We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We rate the Starr at the top of our resort list!!”
Review of Royal Starr Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nevis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Starr Resort
Council Grove, Kansas
1 review
“We rate the Starr at the top of our resort list!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The resort is well-groomed and very pretty landscaping. The hosts are the very best!! Linda and Ernie go out-of-their way to add all of the extras and they are so personable, accommodating and just a great couple. We were thrilled to find this resort and hopefully will be able to return in the future. We will highly recommend this resort to our friends and family.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
verndale, mn
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were able to have a few days to get away and so called the Royal Srarr and they were able to accommodate us. We stayed in a beautiful cabin with great views of the lake. We had privacy and truly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely try to get back there again. We would recommend this resort to anyone looking to stay in a lovely cabin with great hosts that own the resort.

Leland and Naomi
Verndale, MN

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie2joey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Royal Starr Resort hidden just off the main road and completely secluded, has been our resort of choice for many years. We like the cabin setting, where everyone has their own home for the week they are there. Always clean and tidy rooms, furnished and decorated just the way you would expect a resort to look like.
Refrigerators and stoves are there for those who want to do their own cooking. If you choose to dine out there is a town close by with pretty good meals. Or if you choose, within 20 miles of the resort in either direction, you will find some very fine dining.
We go mainly to relax and get in as much fishing as possible. We have never been "skunked" even if others don't seem to be catching anything. Always catching enough to enjoy fish during our stay and some to take home. If the fish aren't biting, we'll enjoy watching the eagles which are always present. Swooping down to catch a fish beside the boat and carrying it off to a nest in a nearby tree.
When fishing gets slow it's off to the casino in Walker, Mn. for some gambling fun.
The owners of the resort, Ernie and Linda go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. They are constantly busy keeping the grounds and cabins clean and updated. And are always available to answer questions.
I highly recommend this resort for a quite, secluded and relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Book your room months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonefishin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Royal Starr provides a great cabin experience for the whole family. The cabins are clean, the beach is large and clean and the hosts are wonderful. Our family has been going for years and my children look forward to it from the moment we leave. We go with our extended family but met very nice people at the resort as well that we are still very good friends with.
The hosts organize several activities to do during the week to help the guests feel comfortable, get to know one another and have fun things to do.
We love it and love going back each year!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGibson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Our stay at the Royal Starr Resort is one we look forward to every year! The fishing is great and it's very family friendly with lots for the kids to do. The cabins are decorated nicely and very clean. Holy Board is our favorite family event at Royal Starr. As the 2009 Holy Board Champion its the one event I don't want to miss on this vacation! Every cabin has a deck to sit and relax on, plus a fire pit to view the incredible night sky!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We, my husband and I, our three daughters along with their husbands and kids have been going to the Royal Starr for 9 years now and look forward to each July when it is time to go again. Our cabins are always very clean, with fully stocked kitchens, very pleasant decor and beautiful locations. We enjoy our time on the beach, fishing, going out on the pontoon, bonfires, rolls and coffee on the beach, minnow races, kids crafts and just enjoying the beautiful scenery and relaxing. It is so nice that the guys can go to the fish house and clean the fish and not have the mess in the cabins. Ernie and Linda, the owners, are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We would all recommend this resort to anyone who wants and nice relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyP4791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My wife and I needed a last minute place to stay over Christmas, so we could spend it with my mom in Park Rapids. I called Royal Starr and they had places available for us. My wife and I stayed at one of the cabins overlooking the lake (maybe they all do?) and then brought mom over during the day. If was like being at home! It was so nice and they even had a little Christmas tree for us too. We could just relax comfortably and enjoy the time together without the feeling of being in a hotel room - for about the same price. Even better was that we had a kitchen that we could make meals in (try finding a restaurant on Christmas Eve or day!

We were extremely happy with our stay and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guydon2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Starr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Starr Resort

Property: Royal Starr Resort
Address: 19222 Echo Ridge Dr, Nevis, MN 56467-5007
Location: United States > Minnesota > Nevis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nevis
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Starr Resort is a family friendly lakeside resort. Located on the Sixth Crowing Lake with 13 cabins all lakeside. Lots of water toys, games crafts and other activies to do.... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing