tennis for additional charges. My wife has been to the spa twice and describes it as one of the more relaxing spa experiences she has had. If weather is poor, there is also an indoor water slide and pool/hot tub center for kids. Babysitting is also available through the front desk for very reasonable prices ($12/hr for our 3 year old and twin 2 year olds). There is a grocery store near the resort and a number of off campus restaurants that are nearby as well.

Negatives: Service was great throughout the week and I can’t think of any major issues. Unfortunately, this place is very popular. We tried to book the same cabin in Gull Haven next year for the same week and it was already taken. We were able to get another Gull Haven cabin a little further away from the water but this was the last one available a full year in advance. When we were there this year, we tried for 3 consecutive days to look at a Roy Lake Cottage and there was nothing available to walk through. We did walk around the Roy Lake properties (best ones were 601-605) and they were very nice but we still prefer the cabins at Gull Haven.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MN_Sesame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green valley, az
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed one night in the lodge in a king bed room. The staff and accommodations were excellent. The leather side chair with ottoman was a relief from poor quality furniture at a family run local lake resort where I had been recently. The bed and linens were very comfortable. When the door to the small screened in porch closed, the room was very quiet. My only concern is that check in is at 4:30 pm, due to the fact that there are numerous large cabins on the property, There is only one check in time to accomodate them. I feel that the hotel rooms in the lodge should have a 3:00 pm check in of their own. I would certainly return if I visited the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Here is the scoop on our Aug 2012 stay...

* Great customer service - everyone was very family and customer oriented
* It was the small things that made this trip enjoyable... free coffee always out, fresh, variety at each breakfast sitting
* They were doing some painting, did not have signs up, my son brushed up against a new Grand View Lodge sweatshirt and they replaced it instantly
* Chocolate Ox is worth the trip and Happy Hour for two for one cones 7-9 Wednesdays
* Great watersports
* Great beach
* Great service in helping us hookup and store our pontoon - rented us a lift
* Housekeeping is below average - only received clean towels and bed making - not much else, including no vacuuming and no floor cleaning
* Breakfast is great, varies each day
* Other foodservice was pretty average
* The younger adults staffing the dock and watersports are awesome... Anthony did a great job taking our kids fishing
* They don't charge you an arm and a leg for everything... a great value
* Deacons Lodge was top shelf, but didn't have GPS (Although we brought our own)
* Will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlichts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We did not stay at the Grand View but ate there and toured the property. It is so very beautiful with take your breath away flowers everywhere you turn and gorgeous views of Gull Lake. the hotel is five star....we would have stayed there but they were full to capacity. I should have booked it sooner but we were uncertain of our times due to a visit to Mayo. They told us even in winter they have ice fishing and snowmobiling. Gorgeous cedar trees everywhere.

Room Tip: book early...they fill up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
8.4 mi away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing