We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Calhoun NE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

6 of us had a condo, 3 bedrooms 2 beds in each room with own full bath. TV in each room and 60" TV in main room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    98
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
215
134
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Dundee, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a family vacation for 11 of us at Roy Lodge. The house was squeaky clean, and perfectly appointed. The location was just right for little grandchildren with the clean lake and safe beach. We enjoyed going back and forth the main lodge for the indoor pool and tubing. The golf was great. The food at the Main Lodge was excellent. Our daughter texted us 10 minutes after our goodbyes and said,"Is it too soon to talk about coming back next summer?" We certainly hope to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I have to admit, I wasn't exactly excited to spend summer vacation in Minnesota, but my sister convinced me it would be a great place for our extended family of 9 to vacation together. She was absolutely right - Grand View was wonderful and I highly recommend it to families (large or small) looking for a place to have fun.

Accomodations - There are many different cabin sizes to choose from. We rented a four bedroom, four bath cabin. The cabin was cute, clean and functional. The kitchen lacked counter space, but had everything we needed. We saved time and money by preparing most of our meals in our cabin. A big table allowed us to have family meals together. Our cabin had two seperate sitting areas, each with a TV which allowed the kids to use one and the adults another. With all the activities at Grand View, however, we did very little TV watching.

Activities - Many activities are no cost or low cost and the kids (age range 8 to 11) had a blast. They especially loved the banana tube rides on the lake, water balloon wars and fishing (all no cost). Sign ups for most activities are in the main lodge. The beach is a great place to hang out. They have adirondack and lounge chairs on the beach, umbrellas and beach side food and drink service.

Staff - Staff was very friendly and extremely accomodating. They will loan you a BBQ including a bag of charcoal upon request. Staff is also great with kids.

Property - The grounds are beautiful, including the main lodge. The grounds are small enough that our kids could walk around on their own but large enough that they felt they had their freedom. The Glacial Waters Spa is one of the best spas I've been too. The relaxation room in the spa is a wonderful, peaceful place to start or end your spa treatment. My husband did a round of golf on The Pines course and said it was one of the nicest courses he's played on. The Chocolate Ox candy and ice cream store was definitely a favorite. The nearby town of Nisswa is a cute, walkable town with fun shops and restaurants. My girls loved the free eye glitter at "Fun Sisters".

Grand View Lodge is a real find and a fun alternative to traditional family vacations. As a California girl, I can't believe I'm saying this, but I would love to go back some day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a family vacation 7/2011 in the cabins at Grand View. We were told the cabins were all updated...it appears to us a long time ago. We had two little ones with us, the cabins did not seem the cleanest, dirty microwave, windows and counters. We washed all the dishes as they were dirty when we took them out of the cupboard(no dishwasher).The refrigerator was old with broken drawers, the carpet was all frayed, the table was ready to fall apart. The air conditioner in one bedroom was broken, it was replaced with one that smelled terrible musty smell when it ran. Worst was the deck,nails sticking up, boards missing, very dangerous for the kids. They have a swim beach but allow swimmers in the water where all the boats are coming in and out!! Everything was either old or very abused-but prices very expensive. We will be looking for other options, not worth the money for sure!

Room Tip: loud window air conditioners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llnc3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkTine, Director of Marketing at Grand View Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
We are sorry your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We definitely try to make sure every guest has a great experience, and we were unaware of your dissatisfaction as we were not informed of the issues which you encountered. We have over 200 different accommodations ranging from large cottages, only a few years old, to our more classic-style cabins which are constantly being updated. From swank to cozy, high budget to economic — we try to cater to everyone. Also with 2,500’ of sandy beach, there is more than enough room for everyone to enjoy the lake safely. While we don’t restrain where swimmers may go, we do have a designated swimming area where boats are not allowed. We are saddened with your disapproval, but ask that if you have issues with anything during your stay, please contact us directly. We pride ourselves in customer service and vacation satisfaction, and are unable to solve issues which we are not made aware of. We hope that you give us another visit and get the vacation you expect like the numerous other guests who love Grand View Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at Bay Colony Inn last weekend. It was absolutely perfect. The beach area was very private and included a fire pit on the beach perfect for roasting s'mores. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahgarcia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We looked into the Grand View but the entire resort was full with the exception of the 2 bedroom condos at Interlachen. This is 3 miles from the main resort, but is a private getaway in and of itself. The majority of the side by side log cabin style condos look out directly on the lake, with vaulted ceilings and large windows. We stayed in the units (31, 32) that do not have a lake view, and are slightly newer. They have two large bedrooms upstairs, with two baths, one car garage, and open concept living area with full kitchen. Each unit had a bedroom with two twins and a queen, in addition to the master bedroom. Dishes and gas grills are supplied. Clearly the lakeside units are better from a view standpoint (and they also have outdoor patios), but many have lofts which may be an issue for families with young children. There is a private sandy beach along the length of the property, with multiple docks to fish off of. There are several small playgrounds- one at Interlachen and another next door at Gull Haven (also managed by Grand View). Gull Haven has more of a cabin-feel. There are screened in porches but no garages. The grounds are kept up well throughout both properties. Interlachen also has fire pits, a volleyball court, and horseshoes. We loved being on our own at Interlachen. We did go to the main resort to use the beach, pool, and activities. The drive was not an issue for us, but I suspect most families never left Interlachen. We were so convenient to shopping and restaurants in Nisswa. These units seem far nicer than at the main resort, both because they are newer and have better views. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MNBBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and me took a two day break at the Grand View Lodge. We stayed at the golf villas and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.4 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
259 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
396 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
8.4 mi away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing