We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemülichkeit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 New Ulm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Overlooking the Minnesota River Valley on German Street (Deutsche Straße) stands the elegant and comfortable Deutsche Strasse Bed and Breakfast. The proprietors excel in providing guests with true, German Gemürlichkeit -- that special all inclusive combination of comfort and hospitality. The ambiance and decor invite you to relax in another century. The hosts invite you to savor wine in the evening and to "break fast" in the morning with gourmet preparations. Long time residents of New Ulm, Gary and Ramona are also prepared to answer any question guests may have about history, restaurants, surrounding parks, etc. Our stay was all too short, but absolutely wonderful! Barbara and Louis Foote

Room Tip: Each room is unique and a gem in itself. You cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

We so appreciate your sharing of your sense of “Gemülichkeit” at the Deutsche Strasse B&B as that is one of our many goals. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We gave two weeks notice of our intent to arrive in Beautiful New Ulm, MN. We were greeted with smiles and happy conversation and that was just the phone call making the reservation. We arrived after 3,000 miles of traveling and staying in several hotels along the way. The owners GARY and RAMONA met me and my family upon arrival and they were the greatest hosts. We stayed in the Castle Suite and all slept comfy on the Huge King Size BED. The fun did not stop when we checked into our room, we also had to know where a great place to eat for Dinner was and WOW was it awesome. LOLA's and they cater to your every desire, the owner LACEY was Fantastic. After a fun night out on the town we went to sleep and slept great!!! :+) The next morning we had a scrumptious breakfast the best on my whole 5,000 mile road trip. That nights stay at the Deutsche Strausse B&B was the greatest and that from staying in over 10 hotels some of which were 5 star. YES!!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Deutsche Strausse B&B to anyone traveling through Minnesota, I also recommend LOLA's and The GRAND KABARET!!! :+) ENJOY!!! :+) Just Brian

Room Tip: The Castle Room Rocks and if its not Available they have four additional Luxery type Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian5StarConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hi Brian,

Thanks for reviewing us. We loved hosting your family! The Castle Suite is great. We're honored to hear we were your family's favorite place to stay during your trip. We appreciate all your compliments and your recommendation. We'll be sure to pass your kind words along to Lacey as well.

Cheers,
Gary & Ramona Sonnenberg, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have spent many nites and all of them are special. We find a real solace and calming staying here. Romona and Gary are the most wonderful innkeepers there are. Staying here is my heart health resort. The food is only the very best and served with laughter and care. New Ulm is a home of friends and family and they make you feel at home. It's only been a few weeks and I truly miss Deutsche Strasse and the food.

p.s. Overall rating 10+

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Gary and I appreciate that you consider our B&B you heart healthy resort! Thank you for a very positive and enthusiastic review. We hope to have you as our guests sooner rather than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

From the time you walk to the door until you leave you will enjoy this wonderful home & innkeepers !
Romona & Gary have a beautiful B&b and it is in beautiful condition.
Muffins were fantastic & coffee great !
Rooms were comfortable & spotless
New ulm is a great place to visit & explore

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hi Lenny and me,

Thanks for sharing your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! We appreciate all of your kind words. What would a B&B be without fantastic coffee and muffins? Your recommendation means a lot. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
Gary & Ramona, Your Hospitable Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Deutsche Strasse a few weeks ago. We had the Castle Room which was very comfortable. We had a king sized bed and we each had our own occasional chair which was nice for reading. After we settled in we sat in a parlor area and visited with the other guests and enjoyed a glass of wine. The breakfast was very good each morning. I was happy to see there were no televisions in the room so I didn't have to deal with my husband wanting to leave a tv on all night. The only drawback which made us uncomfortable was the fact that you couldn't lock your room when you left. We were able to lock it from the inside once we were in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Winny52,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're glad you liked staying in the Castle Room. That king-sized bed is great! Reading that you enjoyed the breakfasts is feedback that supports our efforts to provide a memorable B&B experience. We appreciate your concerns about locking your room when you leave. New Ulm is a safe town and we carefully monitor who comes and goes in our B&B. Also, we have great respect for our vintage locks and are doing research to find the best way to have a locking capability for the individual guest rooms. We hope you'll come visit us again soon, we'd love to welcome you back.

Cheers,
Gary & Ramona, Your Hospitable Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Gary and Ramona are such perfectionists. Truly, I couldn't find a single thing this wonderful couple/owners could do to improve their establishment. Gary, I'm sure has given a tour of the Deutsche Strasse a few thousand times. And yet, he was kind, considerate and accommodating.

You've heard about the breakfasts. Yes, they are amazing. But the entire Bed and Breakfast is amazing.

This place is notch above the normal bed and breakfast. We are so glad we went.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. We took the Black Forest room because of the hot tub. I suggest you pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pereirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

House is in a good location, close to main street but at the edge of the river valley so there's a view out of most windows. The house is super-clean and well kept, with attention to extra room heaters for colder nights. Breakfast was complete and tasty.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ktomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Ulm hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge New Ulm
Econo Lodge New Ulm
#2 of 5 in New Ulm
49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#4 of 5 in New Ulm
27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 404 S German St, New Ulm, MN 56073-2113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Ulm
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic or relaxing getaway in our historic home built in 1884. Located along the historic district, four blocks from specialty shops, restaurants and attractions. Deutsche Strasse serves a three course breakfast to include homemade granola, fruit, main course, our specialty coffee, and a dessert included in the rate. We are business traveler friendly with high speed internet for multiple computers. Our rooms have queen or king beds, fireplaces, two rooms with whirlpools, all with a full private bath. With prior notice we will, with pleasure, modify our menus to meet dietary needs. Also available for small conferences and special occasions. Please call discuss if we can meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing