We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Beer is good

We went on the tour. It was booked so we had to wait over an hour. That was fine though as the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
2gothere
,
St. Paul, MN
via mobile
Octoberfest!!!

Schell's does Octoberfest right!!! This is our second year attending, and we wished we lived... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Susan R
,
Chandler, Arizona
Read all 340 reviews
  
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
221
94
17
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
94
17
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews root beer brewery tour tasting room grounds are beautiful gift shop great tour great beer different beers taste testing brewing process beer tasting at the end oldest brewery your choice tour guide was very knowledgeable sunday afternoon worth the trip small brewery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went on the tour. It was booked so we had to wait over an hour. That was fine though as the grounds are beautiful. Even in the fall.
The tour was not what I expected. There wasn’t much info on how the beer is made. A lot about the history of the brewery.
I was hoping to learn more about the process of making beer. Not here.
However it was great to taste the beer. They give you about 5 samples at 2 ounces each. I liked the chance to taste before I would buy. Then you get a glass of your choice from the samples. Not bad for $6.00.

Thank 2gothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Schell's does Octoberfest right!!! This is our second year attending, and we wished we lived closer, as we would make this an annual trip. Everyone at Schell's is very friendly and helpful. If you visit during the Octoberfest (2nd Saturday in October), come in on Friday for a tour. Our guide the day before the festival was extremely knowledge, both of the brewery history and brewing processes.
And best of all ... at the end of your tour you get to drink beer. WIN! WIN!

Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, a huge party under the rent! We weren’t able to tour the brewery because of the festival but we toured the museum and grounds and it is wonderful.

Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed the August Schell Brewery tour. Not only was it priced right (cheap!) but it was highly informative. We really enjoyed learning about this family run business. The beer tasting was fun with a really nice variety of tasting options. Highly recommend!

Thank beccaR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

Tom gave a great tour, which was followed by tasting 6 different beers. What made this really special was hearing the brewery history, the family history, the city history, and some of the larger German emigrant experience and how the family that owns the brewery fits the larger story.

Thank brianmclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Family outing to see the history of famous family owned and run business. Tour guide was knowledgeable and entertaining. Plenty of interesting vintage artefacts to inspect. A good beer tasting time that included discussion of hops, abv and ibu that other brew tours haven't. Extensive merchandise and it wasn't all hideously expensive, many practical nick nacks.

Thank burygirlkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

This was a great tour with a little history and an opportunity to see the inside of a working brewery. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed the sampling of beer after our tour, as well as the beer garden. You cannot take beer with you ON the actual tour, but once it is over, you are allowed to walk around freely and enjoy the grounds with you beverage. Very fun afternoon. Also, you can get tickets anytime after it opens for an afternoon tour and it is a good idea to get them early if you really want to go so they don't sell out and you will reserve your spot.

1  Thank tonip961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

They have Beautiful gardens with peacocks wandering freely. wonderful music, great guided tours with the history of the brewery explained. Everything you need for a fun visit including restaurants with great snacks.

1  Thank cpoppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Nice tour, and beer samples. Friendly staff, parking should be better. The gardens are pleasing and relaxing to go through.

1  Thank hrvracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Had a great time with family! We had a large family and the tour for $5 was well worth the money! I was very impressed. I do wish that the tour would have outlined the brewing process more than it did,but seeing the grounds and equipment along with the tasting at the end was great for a family with kids

Thank jessh012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews