We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic and a wonderful breakfast”
Review of Whistle Stop B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York Mills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whistle Stop B & B
Princeton, minnesota
1 review
“Nostalgic and a wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our first night we stayed on the vicking train car. It was a wonderful experience and a opportunity for my husband and I to talk a little about what it must have been like growing up and riding trains by means of transportation. We enjoyed the ambiance of the car and the wonderful breakfast that was served in our car the next morning. We slept so peacefully the bed was fantastic and comfortable to sleep in. The second night we stayed at the santa fe cottage and again we enjoyed another wonderful experience. Our hostess was very helpful and very gracious and a wonderful chef. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. God Bless.

Room Tip: Get on the internet and pick a room that will fill the needs you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMMYUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
66
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here while visiting family in the area. My room, which was in the main house, not one of the rail cars, was very comfortable and well-furnished. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: Pacific Northern is a spacious room with a nice, private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megkarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Because my sister in law and I had both recently retired from Railroads; I had wanted to stay in one of the cars since staying in the B & B house years ago. I gifted her and myself a nite at the Whistle Stop. Neither of our men would have realized how these railcar suites are also a reflection of our careers and the railroad's past life. We knew it was only the Wealthy businessmen or Railroad barons that would get to ride these kinds of cars. I loved the stunned look from my Sister in Law as we stopped and got out and she was ready to head to the house. We both were overwhelmed at every gorgeous, clean and well thought out detail of our stay in the Viking car. We had no problem with the railroad horns at night; but if a light sleeper...bring some ear plugs- cause you are still going to be loving the railcar experiance. My SIL threw open the back door of our car, and enjoyed the sound even louder! LOL. And then after a wonderful sleep...in the morning, we received our warm basket of exquisite breakfast and every morsel eaten. It was to die for. Go here...you will NOT be sorry!!!!!

Room Tip: Each car is beautiful...as are the rooms in the house. But our favorite is the Viking Car. Luxury, L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingromanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hubby & I planned to stay here for the weekend but didn't even last 1 night. The train car we were to stay in was in the sun and the air-conditioning in the car had not been turned on and the inside temp was 95. After several hours of running the 2 air-conditioners at full speed it had cooled down to a balmy 85 by 11 p.m. The water in the refrigerator was just as warm as the train car as it was set to the warmest temperature possible - the hostess had put a fan in the window but wasn't sure what direction to have the fan running so it was bringing in the very hot humid air from outside. We ended up having to leave in the middle of the night as it was too hot to stay. Would advise not going in the summer or being tolerable of very hot humid temps (inside and out). Imagine staying in a tin can in the summer.

Room Tip: Either stay in the B&B or stay in one of the train cars in the winter time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triedin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We've stayed in a lot of B+Bs but this was our first train car. If you are a train buff or if you enjoy spacious accommodations, this is the place for you. We thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious and fascinating memorabilia. Jann's hospitality and breakfast were outstanding. Although the train tracks were very close to our car their whistles and passing sounds did not bother us. They just added to the atmosphere. If you are in the area, make sure you take the opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: Our traveling companions brought ear plugs, but we did not. The train noise did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Finediners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our's was a spontaneous visit - truly delightful; actually in New York Mills for business. The Palace was certainly fit for a step back to a turn of the century time to relax and romanticize. The train whistles in the night did cause me to stir but the clackety-clack of the wheels lulled me right back to sleep. The full breakfast delivered to our car was delicious and a wonderful closure to a magical stay. The attention to detail in the hospitality was top notch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erma2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have been staying at the Whistle Stop B&B for about 16 years now and about twice a year. I am a train lover and my wife loves it too. We have become good friends with Jann and Roger and this last visit was just one year after Roger's death. He is greatly missed. I have watched them rebuild two of the train cars and can say that it was alot of work and a true labor of love. They made the cars so beautiful with the care they took with the wood work and the old time atmosphere. The outside of the cars also look great. They are all very comfortable and one is even wheelchair accessible along with the Santa Fe cottage. And one can not pass up the opportunity to enjoy the wonderful breakfast the Jann serves. Yoo won't go away hungry! Granted New York Mills is not exactly a bustling town, but Detroit Lakes is only about 35 minutes away and Fargo is only about an hour and ten minutes away, and besides we just like to go and relax and visit with Jann and Lori and Punkin and Rainey.
I highly recommend this B&B for a wonderful get away no matter what the occasion, you won't be disappointed!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The only tip I can think of is to make reservations early to get the car you would like. Also just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York Mills
10.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Perham, MN
11.3 mi away
Thumper Pond Resort
Thumper Pond Resort
#1 of 2 in Ottertail
144 reviews
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Perham
Super 8 Perham
#2 of 2 in Perham
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#2 of 5 in Wadena
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Whistle Stop B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistle Stop B & B

Property: Whistle Stop B & B
Address: 107 Nowell St E, New York Mills, MN 56567-4409
Location: United States > Minnesota > New York Mills
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New York Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing