We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best German food this side of Berlin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veigel's Kaiserhoff

Veigel's Kaiserhoff
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in New Ulm
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best German food this side of Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This place is a WOW! If you love / like German food. Even if some in your party does not like German there are other options but the true German food is the best we have found in America. We had the German sampler. It was outstanding. It was recommended to us at the information center and we definitely were not disappointed. The ribs, as others have mentioned are a must. They are so unique and delicious unlike any you have had at a BBQ or Tony Romas type place. The sauce is awesome and the meat falls off the bone. Yes, the place is old but that adds to the ambiance. The service was great. My wife and I were afraid it would take forever as a bus tour group arrived the same time we did. No problem. The place is well staffed to handle it all. My only regret is we were not staying in town so that we could go back for more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    29
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mankato, mn
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ribs good, atmosphere needs cleaning up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Food was good, ribs are different from any others and good, but the place needs a good cleaning and repainting. I just feel that it is dirty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good Thunder, Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My parents made occasional trips from their home twenty miles away and raved about the ribs--nothing has changed. We each ordered the full rack for $18.95, $2 more than a small order. We each barely ate half and took the rest home. The ribs and sauce are not only as tasty as any we have sampled all over the country, but hold more meat than the best anywhere.
Add to that delicious hashbrowns, Schell's Firebrick on tap, and a miracle-the bartender made my wife a delicious daiquiri-not a strawberry or banana daiquiri from some awful mix, but a real original daiquiri.
For an extra treat, check out the photos of owner Don Veigel with folks ranging from Mickey Mantle and Stan Musial to Bob Hope to the archbishop of Lichtenstein.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ribs. Get the ribs. Did I mention the ribs?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Get the ribs, and get the full slab, because you'll want some to take home for later. Best sauce ever.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Morgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed our meal at the Kaiserhoff. We were in town last year and someone recommended it. Both times it was very tasty.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veigel's Kaiserhoff also viewed

 

Been to Veigel's Kaiserhoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing