We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like family!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 New Ulm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We felt like family!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2008

From the time of Gary and Ramona’s warm welcome, to the end of our stay when Gary carried our bags to our car, we felt as if we were part of their family. This was one of my most memorable stays at a B&B in the USA. My room was just what you want from a B&B; no phone, no TV. Wonderfully decorated, clean and quiet. The building itself has an interesting history. The Roman Catholic Church used this to house clergy-in-training. Something you would not expect in a German settled town with a Lutheran seminary.
The brunch was fabulous with great variety. I’m not a big breakfast person, so I skipped lunch that day. They have their own signature coffee, which was so wonderful I took some home with me to enjoy. Whenever I brew it at home, I remember my visit to this special B&B in New Ulm.

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — That I had to leave.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdog57Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
108
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left it was excellent.
Booked the Crystal room which had a queen sized bed that was so high you needed to clamber into it.
The room has an en suite bathroom with a jacuzzi bath that can fit 2 in it.
Room is very tastefully decorated with 2 rocking chairs & an air con unit which was used in full.
The house is a short walk into town where there are plenty of places to eat but where the stores close around 5.00pm.
Gary & Ramona are the perfect hosts without being too intrusive and the warmth of their hospitality has got to be seen to be believed.
Guests have the use of the lounge & dining room downstairs where there are plenty of books & games to keep you amused.
No TV but that added to the peace & relaxation of the place.
The bed was very comfortable and we were reluctant to get up.
Gary cooked us a 4 course breakfast and served us delicious coffee.
Providing you let them know in advance, they can cater to most diatry needs and will try & find something that you can eat.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — had to leave air con on all night as room was too warm for our tates.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2007

This place is amazing! So comfortable and friendly, yet private when you want it to be. The location is great - a short walk to downtown, and also a beautiful hike and bike trail across the street. The hosts were attentive, but always sensitive to the need to relax alone if needed. The food was amazing - great attention to even the smallest detail. The hosts, Gary and Ramona were so friendly - made me feel like family. The beautiful historic home is immaculate....is there a higher rating than EXCELLENT???

Helpful?
Thank loreid2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

This is a reasonably nice B&B, ran by a lovely family. I have stayed there once and it was a reasonably nice stay, but the extreme lack of modern amenities had made it difficult for me to enjoy my stay. The room was tastefully decorated, but did not have a TV or a phone that I could use. They offer High Speed Internet, but there is no desk in the room that I could work at. The breakfast was delicious, but I don’t know many people who can eat a four-course breakfast, which was only made less comfortable by one of the hosts standing next to me the entire time that I ate… If you are looking for a great place to get away from the modern world, this is a great place to stay. However, if you are a business traveler or someone who wants to watch some TV in the evening, there are more modern B&Bs down the street.

  • Liked — The hosts were very pleasant.
  • Disliked — Lack of most modern conveniences and too much attention from the hosts
  • Tips/Secrets — If you can't handle a four-course breakfast, tell them up front.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Yanick2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Innkeeper at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2008
We would like to thank our past guest for his review in that it enabled us to make changes that would accommodate the business traveler in a positive way. Changes have been made that are reflected in the more recent reviews after this 2006 review. Our business travelers are offered the use of a telephone, a TV room is available for their TV viewing, and a continental breakfast is provided along with a corporate rate most Sunday - Thursday evenings. We continue to provide the high speed internet, and this is available throughout the house. There are several locations to use if a larger space is necessary to work on projects. If the guest has any special needs, the request need only to made and we do our best to accommodate.
Again, thank you for aiding us to improve our service not only in a business perspective, but also to make our bed and breakfast a comfortable setting as a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
24.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Madelia
24.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites St. Peter
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#2 of 5 in New Ulm
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 404 S German St, New Ulm, MN 56073-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy history, comfort and cuisine in our 1884 stately home located along the historic district, four blocks from specialty shops, restaurants and attractions. Deutsche Strasse is a romantic as well as a casual setting. We are business traveler friendly. We offer queen and king beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, and homemade four-course breakfasts included in the rate. With prior notice we will, with pleasure, modify our menus to meet dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing