We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand View Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quarterdeck Resort(Nisswa)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Pequot Lakes(Pequot Lakes)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madden's on Gull Lake(East Gull Lake)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake(East Gull Lake)(Great Value!)
$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nisswa Motel(Nisswa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
405
114
32
29
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
405
114
32
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain propertyroy lakeglacial watersbreakfast buffetgull lakemeal plangranite countersbedroom cabingolf villasgirls weekendtown homesindoor poolgas fireplaceoxitalian gardenfull kitchenice fishing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 604 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for a week in August and an overall impression is best summed up with the fact that we have already booked a return visit next year. This place is great for families and has a number of amenities for all age ranges. Nothing is 5 stars or Four Season’s but almost everything is 4 stars which makes this place an ideal getaway to experience whatever you are looking for (cabin, lake, fishing, golf, spa, good food, etc.).

Location: We stayed in Gull Haven, cabin 703. Gull Haven, which is adjacent to Bay Colony and Interlachen, is about 3 miles from the main campus and right on Gull Lake. Each Gull Haven unit is a separate cabin with 704 and 705 on the water, 703 and 706 just behind, and 701/702 and 707-709 just behind them. There is a children’s playground, beach area, dock, and beach equipment (life jackets, non-motorized equipment) available for use. The grounds are well maintained. We prefer the Gull Haven cabins because they have screened in porches which are nice to relax after the kids are in bed. Each unit has a grill for use if you desire. Bay Colony units are more like condos as opposed to a cabin and the Interlachen, although newer with more updated amenities, are more like townhomes and neither has screened in porches.
Food: Cru was great. We went there after the wine tasting which is a once per week event and I would recommend. They had a wine cellar that you can walk in and pick out your bottle arranged according to price (reasonable prices as well). Reservations needed. Northwoods pub had better than most bar food which was fun for lunch although dinner can get busy. The Lodge dining room brunch buffet was good but not memorable.

Activities: There are too many to list. We rented a boat through Boats and Beyond and they were great to work with. You can rent a boat lift through the hotel. GVL has daily activities for kids including pontoon fishing/cruise, ice cream socials, water tubing, s’mores that are free along with kids club, horseback riding, bingo, and tennis for additional charges. My wife has been to the spa twice and describes it as one of the more relaxing spa experiences she has had. If weather is poor, there is also an indoor water slide and pool/hot tub center for kids. Babysitting is also available through the front desk for very reasonable prices ($12/hr for our 3 year old and twin 2 year olds). There is a grocery store near the resort and a number of off campus restaurants that are nearby as well.

Negatives: Service was great throughout the week and I can’t think of any major issues. Unfortunately, this place is very popular. We tried to book the same cabin in Gull Haven next year for the same week and it was already taken. We were able to get another Gull Haven cabin a little further away from the water but this was the last one available a full year in advance. When we were there this year, we tried for 3 consecutive days to look at a Roy Lake Cottage and there was nothing available to walk through. We did walk around the Roy Lake properties (best ones were 601-605) and they were very nice but we still prefer the cabins at Gull Haven.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MN_Sesame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed one night in the lodge in a king bed room. The staff and accommodations were excellent. The leather side chair with ottoman was a relief from poor quality furniture at a family run local lake resort where I had been recently. The bed and linens were very comfortable. When the door to the small screened in porch closed, the room was very quiet. My only concern is that check in is at 4:30 pm, due to the fact that there are numerous large cabins on the property, There is only one check in time to accomodate them. I feel that the hotel rooms in the lodge should have a 3:00 pm check in of their own. I would certainly return if I visited the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Here is the scoop on our Aug 2012 stay...

* Great customer service - everyone was very family and customer oriented
* It was the small things that made this trip enjoyable... free coffee always out, fresh, variety at each breakfast sitting
* They were doing some painting, did not have signs up, my son brushed up against a new Grand View Lodge sweatshirt and they replaced it instantly
* Chocolate Ox is worth the trip and Happy Hour for two for one cones 7-9 Wednesdays
* Great watersports
* Great beach
* Great service in helping us hookup and store our pontoon - rented us a lift
* Housekeeping is below average - only received clean towels and bed making - not much else, including no vacuuming and no floor cleaning
* Breakfast is great, varies each day
* Other foodservice was pretty average
* The younger adults staffing the dock and watersports are awesome... Anthony did a great job taking our kids fishing
* They don't charge you an arm and a leg for everything... a great value
* Deacons Lodge was top shelf, but didn't have GPS (Although we brought our own)
* Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlichts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We did not stay at the Grand View but ate there and toured the property. It is so very beautiful with take your breath away flowers everywhere you turn and gorgeous views of Gull Lake. the hotel is five star....we would have stayed there but they were full to capacity. I should have booked it sooner but we were uncertain of our times due to a visit to Mayo. They told us even in winter they have ice fishing and snowmobiling. Gorgeous cedar trees everywhere.

Room Tip: book early...they fill up!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our recent visit to Grand view Lodge, we stayed in a cabin on Grand View property. We encountered several families driving to Grand view to have their children use the water slide and pool area. We talked to them and they confirmed they were NOT staying at any of Grand View properties, just coming to use the pool and beach area. This is disappointing!! We paid for these amenities, yet the pool was so crowded we could not use it. Also we struggled to find two beach chairs on the beach at 11;30AM. Grand view needs to monitor the pool, so only paying guests can use it.
Our cabin was not vacuumed the entire 5 days of our stay. They did replace the towels but no cleaning of the carpet or bathroom floor.. For the 5 star rate they charge, they are not delivering 5 star service...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JILLLMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkTine, Public Relations Manager at Grand View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Grand View Lodge has always been in the business of creating memories and providing outstanding service to both our guests, but also our members. Our Grand View Lodge resort membership includes benefits at a medley of dining venues, the relaxing Glacial Waters Spa, our 3 championship golf courses, indoor pool and fitness center, and also access to the 2500 feet of beautiful shoreline.

Needless to say, our members find this unlimited access to our resort and discounts to be of incredible value to them. Many of our members have been life-long guests of our facilities and/or are supporting community members, and with this are welcome at any time. Their respect for our property and patronage is incredible and we are blessed to surround ourselves with their company.

We also value each and every guest of Grand View, and in doing so we strive to provide proper accommodations and amenities, such as beach chairs. Just today we added another 30 chairs to accommodate our unprecedented year of guests. We will continue to add more chairs and umbrellas, throughout the year, to help ensure each and every one of our guests has the opportunity to use and at the time they desire.

We hope next year, if you return, you not only find a beach chair and at the time of day you find suited best, but also be able to enjoy your time on the beach with your friends, family and other beach neighbors, who could very well being a member of Grand View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews