We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
11
6
3
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
6
3
5
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 33 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2014

This was a last minute trip for us and there were limited rooms in New Ulm. The website says newly remodeled and even has a Trip advisor rating on their main page saying "Bravo! Excellent rating!"

This room was terrible, looks like they attempted to remodel but did not actually finish. Crayon all over the back of the bathroom door, filthy walls throughout, even the lamp shade was damaged. The wall was buckling from what looked like water damage, and considering there was exposed drywall screws and tape in the ceiling and shower, not surprised.

The heat kicked on while we were asleep and woke us with 75 degree temp. Television only worked if the lights were on. The lights from outside shined into the room (just cheap blinds on the window) and we had to put a blanket up to block it out.

We paid almost $75 for this room, never again. Should have just left and tried to find something else but were too tired at that point.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kristine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you for the review. It really does help us make positive changes at the Colonial Inn.
The lampshade was an easy fix. We replaced it as soon as we saw this review. I then inspected the other lampshades in the hotel and found a few more that were cracked. We replaced those as well.

The remodeling process in the room you stayed in has been ongoing. We have spent more than $5,000 on upgrades in this room alone. We fully remodeled the room in 2012, just to have the room trashed earlier this year. We repainted and carpeted the room in June of 2014.

When we added the microwave, refrigerator, and in room coffee we put it where there was previously a desk with a lamp. The outlet was wired for the lamp to be on the lightswitch. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have solved the problem.

The bathroom door has been repainted.

Please give me a call at (507) 354-3128 if you have any further comments or questions. We look forward to earning back your business.
Thanks,
Brandon Jacobson
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014

While the host was friendly and helpful, the rest of our stay was totally unsatifactory! The carpets,walls and chairs were filthy. The shower surround had black mildew on the caulking. Everything was dingy and grimy. My daughter and her husband left there with bug bites on their feet and ankles. The hotel host did apologize and refund the price of their room

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitkatkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nucolonialinn, Owner at Colonial Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

I am extremely sorry for your negative experience at the Colonial Inn.
I talked with a member of your party after checkout, and they told me about the "bites" they received. Hotel industry standard is to refund the money immediately, no questions asked. I then called Plunketts Pest Control and they inspected the room and found no sign of bed bugs. As an extra precaution we steam cleaned the carpets and replaced all soft goods in the room

We have had recent turnover in the housekeeping department, and during your stay (second weekend of oktoberfest) we had a new housekeeper in your section of the hotel. I truly believe our rooms are cleaner now then ever before.

Thank you for reading my response. If there is anything else we can do please give me a call back at (507) 354-3128. We would love to earn your business back.
Regards,
Brandon Jacobson
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Rooms could be taken care of better but expected for the price. Staff is awesome, host is really cool, she helped me out dramatically. I will certainly be back if i ever need a place to stay New Ulm...

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ty_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Says hi from Denmark. We were wisiting our daughters host family and they rekommended this hotel nice and heap nice breakfast. Friendly hotel staff. Right in the mittel of New ulm.
The pool was at bit durty but the rooms and beds were very nice.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DorteLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Located on the east end of town, past the Walgreens, the decor in this average motel looking place are elegant and spacious, with a full writing table. The host was extremely helpful and very friendly, as are most people in this delightful gem of a town. Very reasonable prices and, unlike other hotels in town, far enough away from the railroad and traffic to not hear them. Take a walk in the tree lined neighborhood for a unwinding, lovely stroll.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews