We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Ulm
Cersco
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not friendly”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Called ahead for a room and stopped in to find out I had left my wallet at home. I had cash to pay for room and also informed lady at front desk that a friend would be bringing my wallet in 2 hours with my ID, it was early in day and after dinner we would give them my ID and credit card. Well the Lady at desk was very curt and would not even reserve me a room. With no option I left and fortunately went next door and was treated very nicely and given a nice room. Needless too say I will never be back even though the hotel looks nice. Really is New Ulm that bad a town that the Microtel needs to be that worried that a middle aged plus clean cut guy is going to trash their hotel for an hour and leave.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rustyiron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelInn28793, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for letting me know what happened when you tried to check in. I have gone over this with my staff so everyone understands hotel policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    147
    140
    105
    55
See reviews for
217
94
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel on several occasions, we have family in the area. The staff at the front desk is very accommodating. We have several small children and they always let us stay near family that is also staying and putting us away from other guests, when possible so we don't disturb others. The breakfast in the morning is always fresh and well tended to. The housekeeping staff are welcoming and responded promptly to requests for towels and extra trash bags!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelInn28793, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we were able to accommodate you during your stay. The staff loves that they could accommodate you during your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in New Ulm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Booked room at New Ulm Microtel We were never told the pool area happened to be out of service We had planned for the kids to swim but we were never told the pool was not available .The clerk should have told us or at least put it on thieir sign out front .Just a courtious thing to do . This is the second time this has happened to us unbelievable Rumor is it will be down till June so if you want the pool or hot tub forget it .We ended up going to the Holiday Inn where they did have a pool .South Dakota resident

Room Tip: Make sure you put on your sight that the pool is not working
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelInn28793, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Microtel Inn and Suites, would like to apologize that our pool is closed. Thank you for letting me know, that you weren’t informed about the pool being closed, when you made your reservation. However our pool will be opening back up mid April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Ulm hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
16.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Madelia
24.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sleepy Eye
22.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Restaurant
24.1 mi away
Super 8 St. James
Super 8 St. James
#1 of 1 in Saint James
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
Address: 424 20th South St, New Ulm, MN 56073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites New Ulm Hotel New Ulm
Microtel New Ulm
New Ulm Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing