We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistle Stop B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistle Stop B & B
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed the first night in the Great Northern suite upstairs in the house and the following night in the Viking car. Both the suite and train car were absolutely beautiful and allowed us to totally relax. The breakfast's were excellent and we truly enjoyed visiting with Jann and Lori and other guests. We enjoyed the trains going by and it added to the relaxation. We both slept so soundly and felt totally revived after the weekend. We were able to see the other cars before leaving and we definitely plan on coming back and try the other cars. Each has there own beauty and individuality. Wonderful place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoy the ambiance and the hospitality of the Whistle Stop. The music of the trains rolling by with whistle's blaring are part of the nostalgia as far as I am concerned. Once I am asleep, however, I don't hear them. Mary does wake up sometimes to the whistles but falls back to sleep. We always have great stays here and we keep coming back. Jann serves fantastic breakfasts. This place is unique. The staff makes sure we are comfortable as well.

Steve O

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I needed time away - quiet time - alone time. Got it and so much more. The breakfast was fantastic. The Imperial Coach was out of this world. I have trains in my blood and I loved the ambiance and the "real" train close by just made it that more fantastic. Jann was wonderful and she showed me around the other rail cars. I will return in December for my second trip. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Whistle Stop is so lovely. We had great service, and our stay was very relaxing.
I suprised my husband for our second anniversary and he definitely was surprised! He couldn't believe we got a whole beautifully restored train car to ourselves. We loved it.

Room Tip: I thought our Palace car was definitely the classiest. They are all beautiful, but I was very happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a vey nice stay at the Whistle Stop. Such a unique place to stay!!! The breakfast served to us each morning was amazing and the cars were a delight to stay in. We will have special memories of our stay and will enjoy telling our friends and family about our unique trip. We would love to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: Any room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 40th Anniversary. It is wonderfully private your very own train car to sit, dream about its travel days, and the restoration process is fantastic. Who would have ever thought that you would have a whirlpool in a train car ooooh it was wonderful!!! The breakfast is delicious Jan even took extra time for my husbands glutin-free diet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shar43664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything was ready for us, air on, letter with fun instructions and info, the breakfast was out of this world good!!! And healthy!! Loads of Fruit, fresh baked scones, eggs, sausage, delicious!! Coffee was great!! The train carsa are cozy, comfy, and have everything you need!! Including whirlpool tubs!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodeenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York Mills
10.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
11.2 mi away
Thumper Pond Resort
Thumper Pond Resort
#1 of 2 in Ottertail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Perham
Super 8 Perham
#2 of 2 in Perham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistle Stop B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistle Stop B & B

Property: Whistle Stop B & B
Address: 107 Nowell St E, New York Mills, MN 56567-4409
Location: United States > Minnesota > New York Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New York Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing