We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grrrrrrrrreat hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 New Ulm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“grrrrrrrrreat hosts”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at the DSB&B for 4 days, but felt at home the first hour we were there. Ramona and Gary are very personable and accommodating. The house has wonderful history and a great location. The granola was home-made and the best we have ever had. The only suggestion we have is, the coffee needs to be a little stronger, Gary!!!! Rooms were nice and mattress was a bit soft for our sore backs, Gary!!!! But overall, everything was just very nice. We can recommend highly. Our favorite thing about this B&B was the "dumbwaiter" ....Gary!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Gary and I enjoyed having you stay as our guests and the conversation was lively. Gary now is making the coffee stronger and he has been instructed to improve upon his mattress rotation schedule. The granola's continue to be made on a regular basis and we do share recipes if you should ever wish to make them at home. Thank you for your visit and we hope that you return to New Ulm again in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
108
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We had a great experience! Ramona and Gary were great hosts. The breakfast was amazing, especially the dessert. The house was very comfortable and there was lots of information on things to do in New Ulm.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us as your first bed and breakfast experience and hope that you continue to stay at B&B's as they each have their individual character. Gary says there are different characters that live in and own them. It is our pleasure to host our guests and learn about their various experiences. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and especially the dessert; that is a tradition at the Deutsche Strasse B&B. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts, this one rates at the top. One of the things that make a stay exceptional for us are the owners, and Gary and Ramona were exceptional. In downtown New Ulm there is a monument in one of the parks that includes this quote "If you work at a job that you love, you will never have to work a day in your life", Gary and Ramona live this, they Love what they do and it shows!!

Thanks for a great stay, we will definitlely see you again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Gary and I are thrilled that you found your stay in New Ulm Fantastic. This means that we reached our goal in having you as our guest have a good experience. Yes, we do love what we do and appreciate that you shared this in your review. We hope to see you again in the near future and hope to provide you with a wonderful experience again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our first stay in a bed and breakfast and what a great experience it was! A beautiful building and a comfortable bed and room and an absolutely fantastic breakfast! But above all, Ramona and Gary were warm, friendly, and great to deal with!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBecky1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us as your first bed and breakfast experience! Thanks so much for sharing that your experience was good and that the accommodations were comfortable and the breakfast tasty. Thank you for the personal compliments to Gary and me; we do enjoy meeting and getting to know our guests and really feel that we have a huge extended family. Perhaps some day you will return "home" to New Ulm and we can visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've stayed at about ten different B&Bs. They've all been unique in some way—usually with nicely decorated, comfortable rooms and really, really good breakfasts. Deustche Strasse is easily among the best in terms of the house (it's a beautifully-furnished, comfortable, impeccably maintained home) and the food (breakfast is what you'd imagine finding in a high-end restaurant). But what really sets Deutsche Strasse apart, what really makes it so special, are the owners. Gary and Ramona are warm, genuinely nice people who do everything they can to make their guests feel comfortable and at home. They're a joy to be with. It's obvious that they love what they do, and they really go above and beyond to create a comfortable experience for everyone. Plus, Gary is a hoot (you get the sense that if he wasn't running a B&B, he'd be trying to break in as a stand-up comedian). Ramona is as nice as could be. This is a special place because Gary and Ramona are such special people. No wonder DS was recently named one of the best B&Bs in Minnesota. They've got our vote!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
The joy of our inn keeping experience is having special guests like you two were. The inn and the guests allow Gary and I to use utilize the skills which we enjoy. Sometimes we refer to Gary as being our main attraction; yes, even after sixteen years of being innkeepers, he keeps coming up with new "comedy". I enjoy cooking and baking and thank you for enjoying the food and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! It was truly our pleasure having you here in New Ulm and we hope that you make a return trip to stay at the Deutsche Strasse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I wanted an anniversary getaway and chose the Deutsche Strasse for our stay in New Ulm. Due to a death in the family, I was forced to change the date of our visit not once, but twice. Gary was so understanding and worked with me to find an alternate date. We have stayed in several B&Bs, and all have been positive experiences. What set this visit apart was the personalities of both Gary and Ramona. They are two very special people. They have made every effort to do the extra little things that set them apart. Ramona's love of cooking was evident in the extraordinary breakfast that was served. When I told her how good the coffee was, she said that she had experimented to create her own blend of coffee. I bought some to take home with me. The comraderie between all of us guests and our hosts was a special part of our day. Once Gary had served the four course breakfast Ramona came out of the kitchen and they visited with us. We learned a lot about New Ulm from them. It was a very special experience and I would definitely go back again as well as recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your appreciation of our flexibility! As innkeepers we have grown to appreciate busy schedules and the challenges of coordinating individual lives and obligations as well as the very important need to get away and decompress and/or celebrate. We were thrilled that you both were able to come and spend some time in New Ulm and at the Deutsche Strasse Bed and Breakfast as part of your anniversary celebration. Thanks for including us as part of that celebration. We hope that you are waking each morning to the aroma of our signature blend coffee and have fond memories of your experience. Thank you so much for being our guests! It was our pleasure. FYI - we do ship our coffee, so when you run out, give us a call or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Level Contributor
291 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Unlike most of Deutsche Strasse guests, we only traveled about a mile to reach this gem. Living here in New Ulm for the past 7 years, I'd heard it was amazing and recommended this place to visitors but had not ever been there (or any B&B for that matter).

Our plans to head out of town for our anniversary fell through so we decided that this was the ideal time to give it a shot. Good choice!

We stayed in the Crystal Room (complete with a gas fireplace and 2-person hot tub). The room was sparkling and the bed was comfy.

It is just a few blocks to downtown and a nice walking / bicycling trail is less than a block away. We went out for a stroll and enjoyed some fresh air.

They had complimentary wine in the Commons area which we also enjoyed.

Finally, the breakfast was amazing! 4 courses...all was good but the apple pancake dish was superb!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
What a great idea to do a Staycation; less time on the road, more time to relax, and time to explore the charms of New Ulm. We are so very glad that you chose to stay with us as part of your anniversary celebration and that you have taken the time to share your experiences. Breakfast is one of our focal points and the Austrian Apple Pancakes seem to have become a favorite of many of our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you have many more Staycations planned for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Madelia
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#2 of 5 in New Ulm
44 reviews
24.7 mi away
Riverfront Studio Suites
Riverfront Studio Suites
#1 of 1 in Mankato
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 404 S German St, New Ulm, MN 56073-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy history, comfort and cuisine in our 1884 stately home located along the historic district, four blocks from specialty shops, restaurants and attractions. Deutsche Strasse is a romantic as well as a casual setting. We are business traveler friendly. We offer queen and king beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, and homemade four-course breakfasts included in the rate. With prior notice we will, with pleasure, modify our menus to meet dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing