We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 New Ulm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Ramona was the perfect hostess she was very friendly and there was all sorts of teas to choses
from and wine and coffee at checkin. The breakfast four courses and all very delicious.
New Ulm has a lot of old and fancy homes. Check there web site. Ole Johnson

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

OleMpls,

Thank you for a wonderful review. We're happy you appreciated the beverages we had available at check-in! We are also glad you loved breakfast. That's great feedback for us. We would love to welcome you back again!

Take care,
Gary & Ramona, Your Hospitable Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We decided to do a cross-country, actually a ¾ across of the country (and back again) drive for our honeymoon. The whole process took about 3 weeks and 7,000 miles. During our trip, we stayed at 4 star hotels and B&B’s and at campgrounds, camping in our car for several nights. This was one of earlier stops and we’d been looking forward staying here, since booking this several months earlier. Being from a more expensive part of the country, we couldn’t believe that we could get so much for such a reasonable price. We chose the Black Forest Suite, which did not disappoint! Our bedroom was a bit small, but the HUGE whirlpool tub that was so big it got its own room, more than made up for that! The tub room had beautiful murals on the wall and lovely curtains. We also had our own full bathroom, which was nice, but nothing special, especially when compared with the whirlpool. We arrived late (a theme at many of our stops because of some very long drives from one place to another), and the owners were incredibly accommodating. We walked into the living room, which featured a beautiful piano in the corner (unfortunately neither of us play), and soft music playing. We were offered complementary glasses of wine as we sat downstairs and unwound from our long drive. Honestly, I think the best part of our stay was the food and conversation the next morning! We chatted with the owners and shared stories, while munching on the best breakfast of our entire trip! They’ve been running a bed and breakfast for 15 years and have some wonderful memories and experiences. The town was also lovely (small and cute and very German). The local businesses were preparing for Oktoberfest as we were leaving. We are certainly hoping to return here for a long weekend to enjoy a bit more of the town while staying at this lovely bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The black forest suite was lovely for our honeymoon but several others looked great too. I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgerFamily92812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Hello Burger Couple,

We're happy to read your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The Black Forest Suite was a great choice. The whirlpool tub feels like luxury and we fondly refer to it as the Cadillac of hot tubs. We understand you can't always control timing on a long cross-country trip and your time of arrival was no problem. Your telephone call advising us of your progress was greatly appreciated. Breakfast is an important meal and we really appreciate that you enjoyed it. Hopefully, when you use the Deutsche Strasse coffee mugs you purchased you dream of being back at our breakfast table enjoying our signature blend coffee. We would love to welcome you back again.

All the best,
Gary & Ramona, Your Hospitable Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary with a trip to New Ulm and the Deutsche Strasse B&B. This was our first ever trip to any B&B. We are not quite sure why we waited so long after our wonderful stay at the Deutsche Strasse. The house is a beautiful home. The wine and nibbles in the evening was a pleasant surprise as we were preparing to leave for dinner out. The morning breakfast was a delicious homemade delight and their coffee is the best! The hosts Gary and Ramona are geninuely nice people and it makes for a very pleasant stay. They made our stay very comfortable and relaxing.

Room Tip: We were in the Castle Room, nice sitting area and windows on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beedeejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Hi beedeejoe,

Thanks for sharing your experience. We love celebrating special occasions with our guests! We're happy you enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay. That is exactly what we want to provide. We appreciate all your compliments and your recommendation. Happy 31st anniversary!

All the best,
Gary & Ramona, Your Hospitable Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The best thing about Deutsche Strasse is Ramona and Gary, who are superb hosts. The 1884 home in this historic town is on a street across from the railroad tracks and industrial sites which are visible from the Ivy Room, where we stayed, but not disturbingly so. The breakfasts were among the best that I have ever had at a B&B. The atmosphere was old world but comfortable, and the tree-lined street across from the park made me nostalgic for a neighborhood in which I grew up.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cedarcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi Cedarcliff,

Thank you for such a kind review. We're happy to see you enjoyed your visit. We really appreciate your compliments about your breakfast! A comfortable, old world atmosphere is what we strive to provide. We would love to welcome you back the next time you're in town.

All the best,
Gary & Ramona Sonnenberg, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I brought my parents to New Ulm to have a German feel and stayed at the Deutsche Strasse B&B. Had a great time, great rooms and a great breakfast. Gary and Ramona were very nice and a pleasure to stay with.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric000000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi Eric

Thanks for sharing your experience. We're glad you and your wife brought your parents here! It's great to see everyone had a wonderful time. We appreciate your compliments and your recommendation. We'd love to welcome you back again in the future.

Best,
Gary & Ramona Sonnenberg, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Overlooking the Minnesota River Valley on German Street (Deutsche Straße) stands the elegant and comfortable Deutsche Strasse Bed and Breakfast. The proprietors excel in providing guests with true, German Gemürlichkeit -- that special all inclusive combination of comfort and hospitality. The ambiance and decor invite you to relax in another century. The hosts invite you to savor wine in the evening and to "break fast" in the morning with gourmet preparations. Long time residents of New Ulm, Gary and Ramona are also prepared to answer any question guests may have about history, restaurants, surrounding parks, etc. Our stay was all too short, but absolutely wonderful! Barbara and Louis Foote

Room Tip: Each room is unique and a gem in itself. You cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

We so appreciate your sharing of your sense of “Gemülichkeit” at the Deutsche Strasse B&B as that is one of our many goals. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We gave two weeks notice of our intent to arrive in Beautiful New Ulm, MN. We were greeted with smiles and happy conversation and that was just the phone call making the reservation. We arrived after 3,000 miles of traveling and staying in several hotels along the way. The owners GARY and RAMONA met me and my family upon arrival and they were the greatest hosts. We stayed in the Castle Suite and all slept comfy on the Huge King Size BED. The fun did not stop when we checked into our room, we also had to know where a great place to eat for Dinner was and WOW was it awesome. LOLA's and they cater to your every desire, the owner LACEY was Fantastic. After a fun night out on the town we went to sleep and slept great!!! :+) The next morning we had a scrumptious breakfast the best on my whole 5,000 mile road trip. That nights stay at the Deutsche Strausse B&B was the greatest and that from staying in over 10 hotels some of which were 5 star. YES!!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Deutsche Strausse B&B to anyone traveling through Minnesota, I also recommend LOLA's and The GRAND KABARET!!! :+) ENJOY!!! :+) Just Brian

Room Tip: The Castle Room Rocks and if its not Available they have four additional Luxery type Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian5StarConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi Brian,

Thanks for reviewing us. We loved hosting your family! The Castle Suite is great. We're honored to hear we were your family's favorite place to stay during your trip. We appreciate all your compliments and your recommendation. We'll be sure to pass your kind words along to Lacey as well.

Cheers,
Gary & Ramona Sonnenberg, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Ulm hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#4 of 5 in New Ulm
48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 404 S German St, New Ulm, MN 56073-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Ulm
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy history, comfort and cuisine in our 1884 stately home located along the historic district, four blocks from specialty shops, restaurants and attractions. Deutsche Strasse is a romantic as well as a casual setting. We are business traveler friendly. We offer queen and king beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, and homemade four-course breakfasts included in the rate. With prior notice we will, with pleasure, modify our menus to meet dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing