We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Ramona and Gary, for Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 New Ulm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband and I needed a few days of respite from The Cities and were curious about visiting New Ulm. We picked the Deutsche Strasse B&B based on what we saw on TripAdvisor. My husband wanted to soak in a tub that he could actually fit in, so we picked the Crystal Room, which had a whirlpool tub in the bathroom just off the bedroom. We loved this big, solid historic house. Owners Ramona, the hostess with the mostess, and her husband Gary indulged our interests in the home and community while feeding us a truly spectacular breakfast. We felt pampered the whole time we were there. When we weren't enjoying the house, we explored the Schell's brewery, the MN Music Hall of Fame, took in the great German food and architecture, and attended a small trade show at Turner Hall. We would definitely recommend staying at the Deutsche Strasse B&B when visiting New Ulm.

Room Tip: The Crystal Room's door faces right into the main stairwell which both guests and inn-keepers us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Our thanks to you for being our guests and for sharing your experience. We appreciate that you enjoyed the room and its amenities, your interest in our home and its history, and that you enjoyed New Ulm. It is a special community to visit and to enjoy a slower pace. Thank you for being our guests and we hope that you are able to get away again and give us a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 161 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was the first time my wife and I have ever stayed at a B&B and we really had a good time. We will recommend the Deutsche Strasse to anyone who is up for an intimate, relaxing experience. Gary and Ramona made us feel very welcome and at home. Everything was very satisfactory!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Deutsche Strasse B&B. Your comments reflect that our goal of having our guests feel welcome as well as relaxed when you were here were met. We will continue to work toward those goals. Thank you for being our guests and for the great conversation at breakfast. We hope to see your return to our special town of New Ulm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very clean and welcoming! We were greeted with a tour and complimentary glass of wine upon arrival & served a wonderful homemade breakfast by our gracious hosts. This B & B is also located only blocks from fabulous restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast and it is exciting that you are planning to return. This is a challenging time to travel to New Ulm with the snow and blowing and we hope that you can return in the spring, summer or fall as each season has its special beauty. Thank you for being our guests. The pleasure was ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was fortunate to have the place all to myself for a night. Very hospitable, very clean room, very good food, and very quiet night. I slept almost like a baby and was treated like a queen. I highly recommend. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Deutsche Strasse Bed and Breakfast. We appreciated having you stay with us en-route to your day of work. We do try to make all our guests feel special. Thank you for sharing how you felt and that you had a good night's rest. We hope that your work brings you to this area in the future and we can have the pleasure of having you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at the Deutsche Strasse in the dead of winter and had a great time. Gary and Ramona really have a fine attention to detail. We stayed in the Crystal room, which was very cozy. We did not spend a lot of time in the shared spaces, but they were spacious and available for guests. The breakfasts were amazing - my husband said the best pancakes he's had.
Thanks Gary and Ramona, we hope to visit again!

Room Tip: Crystal room has no shared walls with other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Heather,

Gary and I are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay in New Ulm and at our B and B. It certainly was a cold weekend, but there are still many things to do in New Ulm such as cross-country skiing and visiting the Schell's Brewery. Also, we are glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts; the homemade blueberry pancakes with warm orange syrup are one of our signature dishes. We appreciate that you shared your experience on TripAdvisor and hope that you do return in the warmer weather to enjoy the parks and many flowers around the town. Thank you so very much for your visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Deutsche Strasse B&B was perfect for us to celebrate our anniversary. The bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet (what a change from our normal routine). The hosts recommended a local restaurant for supper and we were not disappointed. We were able to relax and that is what we needed. The breakfast was outstanding and very filling (we took a snack for the drive home). The house was decorated nicely for Christmas. Gary and Ramona were great and accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewUlmHosts, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience when visiting our Bed and Breakfast. We also have great appreciation for our historic home and it is our desire to share the quiet and tranquility here which has a great balance with the many activities available in New Ulm. As you learned when staying with us, dining opportunities are unique as New Ulm features many "home owned" restaurants that are within 4 - 7 blocks of our location. Thank you for being our guests; it was our pleasure. We hope that you return again for rejuvenation and relaxation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hosts were excellent. Wonderful breakfasts.

The B&B was previously a rectory for the Catholic Church, so the interior was beautifully maintained. Our room came with a private bath which included a Jacuzzi. There was also an electric fire place with a remote control! The location is just a few blocks from the Minnesota street which has a large number of restaurants, bars, and shops. New Ulm is a really nice town, overall.

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms were good, we were shown all of them. They are on upstairs level which might be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Ulm hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#2 of 5 in New Ulm
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#4 of 5 in New Ulm
27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 404 S German St, New Ulm, MN 56073-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Ulm
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic or relaxing getaway in our historic home built in 1884. Located along the historic district, four blocks from specialty shops, restaurants and attractions. Deutsche Strasse serves a three course breakfast to include homemade granola, fruit, main course, our specialty coffee, and a dessert included in the rate. We are business traveler friendly with high speed internet for multiple computers. Our rooms have queen or king beds, fireplaces, two rooms with whirlpools, all with a full private bath. With prior notice we will, with pleasure, modify our menus to meet dietary needs. Also available for small conferences and special occasions. Please call discuss if we can meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing